• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 88
  2. Negative: 18 out of 88

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrettC
    Nov 1, 2004
    3
    Awful cd. They really turn some classic songs into boring, uninspiration sludge. This is one project that should have been canned.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2004
    3
    I am a huge APC fan but this has to be the worst album of the year. Covers range from the decent to the truly appalling. Passive, a reworked yet stale leftover from the illfated Tapeworm Project, is the only decent track on the disc. It is well known that this was issued so that APC's contract with Virgin would be over...they could have at least put some work into the songs and not I am a huge APC fan but this has to be the worst album of the year. Covers range from the decent to the truly appalling. Passive, a reworked yet stale leftover from the illfated Tapeworm Project, is the only decent track on the disc. It is well known that this was issued so that APC's contract with Virgin would be over...they could have at least put some work into the songs and not insulting their listening audience. Expand
  3. SteveF
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    What the hell ? APC used to be one of my favorite bands. I loved Mer de noms and couldnt wait til thier next album dropped. It did and boy did thirteenth step suck. Then they released this crap. I'm losing respect for a band that could be great.
  4. CecilP
    Jan 27, 2005
    3
    Lots of ideas on this cover album. Most of them should have never left the rehearsal studio. I'm sure the band's intentions were good, but this is barely listenable.
  5. AlB
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    i love perfect circle, but this is a real rushed, album, Has no originality, no spak. lacking great guitar and vocal riffs which generally make them so good
  6. DameY
    Feb 1, 2005
    0
    REALLY generic and bland
  7. AlexS
    Aug 4, 2005
    0
    Totally fails and dissapoints all APC fans, fails to match up to thier previous albums.. absolutely rubbish
  8. DanL
    Nov 11, 2004
    2
    A huge perfect circle and tool fan who is gravely dissappointed by this album. This is Maynard's worst album to date. Maybe other people will find it appealing but it's going to collect dust on my shelves and the next time it gets brought back out may be if I decide to commit suicide.
  9. JasonS
    Dec 4, 2004
    2
    Love Tool, like APC, but hate this album. Probably a result of high expectations, but after only one listen I felt ripped off. Listened some more, and that feeling didn't change. The whole album is one big long boring drawl. If I listened again, I probably couldn't tell you which song was which.
  10. HollyS
    Mar 26, 2005
    3
    Ummm....yeah I can't say I was a big fan of Perfect Circle until I finally gave in and bought their first album, which I love and think is a great album...then due to friends advice i bought emotiv.....i think its boring personally, but she loves it....I can't stand the cover of Depches Modes, People are People....I do them credit with coming up with a politically motivated Ummm....yeah I can't say I was a big fan of Perfect Circle until I finally gave in and bought their first album, which I love and think is a great album...then due to friends advice i bought emotiv.....i think its boring personally, but she loves it....I can't stand the cover of Depches Modes, People are People....I do them credit with coming up with a politically motivated compilation and the timing of its release....there needs to be more projects like this, but with a bit more fire. Expand
  11. MattJ
    Jun 30, 2007
    3
    You know, one of the very reasons A Perfect Circle has been so high on my list of great music is it's bizzare, athiestic focus which works to separate me from everyday reality. The last thing I would have expected out of Keaton was a covers album with an anti-war theme! His re-works of several of the songs are interesting, but there's nothing new, alternative or creative about You know, one of the very reasons A Perfect Circle has been so high on my list of great music is it's bizzare, athiestic focus which works to separate me from everyday reality. The last thing I would have expected out of Keaton was a covers album with an anti-war theme! His re-works of several of the songs are interesting, but there's nothing new, alternative or creative about an anti-war political bent. At least Trent Reznor projects the "beginning of the end" with NIN's anti-war theme in Year Zero. I'll start listening to the Dixie chicks for that same old tired "peace and love" line, thank you. I'm very dissappointed. Collapse
  12. tsub
    Nov 27, 2004
    0
    gosh this cd is horrible
  13. Brandon
    Dec 16, 2004
    1
    I am probably one of the biggest fans of APC... this album was so disgustingly upsetting. It brutally sucked. I lost a big of respect for Maynard, just hope he gets in together for a new TOOL album.
  14. aaronw
    Jan 17, 2005
    0
    APC is selling out!!!! They are getting worse and worse
  15. TonyB
    Nov 14, 2004
    3
    This cd is just flat out crap. Ive been a huge APC fan for a while now but they have been going downhill since the start. mer de noms was, all in all, nearly perfect. Every song was amazing and i could listen to it over and over. Thirteenth step had about half the songs that were good but the others i could stand. Emotive just SUCKS. Horrible covers of otherwise decent songs. I say head This cd is just flat out crap. Ive been a huge APC fan for a while now but they have been going downhill since the start. mer de noms was, all in all, nearly perfect. Every song was amazing and i could listen to it over and over. Thirteenth step had about half the songs that were good but the others i could stand. Emotive just SUCKS. Horrible covers of otherwise decent songs. I say head back to Tool Maynard. And don't put out crap. Expand
  16. Jeff
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    Great leaping Jesus this is awful! Take a bunch of great songs and "cover" them by speaking or singing the words over music that sounds like outtakes from some King Crimson side project. If this album really was a contract breaker, maybe it can be forgiven; otherwise, what's the point?
  17. lennybruce
    Nov 24, 2004
    0
    I would rate this cd, but i can't stop laughing long enough to do so. Anyone buying into this junk proves Barnum is right once again, a sucker is born every minute.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 80
    Unexpectedly impressive. [Dec 2004, p.138]
  2. Emotive falls flat and fails to raise the bar set so high by the quality of their previous two releases.
  3. 60
    One of the most bizarre covers albums ever. [Dec 2004, p.102]