• Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Apr 1, 2003
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 361 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 361

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2014
    6
    It's ok. It's not great because it has no theme or underlying message, the instrumentals are a little sloppy and get boring occasionally, and I don't care for Jack White's lyrics. Seriously, Ball and Biscuit is a pretty good song, but did it have to be seven minutes long? Maybe I've missed the boat on the White Stripes, but I just can't get into them.
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    Close enough to the perfect rock album. It's easy to see why this was their most commercially successful record. Anyone who was into alternative rock in the early 00's will be familiar with most of the songs off of this. Seven Nation Army has stood the test of time, and was to be heard in stadiums across Poland and the Ukraine this summer at the Euro 2012 Championships, proving to be asClose enough to the perfect rock album. It's easy to see why this was their most commercially successful record. Anyone who was into alternative rock in the early 00's will be familiar with most of the songs off of this. Seven Nation Army has stood the test of time, and was to be heard in stadiums across Poland and the Ukraine this summer at the Euro 2012 Championships, proving to be as catchy as ever. At 14 tracks long, the quality of the material is surprisingly high throughout. There is really only one or two tracks that I would skip over and 7 or 8 that I could be considered indie rock classics. The riffs sound timeless, partly because Jack White has borrowed from and been inspired by past blues rock masters. "Where have I heard that before?" is the question you'll find yourself asking. Although not the bands strong point, lyrically this is probably their best as well. One of the album's of the 90's. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Jack White can do no wrong. THAT'S A FACT. You can understand that from this album. Each and every album of his is absolute PERFECT. And he keeps doing good music.
  4. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    One of the best rock sounds in rock history, the White Stripes cemented their place in rock with this album. Seven Nation Army is a classic with a simple riff but Jack White shows off his immense guitar skill in songs like Ball and Biscuit and his amazing vocals in Girl, You Have No Medicine and There's No Home For You Girl. Easily one of the best rock albums I've heard.
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Elephant by the now-much-missed The White Stripes is a game-changing album that brought millions of youngsters into blues, accelerated the bandâ
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This album is ridiculous. I'm surprised it didn't start a music revolution like that of Is This It. Jack White is an absolute genius. Unfair album overall. All tracks are PERFECT
  7. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Great album. Nothing groundbreaking, but just a great rock album. This is one of those records you can listen to all the way through repeatedly. It's the 'Nevermind' for a new generation of music. You listen to it and it makes you want to start your own garage band.
  8. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Extremely underrated band from the 00's! Why could anyone hate this band? The music is a mix of blues, rock, and alt. rock. There are still people today, who have not yet heard of this band. The White Stripes are missed greatly! Rock on!
  9. May 5, 2011
    10
    Whenever The White Stripes come into the scene, the word and description of "Simplicity" into their music is what makes them such a formidable band. Elephant is probably their greatest work and a huge step up from White Blood Cells with a darker take on their music. The album still has the simplistic yet compelling composition The White Stripes is known for and you will expect the bestWhenever The White Stripes come into the scene, the word and description of "Simplicity" into their music is what makes them such a formidable band. Elephant is probably their greatest work and a huge step up from White Blood Cells with a darker take on their music. The album still has the simplistic yet compelling composition The White Stripes is known for and you will expect the best from them; heavy guitar riffs, smartly crafted lyrics and a sense of fun. Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Notice how all the negative ratings show no reasoning behind them, or show why it's so bad. They all just say "Worst album ever" or "Piece of crap", but nothing else. This album is a simple masterpiece. With the epic "Seven Nation Army", this simplistic group has created a great hummer. Jack & Meg White's amazing skill of talk-singing, drums, & guitar makes simple perfection, as this groupNotice how all the negative ratings show no reasoning behind them, or show why it's so bad. They all just say "Worst album ever" or "Piece of crap", but nothing else. This album is a simple masterpiece. With the epic "Seven Nation Army", this simplistic group has created a great hummer. Jack & Meg White's amazing skill of talk-singing, drums, & guitar makes simple perfection, as this group is known for being simple. Everything flows together effortlessly, with unforgettable & impeccable guitar riffs, & eccentric, but funny & sense-making usually. Amazing effort from an amazing band. Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Elephant shows that The White Stripes are simply one of the best bands on this planet. Opens with "Seven Nation Army", which is like one of the greatest rock songs ever. It has one of the best riffs I've ever heard. "The Hardest Button To Button" is another amazing track. Basically, every song sounds like a single. This album is tied with White Blood Cells. Both are just too good toElephant shows that The White Stripes are simply one of the best bands on this planet. Opens with "Seven Nation Army", which is like one of the greatest rock songs ever. It has one of the best riffs I've ever heard. "The Hardest Button To Button" is another amazing track. Basically, every song sounds like a single. This album is tied with White Blood Cells. Both are just too good to consider one better than the other. A Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. This album exhibits some of their strongest work, and it's the one that put them on the map.
  13. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best albums of all time. This album is absolutely exceptional. it's like finding an island amongst a sea of **** 21'st century music. would recommend to anyone with a decent taste in music.
  14. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Wow. With another album The White Stripes again fail to disappoint. This isn't another one of your plain albums you find suffocating each other on store shelves; this one shows different music that you will no doubt enjoy.
  15. PatrikD.
    Apr 18, 2008
    0
    Sucks, three chords worn out so called rock N roll !
  16. WillS
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Very good album, but did anyone notice that "There's No Home For You Here" sounds almost exactly like "Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground"?
  17. Emuke
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    This album wasn't a change for a broader fanbase-it was a change for self-discovery and experimentation. The mellow and cold vibes from Elephant hit all the right notes-- and Meg's vocal escapades are captivating and give promise for more trial and error from the duo. Songs like I Want to be the Boy, You've got Her in Your Pocket, In the Cold Cold Night, and I Just This album wasn't a change for a broader fanbase-it was a change for self-discovery and experimentation. The mellow and cold vibes from Elephant hit all the right notes-- and Meg's vocal escapades are captivating and give promise for more trial and error from the duo. Songs like I Want to be the Boy, You've got Her in Your Pocket, In the Cold Cold Night, and I Just Don't Know What to do With Myself are preformed ingeniously; the vocal drive audible give energy and soul to the tracks while the subtle yet strong guitar-and-drum team set a sexy, intimate, overall appealing mood. Five stars, rating of ten, one of the best albums of the year, if not decade. Expand
  18. Steve
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Proof that mixing rock and art isn't all pretension and exclusive. one album that is indeed a landmark in rock.
  19. Mitch
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Just a flawless album. I'm sorry, but even though the drumming is essentially one-dimensional, Jack White has produced some of the coolest guitar riffs since Zepplin 2. Every track is more compelling than the last. The lyrics are edgy, potent and all around interesting. Even in "In the Cold, Cold Night" and "I Want To Be The Boy", you can feel the energy radiating from this record. Just a flawless album. I'm sorry, but even though the drumming is essentially one-dimensional, Jack White has produced some of the coolest guitar riffs since Zepplin 2. Every track is more compelling than the last. The lyrics are edgy, potent and all around interesting. Even in "In the Cold, Cold Night" and "I Want To Be The Boy", you can feel the energy radiating from this record. Their best album. Period. Expand
  20. FrancescoB
    Apr 25, 2007
    0
    Pessimo!
  21. Nicole
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    I absolutely adore this album.
  22. Diany
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Jack white is just great.........i love is unique style.
  23. DaveG.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    Judging by the contrasting sea of red and green on the user comments section, it's obvious that this is a "love it or hate it" type of album. I'm without a doubt one of the lovers. What I don't understand is some of the comments urging that there is no possible way to love this album and that everyone is wrong. There is no possible way an album can accumulate such a high Judging by the contrasting sea of red and green on the user comments section, it's obvious that this is a "love it or hate it" type of album. I'm without a doubt one of the lovers. What I don't understand is some of the comments urging that there is no possible way to love this album and that everyone is wrong. There is no possible way an album can accumulate such a high average here and be as inexcusably terrible as some make it out to be. The truth is that while you may not like it, this album is good... real good. No use trying to ignore it. Expand
  24. MichaelA
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Best album of the 2000s, Raw, Raunchy, Sexy, Innocent, and extremely cool.
  25. ZachS.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This album is a fresh, clean break from the hollow, lyrical rubbish that is so abundant in today's music. The rhetorical masterpieces painted in each song with no more than a few chords for support are nothing short of brilliant. Listen through this CD and see if you don't have it playing in your head for the next week.
  26. LukeT.
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    The white stripes are very original and 'elephant' is what really made them famous. Each track is different in its own way. From the soft tone of 'you've got her in your pocket' to the screeching ar guitar in 'Black Math' this album suits whatever mood you are in.
  27. Camille
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    There is so much more to discover on this album than Seven Nation Army. One song after the other is a complete surprise in both style and lyrics. It would be absolutely impossible to attach a single style to this disk. A masterpiece!
  28. MarshallF.
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    THIS IS A MESSAGE TO ALL THE WHITE STRIPES HATERS IN THE WORLD!!! The reason you are teasing and hating this band is because you think the music is way to simple, or because Meg (the dreumer) is really bad. The sheer simplicity of the band is what makes the music so good! Writing a simple song the most difficult thing to do in music. Hear a song like Seven Nation Army. That is 5, FIVE, 5 THIS IS A MESSAGE TO ALL THE WHITE STRIPES HATERS IN THE WORLD!!! The reason you are teasing and hating this band is because you think the music is way to simple, or because Meg (the dreumer) is really bad. The sheer simplicity of the band is what makes the music so good! Writing a simple song the most difficult thing to do in music. Hear a song like Seven Nation Army. That is 5, FIVE, 5 notes in that riff, and its the whole song just played in different was and everything. Black Math's main riff is 3 5th chords. Cold, Cold Night is again, 4 notes on the whose song, but what they do with the notes makes it sound so haunting and everything. I know you folks who say Elephant sucks are trying to sound so "Musically Smart", but a real musician listens to this and can realize its unique and amazing sound. I mean, there are plenty of punk bands like Green Day, tons of pop stars like Beyonce, and too many talentless "R 'n' B" singers like Mariah Carey. What other two-person raw sounding bassless band do you know? For al those people reading this, go pick up an instrument, and try to come up with a riff as catchy and simple as the Seven Nation Army riff. You can't. Unless you are some new genesis, you just cant. This band has earned resect from old folk musicians like Bob Dylan, and newer rock bands like Franz Ferdinand because of their unique simplicity. So do yourself a favor, and get Elephant. Expand
  29. DanH
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    A perfect album. A "bad" drummer does not make a bad band. Meg's drumming style fits perfectly with the music, with any other drummer it would just sound a little off. All of the songs on this album are great, ALL of them.
  30. SaneH.
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    Are you kidding me? Why not give a good rating to a band with talent? This band makes me sick. The drummer is worthless. Please, please, please listen to something else.
  31. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    1
    I only like one song on this record.
  32. NickM
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    one of the most unique sounds out there. its a refreshing sound compared to the standard unsophisticated boring sound that most rock groups today have.
  33. HootchieMomma
    May 4, 2006
    1
    This Band SUCKS. How could you listen to this and actually be pleased by what you're hearing? It's total garbage. NO Talent!
  34. nick
    May 1, 2006
    7
    definitely not the second best of the year but a good album not great.
  35. marsh
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I'm still blown away that someone could actually give this cd a 3. it's sad.
  36. SatanicM.
    Apr 4, 2006
    3
    It's incredible to see how this band manage to rock an audience with such an unsexy and wishy-washy music. Art can come disguised in so many many ways my dears, specially when a "band" steals the whole Adams Family/Hollow (Johnny Deep's horror movie) aesthetic, with disguises and stuff, and packs it up in a record and then claims it's an original product.
  37. Amanda
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    This album did not leave my car CD player for MONTHS.
  38. DrewM
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    A great album. Highly recommended.
  39. LizT
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    I love this album! that's all....I never knew that there could be a band out there that consisted of a male and female that didn't make love with each other.. at least as far as I know... but its good music.. real good..... yeehaw.
  40. KatiB
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    This is an excellent album. It's different than the Stripe's previous three albums and yet still very Jack White (which is a good thing). You need to own it now. Also, listen to it a few times before saying no. It takes more than one listen to really "feel" it.
  41. WSFan
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Black Math, The Hardest Button To Button and Seven Nation Army are the best songs ever created by anyone on the universe in the history of music. EVER. This album has so many good rock pieces to it that I had to take my socks off. Because it seriously rocked my socks off big time. You can listen to this album about a million times and you will never EVER EVER get bored of it. About 20,000 Black Math, The Hardest Button To Button and Seven Nation Army are the best songs ever created by anyone on the universe in the history of music. EVER. This album has so many good rock pieces to it that I had to take my socks off. Because it seriously rocked my socks off big time. You can listen to this album about a million times and you will never EVER EVER get bored of it. About 20,000 times better than any other pop right now. All other rock is dead. Thus, Long live the White Stripes. (By the way, even though GBMS is totally different from Elephant, it still is really good. Get both right now, if you don't already have them.) Expand
  42. marshallm
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    they're are a great band. i think it's some of the most original stuff you'll ever hear. Get Behind me Satan ( there latest LP) is def. worth a buy too. keep goin' meg and jack!
  43. PelleS
    Dec 2, 2005
    4
    Sorry, these guys obviously have the ability the cloud reviewers' minds. This band is totally derivative, and the problem is that their influences are painfully (and often shriekingly) obvious--and many weren't even that good in the first place. There are a few decent songs here, but overall the plodding and amateurish drumming, 'minimalist' sound and faux dramatic Sorry, these guys obviously have the ability the cloud reviewers' minds. This band is totally derivative, and the problem is that their influences are painfully (and often shriekingly) obvious--and many weren't even that good in the first place. There are a few decent songs here, but overall the plodding and amateurish drumming, 'minimalist' sound and faux dramatic lyrics are just plain annoying. People who find this album--and the White Stripes--great are seriously lacking in their exposure to pre-90s music. Expand
  44. HawkB
    Dec 2, 2005
    7
    Renegade likes it so I'm giving it a 7 based on that. I might change my score when I've actually heard the album.
  45. NickyH
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    I get a real kick of thinking about how much my metal-head friends must hate the White Stripes. I laugh even harder when I think about the fact that some of them went out and bought Elephant - after several years of Stripes hating - just because it got great reviews. Now, nearly rolling on the floor with laughter, I think about their distaste for the album and how vocal they have to be I get a real kick of thinking about how much my metal-head friends must hate the White Stripes. I laugh even harder when I think about the fact that some of them went out and bought Elephant - after several years of Stripes hating - just because it got great reviews. Now, nearly rolling on the floor with laughter, I think about their distaste for the album and how vocal they have to be about it. And I still laugh to this day when I give my metal-head friends rides. Their reactions when I put this CD in are priceless. Oh, the humor there is to be found in a group of people who find bluesy-rock "ghey". Ah, enough rambling. This album is one of the few albums in the past years that can be called a "masterpiece". There's to damn few albums like this anymore - and that's a shame. Classic. Expand
  46. RonG
    Sep 14, 2005
    7
    Hmm...Some great songs, too many that don't deserve the hype. White Blood Cells is far better.
  47. MattC
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    Can you not love this album?
  48. sM
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Not overrated. Complete rock masterpiece. Woot!
  49. TykeC
    Jun 28, 2005
    1
    This band has very few redeeming qualities.
  50. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This is definitely my favorite CD. Everyone needs to get a copy of this. It is amazing.
  51. RicN.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    I once used the track Ball and Biscuit to choreograph a couple performing foreplay on stage. It worked wonderfully well.
  52. Carrie
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This really will remain one of my favorite albums of all time.
  53. JoeD
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I bought this album a year after it came out and I am sure glad I did. In an age where most music is overproduced, commercialized crap designed to rake in a profit, the Stripes are a sorely needed breath of fresh air. This has become one of my favorite albums of all time!
  54. Jake
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Absolutely sensational
  55. PhantomXIII
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    AN excellent work that everyone should have in their collection.
  56. JimB
    Mar 27, 2005
    7
    Some critics have been tripping over one another extolling this record with unbridled enthusiasm. Yes,it's a good record,but hardly akin to the "second coming".
  57. ChrisL
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums of all time. I think history will show its brilliance, and the White Stripes will go on to become one of the most imitated bands since Led Zeppelin. Blues, punk and garage rock are sewn together so well you can't see the seams, yet the siblings White have created a style of music distinctly their own. Every song has a purpose on this album, and This is one of my favorite albums of all time. I think history will show its brilliance, and the White Stripes will go on to become one of the most imitated bands since Led Zeppelin. Blues, punk and garage rock are sewn together so well you can't see the seams, yet the siblings White have created a style of music distinctly their own. Every song has a purpose on this album, and nothing is overdone. "Ball and Biscuit", the longest song the Stripes have ever recorded, just leaves you wanting more. And here's the best news: I think they can get still better. Expand
  58. XavierF
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    Unlike many, I found this album to be lacking in depth and was generally immature. Perhaps a few more band members can flush out some talent with this group.
  59. HollisH
    Jan 5, 2005
    1
    Yikes. No thanks.
  60. KrystiG
    Dec 26, 2004
    7
    Ths CD's really cool It's different lol. The White Stripes are very creative. I like most of the songs except for 'Well it's true that we love one another' that song sux!
  61. PatF.
    Dec 23, 2004
    2
    Uninspired, boring, and a mess: all words to describe Elephant. One of the few albums that I truly feel is immensely overrated. There is a song or two that are decent, but nothing worth writing home about. In fact, it's the only album I own that has not made it to my iPod. Listen to the Fiery Furnaces instead. And they actually are brother and sister.
  62. Nick
    Nov 25, 2004
    8
    Good, but not as consistent as the amazing De Stijl or even its predecessor White Blood Cells. "Ball and a Biscuit" is a smooth extended jam and "Hypnotize" steams ahead with enormous energy, but tracks like "Little Acorns" and "It's True That We Love One Another" just aren't very good. Most of the other tracks are quite solid, just not quite up to par with previous outputs.
  63. PopeJohnPaul
    Sep 19, 2004
    4
    Disappointing. It does have 4 unbelievable tracks, but the remainder of the album adds nothing to those songs. And I had to take an extra point off for 'It's True That We Love One Another'. Dear Lord that song is horrible.
  64. JakeC.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    What can I say...their 2nd best album (right behind Blood Cells), but still a masterpiece. It introduced me to the bluesy part of TWS. The best band ever? Yes...indeed yes!
  65. JayR.
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    Best Album of the Millenium. Perfect 10. If you don't own this album, you are ripping yourself off out of one of the best albums ever made. End of Story.
  66. Stu
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    Elephant, along with all the other White Stripes albums and wonderful, ingenious, new, and very different from all those other, 10 cents a dozen rock groups that are out now.
  67. Tyler
    Jul 4, 2004
    9
    How much variation from album to album can you expect from two kids playing two instruments on a 4 track recorder? Even as seminal as Robert Johnson was most of his songs sound the same. So if the differences in Jack's riffs are sometimes only incremental from "De Stijl" and "White Blood Cells" I can forgive him. The main difference between this album and their last couple is that it How much variation from album to album can you expect from two kids playing two instruments on a 4 track recorder? Even as seminal as Robert Johnson was most of his songs sound the same. So if the differences in Jack's riffs are sometimes only incremental from "De Stijl" and "White Blood Cells" I can forgive him. The main difference between this album and their last couple is that it is consistently more accessible - and anytime good music reach a wide audience it's a good thing. I am surprised at the number of zero ratings given - perhaps suggest a different record that would show me why this music would merit such a low score. Expand
  68. ScottC
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    This was definitely one of the decades best albums. In my opinion it was an instant classic and showcases the talent of the White Stripes and gives the public a look at their wide range of ability.
  69. gregs
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    99.99% pure genius- drums ,vocal,storeytelling a distillation. Shows the heart of rocknrolls still beating.. to use a cliche. Perhaps the people who gave it a zero are into rap or some other genre and are closed minded as their talent at least is undeniable and in your face.
  70. BrockR
    May 25, 2004
    8
    Elliot the previous rater before me was right "De Stijl" is the White Stripes best album. While I don't agree with his labelment of this album being "overhyped" I think the album really could have been better. The first 3 songs lead you to believe the album will be much more grittier and bluesy, then 4,5,6 disappoint, the cover of i just don't know what to do with myself should Elliot the previous rater before me was right "De Stijl" is the White Stripes best album. While I don't agree with his labelment of this album being "overhyped" I think the album really could have been better. The first 3 songs lead you to believe the album will be much more grittier and bluesy, then 4,5,6 disappoint, the cover of i just don't know what to do with myself should have been put on a single, cold cold night gets old VERY fast, I do like his song Keep her in your pocket though, its a reminder of how much I loved I can tell that we are gonna be friends. number 8 is what makes this cd an 8. This AMAZING improvisational blues battle shows just how amazing Jack White is on the guitar. Regardless of what the ignorant Linkin Park avid fans say about how they think this dynamic duo play, The White Stripes bring it every time they play, NONE of their songs sound the same, and they play their type of music not what the public wants to hear. If your a true musician this band is in your top 10 list at least. Expand
  71. GraceC
    May 22, 2004
    10
    Simple goodness.
  72. Elliott
    May 2, 2004
    7
    HIGHLY overrated. De Stijl is where it's at.
  73. SimonA
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    I think John Bonham (Led Zeppelin) smiles in heaven.
  74. Cfitz
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    The first, true classic rock album of the 21st Century. Elephant combines sugar sweet lyrics, Dylan musings with Zeppelinesque screaming guitars and addictive riffs. Jack White is a genius.
  75. Matt
    Feb 16, 2004
    9
    Some people think they know everything, and they don't. The critics are right IMO on this album. The first half is classic, in fact.
  76. chris
    Feb 13, 2004
    6
    the tracks on this album that are good: phenomenal garage rock gems (girl, you have no faith in medicine and hypnotize). but, too much boring filler (tracks 4 - 9; the last cutesy track gets annoying) and overall waaay too much hype from critics and media attention. i recommend de stijl instead.
  77. LarryO
    Feb 1, 2004
    0
    A TRUE PIECE OF SH*T! What's happening to Music Critics? This cd can't be in this list. What a weird & gasified joke!
  78. SeanO
    Jan 29, 2004
    3
    Background sounds for when you are very drunk.
  79. LeoS
    Jan 29, 2004
    2
    What a piece of crap!
  80. BobbyO
    Jan 25, 2004
    0
    Crappiest album by the crappiest band.
  81. BenL.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    This was an awesome album. Usually you buy a CD and only listen to a few of the songs, and thats what the CD is done for. This album has no fillers and they should all be singles. One of the best albums ever.
  82. ChrisM
    Jan 1, 2004
    4
    The most overrated album of the year. An album made for lame music fans to jerk off over. 'Elephant' is an album that only a "master of the obvious" magazine like Rolling Stone or a website like metacritic would regard so highly.
  83. holycrap
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Go buy this CD now. stop reading and go buy it. if you already have it, listen to it. This is the best album of the year along with QOTSA (Songs for the Deaf) and the streets (Original Pirate Material) Awesome, definetly worth buying.
  84. holycrap
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Go buy this CD now. stop reading and go buy it. if you already have it, listen to it. This is the best album of the year along with QOTSA (Songs for the Deaf) and the streets (Original Pirate Material) Awesome, definetly worth buying.
  85. NaveS
    Dec 6, 2003
    0
    This album sucks crap....what a flop!
  86. SimonB
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    Best album I've heard all year. The cover of 'Don't Know What to Do With Myself' is a gem and 'Ball and and a Biscuit' is intense. 'Little Acorns' and 'Cold Cold Night' aren't bad but knock off one point
  87. AndrewR
    Nov 21, 2003
    8
    More of the same from Jack and Meg, with a little more, like a 7-minute-long blues jam and a few instances of actual bass. One of the more eclectic, invigorating releases of the year to these ears, and a BLAST to listen to-- and if "Seven Nation Army" isn't the most exciting song EVER, I don't think you're listening hard enough.
  88. AdamCK
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    This is a great CD, although not as good as their masterpiece, 'White Blood Cells.' There are no songs here as good as 'Hotel Yorba' or 'Fell in Love With a Girl,' but there is still plenty to enjoy. So far this is the record of the year, and if it doesn't exactly progess The White Stripes sound too much, it does at least solidify them as the best band This is a great CD, although not as good as their masterpiece, 'White Blood Cells.' There are no songs here as good as 'Hotel Yorba' or 'Fell in Love With a Girl,' but there is still plenty to enjoy. So far this is the record of the year, and if it doesn't exactly progess The White Stripes sound too much, it does at least solidify them as the best band going right now. Expand
  89. ColinR
    Oct 21, 2003
    7
    To me it was so close to being fantastic but lacked something that hung it all together. I like individual songs but don't "get" the album. Fine but not a classic.
  90. Spork*
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    awesome definatley one of the greatest ever
  91. AaronS
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    This is the best thing that I've heard all year so far. The White Stripes so called "British" album is more intense than thier previous releases. Jack White's guitar playing is phenominal with moments that are SO good you want to weep. An amazing album.
  92. TristramC
    Sep 16, 2003
    10
    Look I don't know what the ratings mean except that maybe I am to rate the degree of urgency that should be had in acquiring this for your collection. If that IS the case, it isn't even close. This is the finest record of the year because it is even more successful at doing what made White Blood Cells an American Classic. That is to meat rock musics' watermarks of punk and Look I don't know what the ratings mean except that maybe I am to rate the degree of urgency that should be had in acquiring this for your collection. If that IS the case, it isn't even close. This is the finest record of the year because it is even more successful at doing what made White Blood Cells an American Classic. That is to meat rock musics' watermarks of punk and blues together while at the same time making the music sound modern instead of arcane. The common mistake is that Jack and Meg are traditionalists when they are not--any more than Berry or Hendrix were in their primes. Expand
  93. JackW
    Aug 28, 2003
    10
    I own every White Stripes album, and Elephant is certainly the one with the best first listen, replay value, consistency, variety, and mass appeal. The best album since OK Computer. If you like Rock music and you dislike Elephant may your CD wallet filled likely with Limp Bizkit burn.
  94. howlinpellealmqvistlvr
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    this is my fav cd out of all the white stripes -anyone who thinks otherwise probably doesnt have good taste in music
  95. AnonymousMC
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    best cd of 2003
  96. lawrencej
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    the best album i have ever heard.
  97. MarkC
    Jul 23, 2003
    4
    Take all of their other albums, remove the urgency, the heart, and the good songs, you have Elephant. A less than ok release from a great band.
  98. Dragonfly
    Jul 14, 2003
    4
    I seriously don't hear what should be so special about this c.d. One of my greatest deceptions this year...
  99. Luke
    Jul 13, 2003
    6
    A bit of a disappointing follow-up to White Blood Cells. Listening to songs like "There's No Home for You Here" and "I Want to be the Boy to Warm Your Mother's Heart" make me think it's more of a WBC re-hash than a follow-up. Nonetheless, there are some enjoyable tracks here ("Black Math" and "Ball and Biscuit" especially), even if Elephant as a whole could have been so much more.
  100. colinm
    Jul 11, 2003
    9
    Jack white continues to be a better songwriter with each album, and the stripes conjure up a variety of atmospheres that are all pretty compelling, but they are not quite the saviors the press would have you believe. This album sounds like they tried to make their masterpiece before they were quite ready. It has many of the hall marks of greatness, but ends up being a little too vague. So Jack white continues to be a better songwriter with each album, and the stripes conjure up a variety of atmospheres that are all pretty compelling, but they are not quite the saviors the press would have you believe. This album sounds like they tried to make their masterpiece before they were quite ready. It has many of the hall marks of greatness, but ends up being a little too vague. So what is elephant? Not a great record, but a reeeeealy good one. And these days thats enough. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 80
    They break their own rules, even adding expansive guitar solos, to keep themselves interested and fans off-balance. [May 2003, p.123]
  2. Therein lies the contradiction of The White Stripes. How do you combine the shit-hot with the "twee?" Elephant's shortcomings suggests the enterprise is futile.
  3. It is a glorious thing to hear. It will be one of the best things you hear all year.