Everything Ecstatic

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: May 31, 2005
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SanY
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
    Four Tet is easily the world's most exciting electronic producer. "Everything Ecstatic" is an album that is incredibly technical and endlessly layered. "A Joy" is a prime example of this producer's talent for creating a masterpiece from slicing and dicing the most diverse genres. My favourite track of the album is the modest "Clouding," a warm firework display which inhabits the Four Tet is easily the world's most exciting electronic producer. "Everything Ecstatic" is an album that is incredibly technical and endlessly layered. "A Joy" is a prime example of this producer's talent for creating a masterpiece from slicing and dicing the most diverse genres. My favourite track of the album is the modest "Clouding," a warm firework display which inhabits the ill fitting mix of ethnic smash and comfortable flow which just encapsulates Four Tet's sound. Expand
  2. andrewh
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Best Album Ever. Even better live.
  3. KellyP
    Aug 19, 2005
    8
    Great sound, very eclectic, fun and chill at the same time
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 10, 2005
    8
    evil production.
  5. ElliottM
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    I wasn't sure how I felt about this album when I first heard it, but having just seen him live and playing new material, this album has suddenly come to life. I still like Rounds much more as a whole, though there are plenty of highlights on this album, particularly "Smile Around the Face," one of the very best songs he has ever done.
  6. CoryC
    Jul 4, 2005
    1
    Horrible. I wouldn't even download this for free.
  7. MarcD
    Jun 5, 2005
    8
    Toe tapping goes out the window as you find your entire body gyrating to this brilliant album. Great body shaking stuff.
  8. EvilTimmy
    Jun 4, 2005
    8
    While Everything Ecstatic isn't as accessible or as impressive as Rounds, it really isn't meant to be. There's much to be gained from repeated listening, as there's a certain flow through the album that Rounds was lacking. Crank up your speakers and put this on repeat, and it'll hit you soon enough. However, if you want to introduce your friends to Four Tet, hand While Everything Ecstatic isn't as accessible or as impressive as Rounds, it really isn't meant to be. There's much to be gained from repeated listening, as there's a certain flow through the album that Rounds was lacking. Crank up your speakers and put this on repeat, and it'll hit you soon enough. However, if you want to introduce your friends to Four Tet, hand them Rounds before this. Expand
  9. Adam
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    I've had this disc for a couple-o-days and have dug it since the second listen. I like Rounds, but have mostly used it for pre-sleep hypnogogic journeys. Everything Ecstatic, on the other hand, is apartment cleaning music of the highest order -- it's fun and keeps you moving while leading your thoughts into unexpected places.
  10. danielj
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    My roommate got an advance copy of this about a month ago. We were both huge fans of Rounds. When I first heard this, I was annoyed. It just sounded like a bunch of bongo jamming with no tunes. After a couple listens, the lights came on. This is a really refined, beautiful piece of work. He is totally in command of his craft. This album is full of the love of rhythm and it already sounds classic.
  11. EoinG
    Jun 1, 2005
    7
    Good album, although very similar to Rounds just more upbeat
  12. ShowerOfKunst
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    This is evolution, a record that has subtle references to his past work and looks to the future. There is no greater pleasure than seeing an artist develop and anyone who desires music that floats along in the background can stick to Lemon Jelly. Sublime
  13. MichaelJ
    May 31, 2005
    2
    this has none of the charm or melody of rounds. huge disappointment
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. For the most part, Evertything Ecsatic succeeds, but occasionally Hebden strays from the path.
  2. Q Magazine
    70
    Immediately satisfying. [Jun 2005, p.120]
  3. Mojo
    80
    It's a noticeably urban record, an irritated rebuttal to the notion that dance music is dead. [Jun 2005, p.98]