• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: May 15, 2001
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatiasM
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    Excellent!!!!
  2. carrotcarroty
    May 23, 2001
    9
    Can't say it's the best one of DM but I like it a lot. Are they getting older? Yes, they are so am I... I've been together with them for almost 20 years now so what can I expect? Sound is more subtle, Dave sounds genuine, agile and well-balanced - I enjoy his 'new ways' of singing. The weakest point - lyrics - they are so-so but as ever simple and love-death Can't say it's the best one of DM but I like it a lot. Are they getting older? Yes, they are so am I... I've been together with them for almost 20 years now so what can I expect? Sound is more subtle, Dave sounds genuine, agile and well-balanced - I enjoy his 'new ways' of singing. The weakest point - lyrics - they are so-so but as ever simple and love-death obsessed. I was a bit tired of DM anthems-like songs, powerful and shouted by Dave at 'Ultra' and 'Songs of...' - too much of everything. Now I can enjoy the silence and the DM sensual power of healing together with a great amount of contemporary electronica. Exciter is not a suitable title - Purity and tenderness. Just for women like me. 'Polish Girl' Expand
  3. carrotcarroty
    May 23, 2001
    9
    Can't say it's the best one of DM but I like it a lot. Are they getting older? Yes, they are so am I... I've been together with them for almost 20 years now so what can I expect? Sound is more subtle, Dave sounds genuine, agile and well-balanced - I enjoy his 'new ways' of singing. The weakest point - lyrics - they are so-so but as ever simple and love-death Can't say it's the best one of DM but I like it a lot. Are they getting older? Yes, they are so am I... I've been together with them for almost 20 years now so what can I expect? Sound is more subtle, Dave sounds genuine, agile and well-balanced - I enjoy his 'new ways' of singing. The weakest point - lyrics - they are so-so but as ever simple and love-death obsessed. I was a bit tired of DM anthems-like songs, powerful and shouted by Dave at 'Ultra' and 'Songs of...' - too much of everything. Now I can enjoy the silence and the DM sensual power of healing together with a great amount of contemporary electronica. Exciter is not a suitable title - Purity and tenderness. Just for women like me. 'Polish Girl' Expand
  4. BunnyFooFoo
    Jul 22, 2001
    10
    the album just rocks......Depeche Mode will live on no matter what..
  5. DieterV.
    Jul 3, 2001
    9
    Well shit, I liked it.
  6. DanG.
    Jul 8, 2001
    9
    gloom embracing sounds..something i definetly been waiting to hear from dm..dave's voice is amazing and martin's lyrics are mindly genious............dmozz
  7. KyleJ.
    Aug 14, 2001
    10
    this was the first dm album i bought and it is best thing ive listened to this year.
  8. Glen
    Aug 1, 2001
    9
    A fan since People are People...Exciter is a great newfound energy and life in the band. It's worth following them around the new and unpredicted paths to where they are today. Only con is a couple songs have pushed the sonic edge a bit creating the occoasional reflex to turn it down. The tour really finishes off the Exciter experience...their best in a long time.
  9. JoshT.
    Feb 1, 2002
    9
    Depeche mode has created another masterpiece with its mellow beats and sound's something you could listen to too relax along with some good vocals from david gahan
  10. KendallL.
    Dec 3, 2001
    10
    I have been waiting for a new Depeche album for about 4 years, and this is way better than I had ever expected. :) I thought their last CD, Ultra, was a little dry and lacked elements that Alan Wilder had brought in to the group throughout the 80s. However, Exciter (which I admit I only bought because I buy all Depeche albums) sounds like it has something for every Depeche fan. Songs like I have been waiting for a new Depeche album for about 4 years, and this is way better than I had ever expected. :) I thought their last CD, Ultra, was a little dry and lacked elements that Alan Wilder had brought in to the group throughout the 80s. However, Exciter (which I admit I only bought because I buy all Depeche albums) sounds like it has something for every Depeche fan. Songs like "The Dead of Night" and "Sweetest Condition" sound like they could've been on SOFAD, and the cleaner songs like "Shine" and "When the Body SPeaks" sounds like Violator material. While none of the songs remain to be industrial synth, songs like "I am You" and "Freelove" are still as layered and intricate as MFTM and Black Celebration. It's the best album in their career. :) Expand
  11. Matt
    Oct 6, 2001
    9
    This album was a well put together compilation. It is appealing to those who may not even like DM or their type of music. It's tone and overall feeling is immense. This album deserves a lot more than the credit it has been given. I was lucky enough to see them in concert at MSG in Newe York and they were absolutely tremendous. They are the best band since the beatles.
  12. GauravM.
    May 15, 2001
    9
    The new album, Exciter shows strength and maturity for Depeche Mode. Though it could seem that they may have drifted from the norm of Depeche Mode, I feel that is what makes them who they are and what keeps them sounding fresh. I admire their confidence in trying to stay creative or even unique to their style of music. Critics may have been expecting something more ultra pop-typical of The new album, Exciter shows strength and maturity for Depeche Mode. Though it could seem that they may have drifted from the norm of Depeche Mode, I feel that is what makes them who they are and what keeps them sounding fresh. I admire their confidence in trying to stay creative or even unique to their style of music. Critics may have been expecting something more ultra pop-typical of them or something more easly digestable. The first round of lisntening to the tracks, all I could say was , it is different... by the second time, I was hooked and enjoying each beat I heard. It is a great album and the singing quality of David Gahan has clearly become diverse and soulful. High points I would say are "Shine", "Freelove", and "Goodnight Lovers". Enjoy! Collapse
  13. BrianC.
    Jun 27, 2001
    10
    this is classic depeche mode fare. the band has not lost the edge. I first got the exciter album in late feb and all songs are great! daves vocals are fineley honed.
  14. PatrickF.
    Jul 11, 2001
    10
    Depeche Mode has managed to re-create yet another masterpiece. Good show!
  15. RafaelM.
    Jul 25, 2001
    10
    Great new album! DM has a great new sound although they are missing the long synths that they're known for like in "enjoy the silence." Althougth the new music direction has opened up many doorways for the future sound of DM. DM will live on forever.
  16. RicardoC.
    Aug 2, 2001
    10
    This album surprised even the DM fans, and I was so happy when I listen to it for the first time. I wanted something like "Ultra", because I consider it as the best DM album, but then I thought: Who's interested in listening the same sound in a band? I think that's the reason why Depeche is one of the best bands ever, and Exciter show us that. The album is fresh, the lyrics are This album surprised even the DM fans, and I was so happy when I listen to it for the first time. I wanted something like "Ultra", because I consider it as the best DM album, but then I thought: Who's interested in listening the same sound in a band? I think that's the reason why Depeche is one of the best bands ever, and Exciter show us that. The album is fresh, the lyrics are just incredible (like always) and Dave's voice is wonderful. I love Exciter. Expand
  17. AlvinA
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    I don't see why DM is being given such atrocious reviews. It seems as if hard-core fans of DM's older material want every album to sound exactly like the work the band already produced during the 80s and early 90s. DM's older albums were all great, but wouldn't it sound rather boring if every song sounded alike? Instead of being ridiculed, the band should be I don't see why DM is being given such atrocious reviews. It seems as if hard-core fans of DM's older material want every album to sound exactly like the work the band already produced during the 80s and early 90s. DM's older albums were all great, but wouldn't it sound rather boring if every song sounded alike? Instead of being ridiculed, the band should be complimented for keeping an open mind in the music industry. DM is at the point where evolution beyond what they've done is very important. Being fast and dancy is great, but being slow and introspective is great too. FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DISLIKE THE CD, I CANNOT CHANGE YOUR PERSPECTIVES. WHAT I CAN DO, HOWEVER, IS ENCOURAGE YOU TO HAVE A MORE OPEN MIND. THE CD ISN'T AS BAD AS YOU THINK ALBUM HIGHLIGHTS: Dream On, Shine, When the Body Speaks, The Dead of Night, I Feel Loved, Breathe, I Am You. I will admit that "The Sweetest Condition" doesn't appeal to me as much. Not to offend anyone who actually likes it! Peace... Expand
  18. AndrewT
    May 14, 2007
    10
    It´s one of the best sites in the web
  19. JessicaD.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Exciter is an awesome CD. I think it's comparable to Ultra, but there's a certain amount of progression evident in both the music and the lyrics. It's dark, but not depressing; the the overall compilation is worth far better reviews. Depeche Mode is one of the best bands on the planet, and this latest CD is just further proof.
  20. gfass
    Jul 19, 2001
    9
    I was simply taken in by the delicate noise...wandering around in the silent wonder-
  21. ChrisO.
    Jul 25, 2001
    9
    Mature of mood and lyrically seductive, this is a perfect mixture of subtle, atmospheric rhythms and dark temptation. Gore has such confidence in his writing that he leaves his songs largely bare, and 'The Dead Of Night' and 'I Feel Loved' aside, free from lush production and stadium potential. As a result, both the songs and Gahan have nowhere to hide and space to Mature of mood and lyrically seductive, this is a perfect mixture of subtle, atmospheric rhythms and dark temptation. Gore has such confidence in his writing that he leaves his songs largely bare, and 'The Dead Of Night' and 'I Feel Loved' aside, free from lush production and stadium potential. As a result, both the songs and Gahan have nowhere to hide and space to breath, resulting in an honesty rarely found in today's market. 'Shine' seems to stand out in this respect; relying on little more than its courage, conviction and its enticing outlook. An exquisite CD of adult intent and provocative themes, produced by a band who somehow continue to refine their sound while remaining in firm sight of their roots. Outstanding. Expand
  22. BenU
    Oct 19, 2006
    9
    Depeche changes with each album and their changes are always good. They explore new areas of sound. This album is certainly different from Violater or SOFAD or even Ultra. The "Dead of Night" sounds a little alien and certainly the beat is irregulary and heavy. I love how after a few listens I start to crave the sound. Lovetheme is an unusual short song without any vocals. There is the Depeche changes with each album and their changes are always good. They explore new areas of sound. This album is certainly different from Violater or SOFAD or even Ultra. The "Dead of Night" sounds a little alien and certainly the beat is irregulary and heavy. I love how after a few listens I start to crave the sound. Lovetheme is an unusual short song without any vocals. There is the normal split on DM albums of fast and slow songs. Breathe, Goodnight Lovers (who doesn't sing along to this song!), and When the Body Speaks are all slower songs that fill the listener with relaxed feelings and a mixed happy and sad emotional state. There are more upbeat songs lik Dream on and I Feel Loved that make the listener want to move in the way that DM so amazingly does. Songs from this album weren't played on the radio as much as songs from other albums because this album doesn't have the immediate grabbing popularity of songs that make the radio. I, personally, am sick of popular radio and its search for faddish and similar songs. However, listening to the Exciter CD a few times straight convinces me that there is as much depth in the album as in any other of their albums. Any DM fan should own a copy of the CD and will enjoy it. If you are new to DM start with one of their more mainstream ablums and discover the unique style that is DM. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Exciter glimmers like a gentle ambient doodle with vocals: The beats are mostly minimal, closer to early Kraftwerk than to current electronica. But because Gore's songwriting is so focused and Gahan's vocal presence is so commanding, the softest songs leap to the foreground like a whisper from a lover.
  2. 70
    Though not in the same league as Some Great Reward or Violator, Exciter is a solid effort and refreshing reminder of the variety of pop music.
  3. Like nearly any DM record, Exciter, their 14th album, mostly leaves one hungry for the inevitable remixes.