Era Vulgaris

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 189

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2014
    6
    After the disappointing "Lullabies To Paralyze" all eyes were on Josh Homme to see if he would resurrect QOTSA or continue on down the slippery slope. The resurrection would have to wait until 2013's "Like Clockwork" as Era Vulgaris is in a similar vein to "Lullabies" - yes it is heavy but almost just for the sake of it and generally is quite a dull affair. Where "Era.." bests itsAfter the disappointing "Lullabies To Paralyze" all eyes were on Josh Homme to see if he would resurrect QOTSA or continue on down the slippery slope. The resurrection would have to wait until 2013's "Like Clockwork" as Era Vulgaris is in a similar vein to "Lullabies" - yes it is heavy but almost just for the sake of it and generally is quite a dull affair. Where "Era.." bests its predecessor is that it is set at a quicker pace and has a bit more urgency about it. It also sees the band go down a few new avenues. Where it pales nest to "Lullabies..." is that it is completely devoid of singles or anything close to a belter of a tune. Too often the songs are flogged to death and far outstay their welcome. "River in the Road" is a great song but outside of that one I'm struggling to name anything worth going back to. Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Quirky but hard to love, let's hope it'll be beaten by their upcoming album (this year?! Please!) There's no denying there's something missing between the screeching guitars and bizarre fuzz... Been a long time since Rated R, huh?
  3. GuidedByVoices
    Aug 24, 2009
    5
    it's not crap, but it isn't a good album neither, they always suck from a lot of sources to build great songs, here they were looking for third rate bands,and they got second hand songs, QOTSA fanboys, is It as good as previous albums?, here they are as skilled as always, but skill is not all in a song, honestly, after beasts such as lullabies or rated I expected a lot more, I it's not crap, but it isn't a good album neither, they always suck from a lot of sources to build great songs, here they were looking for third rate bands,and they got second hand songs, QOTSA fanboys, is It as good as previous albums?, here they are as skilled as always, but skill is not all in a song, honestly, after beasts such as lullabies or rated I expected a lot more, I see very high scores for the album, sure you give everything that's brand newfive stars. Expand
  4. moonwaffle
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    I've always been conflicted about qotsa. it seems like everyone one of their albums bears a meager handful of amazing songs, brilliant in their simplicity, and way more that i could hardly care less about. 'misfit love' and "3's & 7's" are essential. the rest sounds like a mix of stone temple pilot songs and really grating robot rock. it's worth a purchase, I've always been conflicted about qotsa. it seems like everyone one of their albums bears a meager handful of amazing songs, brilliant in their simplicity, and way more that i could hardly care less about. 'misfit love' and "3's & 7's" are essential. the rest sounds like a mix of stone temple pilot songs and really grating robot rock. it's worth a purchase, just barely though. Expand
  5. AndrewA
    Jul 19, 2007
    4
    Boring and flat, this is their weakest album. Most of the songs go nowhere. Apparently, now that Holmes is "alone" he needs a hand to help him pen some songs.
  6. marcg
    Jun 18, 2007
    6
    just correct...no more.
  7. TravisH
    Jun 18, 2007
    4
    Let me start off by saying QOTSA is probably my favorite band of all time. I was so excited to get this album but it just falls flat. The songs seem to be a jumble of riffs that never go anywhere. After seeing Kyuss perform many moons ago i instantly fell in love with this style of music that was so unique and groundbreaking. Maybe it will grow on me but i doubt it. Rehashing the desert Let me start off by saying QOTSA is probably my favorite band of all time. I was so excited to get this album but it just falls flat. The songs seem to be a jumble of riffs that never go anywhere. After seeing Kyuss perform many moons ago i instantly fell in love with this style of music that was so unique and groundbreaking. Maybe it will grow on me but i doubt it. Rehashing the desert sessions does not a good album make. Sorry Holmes, I'm not feeling this one. Expand
  8. paulA
    Jun 13, 2007
    6
    did i miss something. this album is ok as far as rock albums go, but as far as queens of the stone age is concerned, it's a mess. i was ready for more crunchy guitar tones followed by competant and complete songwriting. what i got was a muddle of scratchy vocals coupled with whiny paper thin guitar sounds. the worst part about the album was their inablility to write a song that did i miss something. this album is ok as far as rock albums go, but as far as queens of the stone age is concerned, it's a mess. i was ready for more crunchy guitar tones followed by competant and complete songwriting. what i got was a muddle of scratchy vocals coupled with whiny paper thin guitar sounds. the worst part about the album was their inablility to write a song that sounded complete. these songs just kinda fizzle out into a mess of uncomprehendable B.S. even though this review sounds harsh they still manage to throw a song or two onto the album that makes it almost worth buying. so if your a fan buy it, if not then i would just borrow it from a friend. Collapse
  9. Busted...
    Jun 12, 2007
    4
    Nothing special...Would have received less if I didn't have a previous devotion to the band.
  10. Systool
    Jun 11, 2007
    6
    Nothing really special in "Era Vulgaris". I'm a huge QOTSA fan and I liked "Lullabies to paralyze" without Oliveri, but this time, the band went wrong... There are some nice tunes (Turning on the Screw, 3's and 7's, Into the Hollow) but some other tracks are just annoying... or worse, irritating. Without a Doubt the worst QOTSA album... Ah! It seems there are guests on this Nothing really special in "Era Vulgaris". I'm a huge QOTSA fan and I liked "Lullabies to paralyze" without Oliveri, but this time, the band went wrong... There are some nice tunes (Turning on the Screw, 3's and 7's, Into the Hollow) but some other tracks are just annoying... or worse, irritating. Without a Doubt the worst QOTSA album... Ah! It seems there are guests on this album : they are so discrete that you don't even notice... Expand
  11. DJMC
    Jun 6, 2007
    4
    I really don't see where the acclaim for this album is coming from. Apart form "Sick, Sick, Sick" the rest of the record sounds like they just couldn't be bothered. Josh Homme is an amazing musician, but he's let himself down with this release. Listen to this, then listen to Blues for the Red Sun, or Songs for the Deaf. No comparison.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. If Lullabies To Paralyze was a strange forest fairytale dusted with desert blues courtesy of Billy Gibbons, Era Vulgaris finds the band holed up in an abandoned funkhouse in the centre of a shady copse, waiting for some strange sexually-contracted fever to pass.
  2. Homme's ever-catchy formula remains, but the mood is uneasy and brooding, with tracks such as 'Sick, Sick, Sick' revealing a venomous new band that's finally learned to separate business and pleasure.
  3. Era Vulgaris is Homme's fifth Queens album, and like the others, it's intricately crafted, meticulously polished and ruthlessly efficient in its pursuit of depraved rock thrills.