Ellipse

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2009
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexF
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    If any single person would watch all 40 vblogs, they would invariably agree that the care and love Imogen has put into this album is unrivaled.
  2. WCygan
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    A very lovely, well-conceived and executed album from a very talented artist.
  3. BenG
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Heap is a genius. The best thing out of merry old England since McCartney. Impeccable attention to detail in every song, weaving her sparkling, sensous layers. She not only shows mastery in every genre of music she touches, but has created a new one in the process. At least one. It's also clear she wasn't concerned about what any promoters thought. This music is totally hers. Heap is a genius. The best thing out of merry old England since McCartney. Impeccable attention to detail in every song, weaving her sparkling, sensous layers. She not only shows mastery in every genre of music she touches, but has created a new one in the process. At least one. It's also clear she wasn't concerned about what any promoters thought. This music is totally hers. When a true artistic genius opens their faucet, this is the result. Imogen Heap is God's latest gift to music!! Expand
  4. Wnard
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Lovely! Honestly, since I've been listening to her new album Ellipse, I've never even bothered to check out other female artists because I know she's always the best and I'll never get bored of her songs. NEVER, especially her new album! The album is well written. For example Swoon '' let me be the great scott, tip top pit stop in your ocean, I could be the Lovely! Honestly, since I've been listening to her new album Ellipse, I've never even bothered to check out other female artists because I know she's always the best and I'll never get bored of her songs. NEVER, especially her new album! The album is well written. For example Swoon '' let me be the great scott, tip top pit stop in your ocean, I could be the shipmates wife, got you down and dirty with the lotion' made me smile and even laugh for quite awhile. Besides Swoon, Bad Body Double is a success! The song is about her feeling self-concious of her body, feeling low self-esteem and how she hates her body.. not to forget, the beats are so unique that it makes me think, where the heck does Imogen got the idea to slap her own buttocks and record it using garage band? WOW. Canvas, is the best music ever written by Imogen Heap. The mixes of piano and guitar are just tperfect and the video, actually made me cry PLUS it's my lullaby! I DON'T really like The Fire though... Furthermore, Earth makes me want to dance like a crazy girl all day long hehehe. 2-1 ( polyfilla) is stuck in my mind. Especially the intro and the chorus of the song. This song is also a success because the song has a perfect combination of cello and other weird and cool sounds but at the same time you can listen it even if you're utterly tired from work or school and just want to lay on the bed for awhile. In conclusion, her new album is GREAT! Expand
  5. DanielR.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    I have been anticipating this release for a very long time, and sure enough it did not disappoint. A lot of thoughtful, hard work went into this album and it really shows. Like any great work, it has its flaws, but I'm more than willing to overlook them since her heart is exactly where it's supposed to be.
  6. JitenderK.
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    Nice Movie.
  7. NolandS
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing Imogen Heap doesn't disappoint.
  8. MarkDay
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Really original in her sound as usual. Not the usual bland pop, rock or hip-hop, one of a kind sound!
  9. TonyT
    Sep 2, 2009
    5
    The Onion said it best. Would make a good soundtrack for a trendy TV show.
  10. cecilL
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    what can I say? Imogen Heap is amazing!
  11. LeeW.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Though the main beef is with messages in the songs, which are sometimes generic, Imogen makes up for that flaw with unique lyrics, fantastic instrumentals (with some fantastic instrument choices), and a beautiful voice, possibly the best I've ever heard.
  12. WillR
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Really loving her work... perfect for headphones on a Sunday.. or any day of the week.
  13. DeeR
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    I admit I'm a bit of a fan in the first place. I don't quite think "she can do no wrong" though. I've heard some iffy stuff by Immi, but this is NOT it... this is a solid album.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Ellipse is some of her most wide-ranging work, physically and musically speaking.
  2. The prolific singer/songwriter has reacted to the licensing feast surrounding "Speak for Yourself" ("The OC," "So You Think You Can Dance," Verizon advertisements) with a stronger focus on song structure and melody on Ellipse.
  3. Mostly, though, Ellipse delivers an inventive yet intimate batch of laptop-pop gems.