Dusk And Summer

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Jun 27, 2006
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 47
  2. Negative: 11 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JorgeR
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Fun summer album.
  2. Lenna
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    A refreshing change of style that will undoubtedly gain new followers for dashboard and endear the band,once again, to those long-time fans.
  3. BrianH
    Jun 28, 2006
    8
    I loved "The Places You Have Come to Fear The Most". I hated "A Mark, A mission..." This album falls somewhere in between the two and works for me. It isn't over done like MMBS but not quite as smooth and soft as TPYHCTFTM. I would say fans of DC's older music will gravitate to this more than "Vindicated" junkies.
  4. jonathanu
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    this album is a great progression for the band. Chris is moving away from his depressing tones but still keeping his lyrics honest and genuine
  5. BOBH
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    i enjoy the different sound
  6. CaseyM
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Saw Chris' first show in California about 7 years ago. Die hard fan. At first I was little weirded out. But I have to say this album is certainly the maturation of Dashboard. And while I miss the old stuff, I love that he is constantly growing and changing and challening himself. Listen a couple of times and it will grow on you.
  7. rachelb
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    i love dashboard and support anything chris does. though its not as good as TPYHCTFTM its a great album! i love the secrets in the telling and stolen. those songs are worth the album
  8. njb
    Jul 4, 2006
    7
    definitely much more mature sound. its not the same sound, true....but the evolution is splendid. love love love the addition of duritz on "so long , so long."
  9. kaeliu
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    its not thier best- but its amazing. chris oh how you impress me the secrets in the telling and dusk and summer* you've got me boy i've loved you since the swiss army romance and you just keep gettting better - you blew me away in london
  10. matt
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    excellent!!! buy it!
  11. tayler
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Chris Carrabba isn't trying to be anyone but himself it his songs. This album is totally different from alot of other artists and a little different from other songs Chris has wrote and played. Chris stepped out from the usual and it turned out completely rad. I don't know what people are saying about disliking his new album Dusk And Summer because it is absolutly amazing. Slow Chris Carrabba isn't trying to be anyone but himself it his songs. This album is totally different from alot of other artists and a little different from other songs Chris has wrote and played. Chris stepped out from the usual and it turned out completely rad. I don't know what people are saying about disliking his new album Dusk And Summer because it is absolutly amazing. Slow Decay and Dusk and Summer and Stolen are some of the best songs he's wrote and performed. Expand
  12. EmoBoy
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    This album is great. I love The Secret's in the Telling and Stolen. Although the sound is somewhat different than his past work, it's still great!
  13. laura
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Kind of disappointing... a few songs are bearable, but the others are like everything else. It's more mature... if mature means boring... and all the same... and kind of a waste of money, to be honest....
  14. Bill
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    I guess Dash apparently shouldn't try new things out, or risk the backlash of fans who aren't able to mature
  15. ameliar
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    this cd is amazing! when you first listen to it, it is apperant that it is not the traditional dashboard sound. the more i listened to it the more i loved it and now it has become my fave dashboard album. chris voice really shines and u can feel his emotions through his gripping and heart felt lyrics. dusk and summer is a step away from dashboards previous work but hey thats what makes me this cd is amazing! when you first listen to it, it is apperant that it is not the traditional dashboard sound. the more i listened to it the more i loved it and now it has become my fave dashboard album. chris voice really shines and u can feel his emotions through his gripping and heart felt lyrics. dusk and summer is a step away from dashboards previous work but hey thats what makes me love it, dashboard gets better with time. this album wont dissapoint you, trust me. some of the tracks that stand out are "dusk and summer" "slow decay" and "heaven here" Expand
  16. rayj
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    A very different album in my opinion than the preceding ones. Unique in its own rights... completely solid musically and-- lyrically is always original and refreshing.
  17. Nick
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    A different style to this cd.. i believe dashboard is trying to get more into the pop world and appeal to more people (probably because of the influence of the record company)... personal i think chris's original sound (all of the dashboard albums up until now) were nothing short of brillance.. He is diffenently one of the best recording artist of the last 10 years and my opinion, is A different style to this cd.. i believe dashboard is trying to get more into the pop world and appeal to more people (probably because of the influence of the record company)... personal i think chris's original sound (all of the dashboard albums up until now) were nothing short of brillance.. He is diffenently one of the best recording artist of the last 10 years and my opinion, is the best... No other artist can find a way to put so much energy in every song.. Anything with the name dashboard confessional is worth buying but i hope he sticks to more of the original sound in the albums to come Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Blender
    70
    It's at once a distillation of all that drew tweeners to Dashboard... and a messy, multidimensional celebration of romance and regret. [Jul 2006, p.99]
  2. Rolling Stone
    70
    Dusk and Summer can be as ponderous and precious as a Hallmark card, but it succeeds because Carrabba has found music as intense and bittersweet as his deep, deep feelings. [29 Jun 2006, p.68]
  3. They've never sounded so unoriginal. Or, frankly, better.