User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TobyB
    Sep 10, 2003
    8
    Maby not as magical as the last cd bt definetley sending out the same message. THIS IS OUR WORLD, NOT OUR COUNTRY. Songs like BOMB THE WORLD and CRAZY CRAZY CRAZY really life the spirits and show new meaning to why peace should be the one note that we see on our music. The Album, artists and the pure passion is unleashed in the music.
  2. DaveR
    Sep 1, 2004
    8
    being one of my favorite artists, I could'nt wait for the follow up to the truly inspiring "stay human". although there's still nobody that comes close to Franti in combining music, lyrics and awareness (and if there is - please let me know), I thought this album sometimes crossed the delicate line between good-natured-yet-aware and emotional-sentimental-mushy. still, MF is a real MF.
  3. MaryJ
    Oct 29, 2003
    9
    very very interesting
  4. JohnA
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    This is a great album! Thought provoking and healing. It challenges the status quo. Plus it doesn't get any airtime on commercial radio in the genre of hiphop; so it is making too much of a political statement.
  5. AlexanderC.
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    Even better than his last album, Everyone Deserves Music keeps the fire and energy of his last album, Stay Human, but fuses it with the soul of Billie Holiday and Stevie Wonder and the spirit of Bob Marley and Dave Matthews. What he produces is something that goes far beyond what we think of as hip-hop and onto another plane of musical existence. It's almost impossible to be Even better than his last album, Everyone Deserves Music keeps the fire and energy of his last album, Stay Human, but fuses it with the soul of Billie Holiday and Stevie Wonder and the spirit of Bob Marley and Dave Matthews. What he produces is something that goes far beyond what we think of as hip-hop and onto another plane of musical existence. It's almost impossible to be disappointed by this album, because no matter what kind of music is your personal groove there'll be several songs that you'll love. Michael Franti's latest gem is funky, powerful, profound, sensitive and full of love of life. It's a must have! Expand
  6. Jon
    Oct 11, 2003
    2
    I want my money back
  7. BrianS
    Nov 15, 2003
    7
    Being a fan of most people that realize there is a problem in our world's current status, I think "Everyone Deserves Music" is a great record for the time. The majority of the music is somewhat simplistic but is perfect for the tone and composition that Michael Franti & Spearhead seem to be trying to produce. What I liked about the CD was that one moment the music gave me a sense a Being a fan of most people that realize there is a problem in our world's current status, I think "Everyone Deserves Music" is a great record for the time. The majority of the music is somewhat simplistic but is perfect for the tone and composition that Michael Franti & Spearhead seem to be trying to produce. What I liked about the CD was that one moment the music gave me a sense a reggae revolution, but then was transferred to a sound of Wyclef Jean style of hip hop, not to mention the true heart felt singing styles of Ben Harper. All in all, I don't think the CD will be leaving the deck for a while. Collapse
  8. anepiphany
    Jan 22, 2004
    9
    lush and lovely and meaningful
  9. MikeM
    Nov 23, 2003
    9
    Yet another great album from the most criminally ignored artist(s) of the last 10 years.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Musically, it's as diverse as anything the band has ever done, smoothly vacillating between forceful beats and heady grooves.
  2. Mojo
    80
    Musically and vocally, this is Franti's most confident and varied work to date. [Jul 2003, p.106]
  3. Q Magazine
    70
    An intelligent, well-crafted and catchy mix of funk, rap, soul and right-on sloganeering. [Jul 2003, p.104]