User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RH
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    It's pretty fun, although none of it is substantial. Hottest album cover ever though.
  2. Nathang
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    Way under-rated by this website, i just saw them live and the sounds are larger than life great energetic music.
  3. gernickk
    Jul 22, 2006
    9
    some songs actually brought a tear to my eyes, i was that happy!! it sags a little toward the end but overall it's the most fun you can cram in 35 minutes i've heard in a long time! i just wanted to turn it up louder and louder, so will you!
  4. johns
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    one of the best albums i heard in a while. almost as good as 'the organ'. the album screams fun and cos i am a 80's child this is my kind of thing. highly recommended.
  5. Matt
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Great combination of Blondie and Ace Of Base, with Cranberries-esque lyrics. The guitar mix is pretty similar throughout, but they wisely made an album that isn't too extended.
  6. HoldenC
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    Since there has to be something imperfect about everything, I guess that these songs won't help find life on other planets, or remedy world hunger, but the fact that this is one of the most fun albums since The Sounds last album makes it totally worth your time. Plenty of attitude and even more catchy songwriting make this high quality stuff, and the length makes it great for Since there has to be something imperfect about everything, I guess that these songs won't help find life on other planets, or remedy world hunger, but the fact that this is one of the most fun albums since The Sounds last album makes it totally worth your time. Plenty of attitude and even more catchy songwriting make this high quality stuff, and the length makes it great for anytime, so listen to your hott Swedish teacher and have a good time. Expand
  7. LeslieA
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    I give it a 10. i fell in love with this album immediately. It has a unique sound that is really fresh and upbeat. The lyrics are great. Great cover, songs, price... it will definitely be my summer soundtrack. Try to catch them live.. they sound even better live.
  8. StevenJ
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    This album is fabulously loud, unforgiveably poppy and absolutely the best beginning of spring, roll the windows down and sing along album of the year.
  9. TBone
    Jun 6, 2006
    8
    They are pretty good. I downloaded the first 4 songs, good mindless pop. I'm actually surprised they are not bigger than they are, they have catchy hooks. So far, 2006 has been lackluster, so I give them an 8 based on their competition.
  10. OliverZ
    Mar 26, 2006
    8
    Miles better and stronger than their debut. A great rebirth of 80's pop/rock. These guys, and girl, are sex, drugs, and rock and roll...so enjoy.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. No matter what happens on any given song (and fortunately there are far more hits than misses here), the Sounds have the advantage of having [Maja] Ivarsson at the mic.
  2. This disc has been rendered with creativity and panache, and it features hooky songwriting so compelling that it's easy to listen to the mere 35 minutes of material (divided into 11 three-minute long, radio-friendly songs) on a continuous loop.
  3. Alternative Press
    60
    Their newfound nods to pop music... overshadow the expected balls-out rockers. [Apr 2006, p.220]