User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 207

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    The best album of the decade. I know it's a weak decade but I would rank this album along side Surfer Rosa, Siamese Dream, and Daydream Nation. The riff for 3s and 7s reminisces of the lone, cutting perfection of the opening seconds of Smells Like Teen Spirit.
  2. Sarah
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Every song has a hook, line has a catch-Homme has rewarded loyal Queens fans with snarky eyeroll aimed at corruption in the music industry and an openmouthed kiss fill with tongue, sweat, saliva, and a heap of good cranking tunes.
  3. Hein
    Jun 15, 2007
    7
    I think this one is their weakest. But still a very good album!
  4. GaborA
    Jun 17, 2007
    7
    (7.5) I don't mind that Homme wears his influences on his sleeves more than ever. Some are subtle and fitting like the nirvana esque hook in the background of 3's and 7's. Some are more obvious like the toll ex tour buddy Trent Reznor makes on the first third of the album. Theres enough there to make these QOTSA songs, though. I don't mind the new stripped down (7.5) I don't mind that Homme wears his influences on his sleeves more than ever. Some are subtle and fitting like the nirvana esque hook in the background of 3's and 7's. Some are more obvious like the toll ex tour buddy Trent Reznor makes on the first third of the album. Theres enough there to make these QOTSA songs, though. I don't mind the new stripped down approach. I don't mind the new more mellow tone. But all this coupled with the fact that the album is 47 minutes with one desert sessions rehash evokes the feeling that this is a good album but i know more could have been done(ie APC's 13th step). The album makes perfect summer listening, but i fear that once the leaves start changing colors i may be reaching for other more complete and durable QOTSA albums. Expand
  5. LoganM
    Jun 14, 2007
    7
    As addicted to Queens of the Stone Age as I am, I am disapointed in this album, yet it's still good enough to earn a 7. I came to expect rock that has balls, along with catchy melodies, but this record seems to have less balls and no melody. It is much more industrial sounding a la NIN, and Homme's vocals aren't as good as the last record. Still, Queens is one of the only As addicted to Queens of the Stone Age as I am, I am disapointed in this album, yet it's still good enough to earn a 7. I came to expect rock that has balls, along with catchy melodies, but this record seems to have less balls and no melody. It is much more industrial sounding a la NIN, and Homme's vocals aren't as good as the last record. Still, Queens is one of the only bands that actually can rock. Expand
  6. J.PThompson
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Again, I was thrown off in which direction this album was heading. Awesome opening track then right into sick. I'm designer has so much swagger it makes me feel 10 feet tall. Hollow; catchy, but stale in a way. Misfit love and battery acid are ok. Picks back up with make it wichu and 3s & 7s. Suture is a great song with a bass line that kills. River in the road and run pig run make Again, I was thrown off in which direction this album was heading. Awesome opening track then right into sick. I'm designer has so much swagger it makes me feel 10 feet tall. Hollow; catchy, but stale in a way. Misfit love and battery acid are ok. Picks back up with make it wichu and 3s & 7s. Suture is a great song with a bass line that kills. River in the road and run pig run make me feel like im at the circus. 2 things that let me down about the album: 1. The title track era vulgaris should be on this album. I thought it would of flowed nice with the other songs 2. It's missing a bald headed bassist who likes to play naked....we miss you nick. Expand
  7. archv
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Soooo queens are again on the top, guys. Look at the album - the cover, the songs, the lyrics....Homme at his best ! Suture up your future is the best ballad since "in the fade" Go Hommie, GO!
  8. jyotirmayad.
    Jul 7, 2007
    8
    Not bad, very sonic and I, unlike past Queen's albums, really really enjoy it -- not just play it because I bought it... Now i wish that Joshe Homme would grow his hair... he's Ozzy Osbourne status now!!!
  9. [Anonymous]
    May 31, 2007
    10
    this album is killer. it sounds a little like lullabies mixed with rated r mixed with something totally new. awesome.
  10. alih
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    full of intrigue and spine tinglingly good guitar. lullabies got better with every listen-so if this gets better it could be a classic. (PS era vulgaris got positive reviwes in amny british papers such as the daily telegraph and sunday times-add these scores)
  11. FelipeP
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Simply the best rock album of 2007!
  12. AaronC
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase them all cause your missing out on some classics. Expand
  13. matt
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Definately a great album. A return to their early works. A work that grows on you the more you listen. Homme and crew are just getting better and better.
  14. TeagueS
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you haven't already, give "3's and 7's" and "Battery Acid" another chance. Expand
  15. JorgeP
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Josh Homme and gang have managed to distill the Queens Of the Stone Age sound into an excellent and outstanding record.Even though they received flak for Lullabies to Paralyze this record is a throwback to the lean, fast, riff driven songs of Rated R while combining the polished elements of Lullabies.Basically, if the first song doesn't grab you,the next one will, or the one after Josh Homme and gang have managed to distill the Queens Of the Stone Age sound into an excellent and outstanding record.Even though they received flak for Lullabies to Paralyze this record is a throwback to the lean, fast, riff driven songs of Rated R while combining the polished elements of Lullabies.Basically, if the first song doesn't grab you,the next one will, or the one after that, or the one after that....End to end genius! Expand
  16. StevenS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    I love this album, it's better than lullabies (which was great) and it's equal with songs for the deaf, it's absolutely addictive... kinda hard to explain what it sounds like... it's still QOTSA, but it's definitely unique, sometimes i even hear a little core-era STP influence, anyway, just buy it, it's awesome
  17. Ikarus14
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    The sound and direction are questionable, but it's still a great album.
  18. TtKKjj
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    It's really f*cking good. Most powerful drums since In Utero.
  19. Joris
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    Intense and solid, especially the latter half of the album is very good, leaves room for some dark experimentation. While the opener Turning On The Screw somehow sounds lazy and Make it with Chu draws to hard on the same repetitive line until it becomes boring, Suture Up Your Future has to be one of QOTSA's finest songs to date, other favourites are River In The Road, Run Pig Run and Intense and solid, especially the latter half of the album is very good, leaves room for some dark experimentation. While the opener Turning On The Screw somehow sounds lazy and Make it with Chu draws to hard on the same repetitive line until it becomes boring, Suture Up Your Future has to be one of QOTSA's finest songs to date, other favourites are River In The Road, Run Pig Run and Sick Sick Sick. Re"commended. Expand
  20. JohnH.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    Era Vulgaris is a totally different sound than any other QOTSA album, it sounds almost industrial, a bit like Nine Inch Nails. A fun cd to crank up in your car.
  21. jimboj
    May 26, 2007
    9
    weird and wonderful. catchy like malaria. josh homme does it again.
  22. KevinM
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    This is perhaps one of the strongest Queens of the Stone Age albums song for song. Each is memorable, focused, and purposeful (save the slightly self-indulgent "Battery Acid"). This is the cream of the crop when it comes to mainstream rock so enjoy it. Stand out tracks include: Turnin' on the Screw, Make It Wit Chu, and Suture Up Your Future.
  23. RobL
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    you can only make an album of "crunchy" guitars with radio ready singles so many times in ones career. Bands change. Get over it. Those of you scepticle about the guitar? Learn to play one, teach yourselves these songs and call yourself an idiot. Those of you who enjoy the ever-lessening tones of Nirvana in modern day music, please join me in welcoming this new era of QOTSA.
  24. Mlfnk
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    It's a step away from the somewhat straighter formula that made the first three records great. It's a good step though. So far I consider this their second best album to date.
  25. nelsonb
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Rock and Roll at it's prime, you would never get tired of it.
  26. AustinT
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Great album, the mixture of industrial, hard rock, and psychedelic rock is the best thing that I've heard all year. It is impossible to get bored with this album.
  27. Aditya
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    This album easily beats out other rock albums released this year..Really gripping stuff..U never know how Josh Homme comes out with such infectious, groovy riffs..Standout tracks are 3's and 7's, Turning on the Screw, Into the Hollow, Misfit Love and Sick, Sick, Sick..a must buy album for any rock fans!!
  28. roberta
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    this album is superb in every possible way and they continue to find some clever ways to do a pretty dumb thinngs.
  29. nicob
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick - catchy single track...a bit too dronish for my taste after awhile though. I'm designer - is hardcore rockin' song about how we all only want to be famous and not work (sounds alot like EODM) suture up your future...very good as well... into the hollow...like a drive away from an ex in the desert... 3's & 7's - also a very awesome downbeat funky groove Expand
  30. Danny
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    This album grows on you like a rash.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. If Lullabies To Paralyze was a strange forest fairytale dusted with desert blues courtesy of Billy Gibbons, Era Vulgaris finds the band holed up in an abandoned funkhouse in the centre of a shady copse, waiting for some strange sexually-contracted fever to pass.
  2. Homme's ever-catchy formula remains, but the mood is uneasy and brooding, with tracks such as 'Sick, Sick, Sick' revealing a venomous new band that's finally learned to separate business and pleasure.
  3. Era Vulgaris is Homme's fifth Queens album, and like the others, it's intricately crafted, meticulously polished and ruthlessly efficient in its pursuit of depraved rock thrills.