Dusk And Summer

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Jun 27, 2006
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 47
  2. Negative: 11 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2016
    0
    Why do all these type of bands try to be overly dramatic? Any substance in the music is drowned out by the soap opera type drama they convey to their listeners. If you start playing this album Don't Wait till it gets good because it won't. There is no Reason To Believe that any part of this can be remotely entertaining. The Stolen time from listening to this will never come back. The musicWhy do all these type of bands try to be overly dramatic? Any substance in the music is drowned out by the soap opera type drama they convey to their listeners. If you start playing this album Don't Wait till it gets good because it won't. There is no Reason To Believe that any part of this can be remotely entertaining. The Stolen time from listening to this will never come back. The music feels So Long, So Long that I felt like the entire thing was one continuous song. Dusk & Summer is one of those albums that just feels long and tired, and on top of that everything is also incredibly annoying. I think this band can produce a good sound if they channel there sound into something that can produce a little more excitement. Then again advice from strangers is probably not a good idea either. The type of music they make is the kind were they no that most people won't like it, so they target people who like music that most people hear as gargled white noise. It is a good way to sell albums, but not the best way to be liked. Expand
  2. Nick
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    A different style to this cd.. i believe dashboard is trying to get more into the pop world and appeal to more people (probably because of the influence of the record company)... personal i think chris's original sound (all of the dashboard albums up until now) were nothing short of brillance.. He is diffenently one of the best recording artist of the last 10 years and my opinion, is A different style to this cd.. i believe dashboard is trying to get more into the pop world and appeal to more people (probably because of the influence of the record company)... personal i think chris's original sound (all of the dashboard albums up until now) were nothing short of brillance.. He is diffenently one of the best recording artist of the last 10 years and my opinion, is the best... No other artist can find a way to put so much energy in every song.. Anything with the name dashboard confessional is worth buying but i hope he sticks to more of the original sound in the albums to come Expand
  3. rayj
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    A very different album in my opinion than the preceding ones. Unique in its own rights... completely solid musically and-- lyrically is always original and refreshing.
  4. ameliar
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    this cd is amazing! when you first listen to it, it is apperant that it is not the traditional dashboard sound. the more i listened to it the more i loved it and now it has become my fave dashboard album. chris voice really shines and u can feel his emotions through his gripping and heart felt lyrics. dusk and summer is a step away from dashboards previous work but hey thats what makes me this cd is amazing! when you first listen to it, it is apperant that it is not the traditional dashboard sound. the more i listened to it the more i loved it and now it has become my fave dashboard album. chris voice really shines and u can feel his emotions through his gripping and heart felt lyrics. dusk and summer is a step away from dashboards previous work but hey thats what makes me love it, dashboard gets better with time. this album wont dissapoint you, trust me. some of the tracks that stand out are "dusk and summer" "slow decay" and "heaven here" Expand
  5. Bill
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    I guess Dash apparently shouldn't try new things out, or risk the backlash of fans who aren't able to mature
  6. max
    Sep 8, 2006
    0
    what did this guy ever do to make people think he has talent? crappy vocals and horrific non songs. rubbish
  7. bignickj
    Sep 2, 2006
    6
    I found myself waiting and wishing for any hint of the old carraba. his new sound is simply a lost attempt to produce a sound closer to U2 than the classic emo sound he previously had been adored for. the new songs are good, and get better once the words are memorized enough to sing along
  8. laura
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Kind of disappointing... a few songs are bearable, but the others are like everything else. It's more mature... if mature means boring... and all the same... and kind of a waste of money, to be honest....
  9. EmoBoy
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    This album is great. I love The Secret's in the Telling and Stolen. Although the sound is somewhat different than his past work, it's still great!
  10. tayler
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Chris Carrabba isn't trying to be anyone but himself it his songs. This album is totally different from alot of other artists and a little different from other songs Chris has wrote and played. Chris stepped out from the usual and it turned out completely rad. I don't know what people are saying about disliking his new album Dusk And Summer because it is absolutly amazing. Slow Chris Carrabba isn't trying to be anyone but himself it his songs. This album is totally different from alot of other artists and a little different from other songs Chris has wrote and played. Chris stepped out from the usual and it turned out completely rad. I don't know what people are saying about disliking his new album Dusk And Summer because it is absolutly amazing. Slow Decay and Dusk and Summer and Stolen are some of the best songs he's wrote and performed. Expand
  11. matt
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    excellent!!! buy it!
  12. anna
    Jul 17, 2006
    2
    the album feels contrived. his past album's demo feel is lost and what you're left with is an overpolished studio sound. The lyrics seem as if they were written in a hurry and his ability to write what he feels has been converted in attempt to writing hooks. As far as the collaboration with Duritz, the two sound fine apart but when they sing together it's obvious that the the album feels contrived. his past album's demo feel is lost and what you're left with is an overpolished studio sound. The lyrics seem as if they were written in a hurry and his ability to write what he feels has been converted in attempt to writing hooks. As far as the collaboration with Duritz, the two sound fine apart but when they sing together it's obvious that the voices do not pair well. This album is less of a natural evolution than a studio product with all songs under the 4 minute mark, a perfect fit for the attention span they're marketing to. Expand
  13. kaeliu
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    its not thier best- but its amazing. chris oh how you impress me the secrets in the telling and dusk and summer* you've got me boy i've loved you since the swiss army romance and you just keep gettting better - you blew me away in london
  14. AnthonyV
    Jul 6, 2006
    5
    Call the waambulance. Emo Boi #1 is back with another collection of Music To Cut To. For those of you out there complaining about the guitars and the heavier arrangements: that's the best part of this album. The song structure and arrangement on this album is fantastic. And it all goes to hell when Mr. Carabba starts whining, yelping, and crying over it all like a 14-year-old who Call the waambulance. Emo Boi #1 is back with another collection of Music To Cut To. For those of you out there complaining about the guitars and the heavier arrangements: that's the best part of this album. The song structure and arrangement on this album is fantastic. And it all goes to hell when Mr. Carabba starts whining, yelping, and crying over it all like a 14-year-old who lost his dog. Yeah, if Chris wasn't so over-emotive on this record, it would be a normal pop record. Well, that says something for normal pop. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Or cry that it's broken to begin with. Expand
  15. njb
    Jul 4, 2006
    7
    definitely much more mature sound. its not the same sound, true....but the evolution is splendid. love love love the addition of duritz on "so long , so long."
  16. rachelb
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    i love dashboard and support anything chris does. though its not as good as TPYHCTFTM its a great album! i love the secrets in the telling and stolen. those songs are worth the album
  17. SamD
    Jul 1, 2006
    4
    I believe that the guy can sing, but it just does not sound right with guitars behind it. instead, it sounds pitchy instead smooth. the lyrics are okay but they can get incredibly generic at times. the music stands as the only thing i can truly listen to and not hate.
  18. CaseyM
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Saw Chris' first show in California about 7 years ago. Die hard fan. At first I was little weirded out. But I have to say this album is certainly the maturation of Dashboard. And while I miss the old stuff, I love that he is constantly growing and changing and challening himself. Listen a couple of times and it will grow on you.
  19. BOBH
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    i enjoy the different sound
  20. SireenD
    Jun 30, 2006
    6
    Good, but not the original Dashboard Sound we have all come to love...Careful Carrabba--don't get too Corporate!
  21. jonathanu
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    this album is a great progression for the band. Chris is moving away from his depressing tones but still keeping his lyrics honest and genuine
  22. JosephS
    Jun 28, 2006
    4
    I'm being kind of hard on the band but they really dropped the ball on this one. There is aot of hype for this album but it don't deliver, there are only a few good songs, and it don't compare to his earlier work- swiss army romance and the places you have come to fear the most. Chris needs to go back to what worked and made so many people die hard fans
  23. BrianH
    Jun 28, 2006
    8
    I loved "The Places You Have Come to Fear The Most". I hated "A Mark, A mission..." This album falls somewhere in between the two and works for me. It isn't over done like MMBS but not quite as smooth and soft as TPYHCTFTM. I would say fans of DC's older music will gravitate to this more than "Vindicated" junkies.
  24. Lenna
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    A refreshing change of style that will undoubtedly gain new followers for dashboard and endear the band,once again, to those long-time fans.
  25. WillW
    Jun 27, 2006
    3
    this doesnt even sound like dashboard. with the exception of "dont wait" "the secret's in the telling" "so long, so long" "dusk and summer" and heaven here" the album doesnt even sound like dashboard. and even these songs are a stretch. and i am a huge dashboard fan. i think they've gone away from who they are on this cd and it was not a good risk. by far worst cd yet!
  26. ERod
    Jun 27, 2006
    3
    What happened? When did the voice of teenage angst turn into a carbon copy of baby boomer easy listening? Time flies, and dashboard isn't showing signs of aging well.
  27. MattD.
    Jun 27, 2006
    3
    Whiny and irritating. Even more so than before because of the anthemic musical soundscape.
  28. DukeC
    Jun 27, 2006
    4
    This album is dashboard's worst album, by far. "Don't Wait", "The Secret's In the Telling", "So Long, So Long", and the title track "Dusk and Summer" are the only original and good songs on the album. Every other song copies off of those songs. What were you thinking Chris Caberra?
  29. BGill
    Jun 27, 2006
    5
    A bit blah. I always enjoyed the MTV Unplugged stuff and the Vindicated EP, but this is not growing on me like his previous work.
  30. JorgeR
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Fun summer album.
  31. RichardT
    Jun 26, 2006
    6
    Dusk and Summer seems to present a more mature sound for Carrabba. After initial surprise at the new angle he has taken you quickly realise its just similar songs with similar deep lyrics to Dashboard's other offerings with better, more polished production. So Long, So Long which guests Adam Duritz is an absolute gem though. Die hards will love this album, the occasional Dusk and Summer seems to present a more mature sound for Carrabba. After initial surprise at the new angle he has taken you quickly realise its just similar songs with similar deep lyrics to Dashboard's other offerings with better, more polished production. So Long, So Long which guests Adam Duritz is an absolute gem though. Die hards will love this album, the occasional listner...not so much! Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Blender
    70
    It's at once a distillation of all that drew tweeners to Dashboard... and a messy, multidimensional celebration of romance and regret. [Jul 2006, p.99]
  2. Rolling Stone
    70
    Dusk and Summer can be as ponderous and precious as a Hallmark card, but it succeeds because Carrabba has found music as intense and bittersweet as his deep, deep feelings. [29 Jun 2006, p.68]
  3. They've never sounded so unoriginal. Or, frankly, better.