Exile On Main Street [Reissue]

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 152

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2017
    3
    I believe the Stones are hugely overrated. Although they are very iconic and very influential, when ANALYZED, their music is extremely repetitive, and musically boring. Take "You Can't Always Get What You Want" (I know it's not on this album)--it's literally the same chords and melody repeated for SEVEN MINUTES. And it's considered one of the greatest songs of all time.
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    good album,it has some songs that are the best(tumbling dice,all down the line,shine a light,happy,rocks off)but it has some songs that are really bad(casino boogie,ijust want to see his face)or boring songs like (sweet virginia,sweet black angel).Good album but there are better albums and exile is too overrated
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This album represents more than the music itself, it's a provocation to the state, in this case to the U.K. They also are under the influence of drugs That´s always a nice combination.
  4. j30
    Jan 26, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite Rolling Stones album. You hear so many of their hits on the radio that you tend to forget how great their individual albums are. Exile On Main Street reigns supreme.
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is a beautifully crafted album from beginning to end. It may lack hits, but there isn't a single song used as filler, and all of the songs are fantastic. The Rolling Stones finally achieved the Chicago blues sound they were searching for on Exile and it shows how good the Stones were in their prime.

    I was a little skeptical when they were going to reissue the album with some
    This is a beautifully crafted album from beginning to end. It may lack hits, but there isn't a single song used as filler, and all of the songs are fantastic. The Rolling Stones finally achieved the Chicago blues sound they were searching for on Exile and it shows how good the Stones were in their prime.

    I was a little skeptical when they were going to reissue the album with some unreleased tracks and alternate takes, but the extras are completely worth the extra money. The extras sound fantastic and give new insight into the development of the album. The one track "Plundered My Soul" is especially enjoyable and it is a highlight from the entire album.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    10
    once again a great album. a classic album is getting negative reviews. if you don't like the album then don't review it. you bastards are getting annoying with your hateful reviews. i love this album. yes im a black person.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    I'm just here for the Stones. I understand why people don't get Exile, but if there were ever an example of the whole being greater than the sum of the parts, this album is it. If it's too raw, if it's poorly mixed, if has has a bunch of odd little inconsequential songs, well, then I guess that's what I like. And it does of course have some great songs; Rocks Off is my all-time favoriteI'm just here for the Stones. I understand why people don't get Exile, but if there were ever an example of the whole being greater than the sum of the parts, this album is it. If it's too raw, if it's poorly mixed, if has has a bunch of odd little inconsequential songs, well, then I guess that's what I like. And it does of course have some great songs; Rocks Off is my all-time favorite Stones song, Shine A Light is beautiful and tender, like the white-light flip side of Sway from Sticky Fingers (also a favorite of mine); Let It Loose is special, and a song almost everyone overlooks. And Exile is at least and loving and sweet and vulnerable as it is cynical; actually, it isn't very cynical at all. Listen closely; it's the Stones loving the useless world. Exile is the best popular music album ever, full-stop. If only they had always recorded like this. And as time's gone by and we've all gradually realized that Keith is the real heart and soul of this band, it's not surprising to learn that Mick isn't all that keen on Exile, and Keith thinks it's their best album. Always listen to Keef; he knows. Oh won't you be my, little baby, for a while... Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Entered the music store and found the reissue of a classic. Exile On Main Street. As a long time Stones fan, I grew up listening to Brown Sugar or Satisfaction, those classic hits. But found in Exile On Main Street the true roots of the Stones sound. Just few seconds into Rock Off opened my mind. An album to love, listen, love, and listen a bit more.
  9. Nov 12, 2010
    7
    Not a particularly good album, certainly not the Rolling Stones' best album (perhaps Let It Bleed wins that prize) and definitely overrated by the critics this time around. It wasn't particularly well received when it first came out, for reasons which are obvious on relistening to it. Not bad, but not that good.
  10. Sep 7, 2010
    7
    I signed up expressly to voice my opinion on this particular remastering of Exile. Not that it matters; but, i was around when this LP was originally released. I owned a record store from 1969 until recently when I sold it to the managers. That gives me no particular qualification other than I lived in record stores from when i was a kid and that was a natural progression for me. ThisI signed up expressly to voice my opinion on this particular remastering of Exile. Not that it matters; but, i was around when this LP was originally released. I owned a record store from 1969 until recently when I sold it to the managers. That gives me no particular qualification other than I lived in record stores from when i was a kid and that was a natural progression for me. This LP was the Stones best LP. The original release would, for me, earn an 11 on a ten scale. It was raw and Jagger's voice was treated a another instrument in the recoding and mix down of the album. The LP was more of a sound experience and feel. It was not necessary to know all the lyrics because a whole experience was the goal of the LP.

    The new mix brings Jagger's vocals, intentionally, to the forefront. To accomplish this, compression was also used to bring the sound into a certain range. This killed the dynamics of the original release. Much of the high and low ends were wiped out. Every song has the same range and eventually causes listener fatigue All this data reduction detracts from the music..This is all well and good if one is listening to an I-Pod or MP3. If you want to hear the music the way it was recorded, try the mid '90's Virgin reissue or the original vinyl. I am told that the vinyl of this reissue is better. As for the bonus material , most of it is alright. In some tracks , you can tell they were unfinished and finished for this project. I returned my CD for a refund. I am lucky enough to own the original vinyl and he Virgin reissue. This use of compression was even more of a disaster on the recent Beatles stereo reissues.
    Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Gotta give it up for the stones. They are one of the most influential artists of our time. Exile on Main Street is probably to go down as one of the best albums of all time.
  12. JamieRitchie
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    amazing album
  13. RL
    Jun 15, 2010
    5
    Critics feel like they have to say 100, so they won't succumb to the peer pressure. I've always thought this album to be mediocre, hence the 5. Give me the hits from this one and I'm outta here !
  14. DanG
    Jun 14, 2010
    10
    It's a funny old world. I remember this album being released in 1972 to not only some fairly unkind reviews from the music press, but also from some of my friends and colleagues too. Now, 38 years later, it seems this album can do no wrong. Certainly, it is a snapshot of a time when the Stones were in a fragile state in both their public and private lives and this was reflected in It's a funny old world. I remember this album being released in 1972 to not only some fairly unkind reviews from the music press, but also from some of my friends and colleagues too. Now, 38 years later, it seems this album can do no wrong. Certainly, it is a snapshot of a time when the Stones were in a fragile state in both their public and private lives and this was reflected in their music. The sound quality of the recording had an air of a slap-dash approach and when you consider how it was recorded (in Keith Richards' basement in his French mansion), perhaps it should come as no surprise. But whatever the reason, the whole thing hangs together brilliantly and there is just such a sense of joy as the musicians go about their business of recording. Jagger's lyrics have never been sharper and the whole 'couldn't care less' attitude, for which the Stones were so well known, shines through like a beacon. Pity they can't make records like that today. Expand
  15. FraserH
    Jun 2, 2010
    10
    I was not alive when this album was released so can never understand what an impact it made on the music world at the time, but I would say that this album is one of my favourite albums of all time and I never tire of listening to it.
  16. LucaF
    May 31, 2010
    10
    It's the best rock record of all time. Even if the Stones have cut so many immortal hits i think that Exile captures the feeling of rock music. I've read somewhere that the 00's have been the best decade in music. I wonder if those who believe that have ever heard, in this decade, such a great bunch of songs on the very same LP. I'm afraid they don't. Don't they?
  17. RogerS
    May 31, 2010
    10
    This is the best there ever was, Sgt Peppers and the Beatles were over and London Calling and the Clash were yet to arrive. It is one of the most important parts of music and anyone needing an education will find this CD as his guide. Keith and Mick were never to reach this level again but like a rolling stone they kept going and gather no moss. You have to own this one.
  18. MaderaP
    May 31, 2010
    10
    How many records do I still love after more than 30 years ? This is one of the very few.
  19. TtableW
    May 30, 2010
    5
    Oh God! More idiots giving an album a PERFECT rating just because it was released 38 years ago. I never liked the Rolling Stones, so I can't really give a rating. But for the love of Jebuz, even my favourite album of all time is not perfect.
  20. ThomasW
    May 29, 2010
    9
    A great album, but I've always been partial to Let it Bleed, a truly revolutionary album and I think the Stone's best.
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. We keep hearing that rock and roll is a feeling, right? The Stones inhabited that feeling seamlessly here, mainly because the murk fizzed and fused those seams together.
  2. 100
    If allowing Jagger to touch up those vocals was the price to pay to allow Exile receive the tribute it deserves, it's still a bargain.
  3. Never bettered, this is the world’s greatest rock ‘n’ roll band’s crowning triumph. Own this!