Eyes Open

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 3 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TOL
    Jun 12, 2006
    4
    Have you heard final straw? Great, aint it? If the answer to the previous question is 'God, yes' then avoid this album. You have already heard it all before, albeit in a far more pleasant and rounded package with genuinely good songs... If you want to hear snow patrol at their most inventive, touching and humourous then dig out 'Songs for polar bears'- an album worthy Have you heard final straw? Great, aint it? If the answer to the previous question is 'God, yes' then avoid this album. You have already heard it all before, albeit in a far more pleasant and rounded package with genuinely good songs... If you want to hear snow patrol at their most inventive, touching and humourous then dig out 'Songs for polar bears'- an album worthy of everyones attention. If you want cheesy mainstream stuff with baffling lyrics and predictable hooks then buy eyes open. Easy really. Expand
  2. AndyB
    May 9, 2006
    5
    It is not that this album is bad, it is more that it is far too much like Final Straw....hit a comfort zone, which is not necessarily a bad thing as the formula does work, but remember that this is their fourth (not second) album so you would think they would want to step up a gear by now. They even use the same lyrics in this album as they did in Final Straw! hummmmm
  3. BrandonM
    May 10, 2006
    8
    I too was somewhat unnerved by all of the
  4. DG
    May 9, 2006
    8
    I didn't think I'd like this after hearing about all the 'sell out' bashing - but I think it's fantastic and I couldn't disagree more. How could they sell themselves out?! They've already had chart success and all that shit! If anything they created something that is, apart from the first two tracks, wholly unmainstream (if thats a word!). I recommend it.
  5. craigs
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Nicely done. 80% of tunes are excelent and the others are pretty good.
  6. BTSchonewald
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    You know what? After a decade or something pottering about aimlessly in the indie-rock quagmire Snow Patrol finally hit on something gold, and it showed on 'Final Straw'. It would have been so easy for Lightbody and the other members of the ol' Patrol to just dig out the old tunes from 'Songs For Polar Bears' and 'When It's All Over We Still Have To You know what? After a decade or something pottering about aimlessly in the indie-rock quagmire Snow Patrol finally hit on something gold, and it showed on 'Final Straw'. It would have been so easy for Lightbody and the other members of the ol' Patrol to just dig out the old tunes from 'Songs For Polar Bears' and 'When It's All Over We Still Have To Clear Up', maybe up them a flat or something just to make them sound a little different. Not for good old Gary Lightbody, who, after toting a wildly fantastically nerdy white-man's afro at Live8 cmes back to the forefront of British rock music with an album which will surely ensure that Snow Patrol dig into the Premiership of worldwide music. OK, let's not kid ourselves, there are some HORRENDOUSLY dull tracks, ie Open Your Eyes, but there are plenty of tracks infused with genius, from the lullaby-ish Shut Your Eyes, to the riffed-up rock of yore in Hands Open, to what Snow Patrol do best: big, bad, enormous, chest-pounding exploding-chorus songs like You're All I Have. By all means, if you enjoyed Final Straw, buy it; if your bag is more the artificial pop music of 50 Cent and Embrace and Busted etc, then please don't, because, quite frankly, you are not the kind of person we like here in the Premiership. Expand
  7. JasonW.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    I Love It
  8. AndrewL
    May 11, 2006
    9
    This is definitly not a "sell out" album.
  9. JohnN
    May 10, 2006
    4
    This is a boring ballad filled album does not have the balance of Final Straw which kept your interest you just zone out after a while listening to this. Take out Set Fire to the Third Bar and it simply sucks.
  10. RickW
    May 15, 2006
    8
    I was not going to buy this album after all the luke warm reviews i had read, but my wife insisted as she loved the last one, and what an album! Sometimes i think the critics have got a stick up their a*ses. I didnt mind their first two albums but their were only a few good tracks. This album is full of excellent tracks that are melodic (some critics love to use 'ballad' to I was not going to buy this album after all the luke warm reviews i had read, but my wife insisted as she loved the last one, and what an album! Sometimes i think the critics have got a stick up their a*ses. I didnt mind their first two albums but their were only a few good tracks. This album is full of excellent tracks that are melodic (some critics love to use 'ballad' to dismiss). They deserve more credit. Expand
  11. PeterV
    May 16, 2006
    4
    Really, people rating this album 7 or higher must be 16 or younger. This is such an easy pop-album..
  12. EdB
    May 23, 2006
    7
    On first listen, I was horribly disappointed. But concurrent listens reveal a complexity and depth to the music that makes it far more appreciable. More than anything, Snow Patrol seems capable of producing slick pop music with substance. That's no easy task by any means and, actually, quite admirable. I work at a news weekly and critics get bombarded with albums, often listening On first listen, I was horribly disappointed. But concurrent listens reveal a complexity and depth to the music that makes it far more appreciable. More than anything, Snow Patrol seems capable of producing slick pop music with substance. That's no easy task by any means and, actually, quite admirable. I work at a news weekly and critics get bombarded with albums, often listening only once or twice to a disc before judging it. I suspect those that reviewed "Eyes Open" poorly didn't give this album the chance to unfold that it deserves. This isn't a masterpiece, or anything, but it's a wonderful pop album from an increasingly interesting major label band. Expand
  13. MattD.
    May 8, 2006
    5
    I don't usually use these words, but this does seem like a sell out album. There's monochromatic production here (even on a less radio friendly song like the duet,) and only "You're All I Have" and "Shut Your Eyes" have melodies that are memorable. There's nothing really bad, but what a letdown after Final Straw.
  14. WillO
    May 9, 2006
    10
    These guys just make amazing music. They get better and better with each album. Talk about progress! Got a new louder sound and it is GREAT.
  15. AngelaH
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    just brilliant!
  16. willl
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    great album. 3 or 4 standout tracks
  17. CraigP
    Jun 28, 2006
    5
    Unlike the new Guster album this one is a big letdown after Final Straw. they seem to be making they're bid for the big-time but what get's lost on the way are great tunes. I found myself quickly forgetting these song's after a few listens and found the polished production killed all that was unique about the band. There is not one song on here with the emotional resonance Unlike the new Guster album this one is a big letdown after Final Straw. they seem to be making they're bid for the big-time but what get's lost on the way are great tunes. I found myself quickly forgetting these song's after a few listens and found the polished production killed all that was unique about the band. There is not one song on here with the emotional resonance of "Run" or "Chocolate"for that matter. It may sound great but is quickly forgettable. Expand
  18. KrisS
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    There are some good songs on this album, but they definitely took a step back. After sitting down and listening a couple of times, it felt like they were more focused on releasing an album, then releasing a "good" album. There is so much potential sitting in these tracks that with a few more sessions could have turned around this album. In likelyhood it could have been on par with Final There are some good songs on this album, but they definitely took a step back. After sitting down and listening a couple of times, it felt like they were more focused on releasing an album, then releasing a "good" album. There is so much potential sitting in these tracks that with a few more sessions could have turned around this album. In likelyhood it could have been on par with Final Straw, but instead it gets left behind. Expand
  19. Jorge
    Aug 14, 2006
    3
    Decepcionante
  20. AlexandrosV
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Well i think that a 65 metascore is a little unfair the album has a great deal of very nice songs like: Set The Fire To The Third Bar i believe is the best song of the album,most songs are way above average and a 65 metascore as i said above is unfair.
  21. Joris
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    A welcome surprise. If you take out uninspired song like Chasing Cars and You're All I have (which aren't very bad but of which I really don't get the point of becoming (hit)singles, I always thought it were mere dull cliché filler tracks, but then again thats' me vs the mainstream taste I suppose) you end up with a magnificent collection contaning the following A welcome surprise. If you take out uninspired song like Chasing Cars and You're All I have (which aren't very bad but of which I really don't get the point of becoming (hit)singles, I always thought it were mere dull cliché filler tracks, but then again thats' me vs the mainstream taste I suppose) you end up with a magnificent collection contaning the following outstanding songs: HEADLIGHTS ON DARK ROADS (great guitar riff), SET THE FIRE TO THE THIRD BAR, HANDS OPEN, OPEN YOUR EYES and the Brian Eno-esque ambient trip THE FINISH LINE. Beautiful. Expand
  22. ThomasZ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Wow, this album is the most I could've hoped for. I had only heard Chasing Cars, which was great, prior to buying the CD, I was completely blown out of the water by Set the Fire to the Third Bar. I must've listened to that song 100 times in the last two days. It's so beautiful, insightful, and not to mention, great eerie accompanying vocals by Martha Wainwright. With the Wow, this album is the most I could've hoped for. I had only heard Chasing Cars, which was great, prior to buying the CD, I was completely blown out of the water by Set the Fire to the Third Bar. I must've listened to that song 100 times in the last two days. It's so beautiful, insightful, and not to mention, great eerie accompanying vocals by Martha Wainwright. With the exception of maybe How to Be Dead on Final Straw, most of these songs take the band up a notch from their last album. Expand
  23. [Anonymous]
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    This has got to be one of my favorite albums of all time. It's true that the beats might sound similar but its the lyrics that really make it stand out. Also Lightbody's voice is truly mesmerizing.
  24. josnt
    May 11, 2006
    9
    are you kidding me, andy b? this album sounds hardly like final straw. there is no "spitting games" or "chocolate" no "how to be dead" no "gleaming auction. this album is much more mellow and softer, outside of the poppy "it's beginning to get to me" or "hands open" the pacing is dramatically slower.
  25. GarthR
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Outstanding - Snow Patrol are the new U2!
  26. Dave
    May 12, 2006
    9
    Sellout? I don't think so. I'm so sick of of reading these reviews from people yelling sellout or they aren't "indie" sounding. Sure, this CD is more polished than Final Straw, but that isn't such a bad thing.
  27. Ninja
    May 15, 2006
    1
    This album is pathetically bland. If you're going to resort to lame lyrics at least have memorable riffs/beats.. this has neither.
  28. ChristinaW
    May 25, 2006
    8
    As a big fan of Final Straw, I was initially disappointed in this record, but after subsequent listens, it has really grown on me. Changing the single for the US release was a good move, although the rest of the album is better than Hands Open. Open Your Eyes, my favorite track, was a nice surprise on the first listen and continues to be a favorite. Listen to album more than once before As a big fan of Final Straw, I was initially disappointed in this record, but after subsequent listens, it has really grown on me. Changing the single for the US release was a good move, although the rest of the album is better than Hands Open. Open Your Eyes, my favorite track, was a nice surprise on the first listen and continues to be a favorite. Listen to album more than once before making a decision - the second time is definately the charm. Expand
  29. Raindog1972
    May 30, 2006
    4
    A real disappointment...instead of branching out...Lightbody seems to be content to hold his ground,...lyrically and musically.
  30. BrianB
    May 8, 2006
    4
    I can't hear this album without thinking of Nada Surf's "Let Go,"which is in the same vein of cleanly-produced, sensitive-guy rock. but is an absolute masterpiece. Even "Hands Open," a pretty decent single, sounds limp is comparison to that album's "Treading Water." On "Let Go" the ordinary guy persona works; on this album it crosses the line to crowd-pleasing cliche. On I can't hear this album without thinking of Nada Surf's "Let Go,"which is in the same vein of cleanly-produced, sensitive-guy rock. but is an absolute masterpiece. Even "Hands Open," a pretty decent single, sounds limp is comparison to that album's "Treading Water." On "Let Go" the ordinary guy persona works; on this album it crosses the line to crowd-pleasing cliche. On the other hand, "Eyes Open" is better than Nada Surf's more recent album. Expand
  31. jd
    May 9, 2006
    9
    I know people are bashing this as a "sell-out" album, but I think that this is the culmination of Snow Patrol's previous works to something that broadly appeals to a wide audience. One of those albums you can pop in and listen to it in its entirety.
  32. billr
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Great album after several listens. Chasing Cars and Open your Eyes are standout songs.
  33. Johnm
    Jul 7, 2006
    6
    I have to agree that this album does not have the heart of Final Straw or Songs for Polar Bears. It's their attempt at the bigtime. Hopefully their next effort will be better. Bear in mind that this band has been around for nearly 10 years. I can't blame them for wanting to pay the bills. I hope they get back to making music like Fifteen Minutes Old.
  34. allanc
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    I think this is as good as it gets for snow patrol,how can they better this.full of laid back cool songs.they are murder live though!
  35. TimK
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    This album is wonderful. It has some of the most beautiful songs ever written, yet it's far from soppy. Great music in its prime.
  36. NickP
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Terrific and delightful with powerful lyrics and rythm! Some really amazing ballads like Chasing Cars, Open Your Eyes and especially Make This Go On Forever which gets very addictive as it makes you want to hear it more and more. Also a fantastic duet with Martha Wainwright and some upbeat and catch tune makes this CD delighful and complete!
  37. bruceb
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    this has to be the BEST and most awesome album ever made (and i don't just mean by snow patrol!) Buy it you wont regret it ever....
  38. KristinaT
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Terrific. Outstanding. I LOVE this album. The best track has to be You're All I have. Amazing.... Love all of it, every single moment!
  39. KG
    Jun 19, 2007
    6
    meh it was a ok thought it was quite boring with some songs sounding the same
  40. ColbyS
    May 25, 2006
    8
    Oh, come on everybody. It's not that bad. Maybe if you listened to it more than once it'd sink in. I have to admit, I was a little pissed off when I listened to it the first time, but once you go over the six or seven truly worthy ones, they are simply awesome. Rock doesn't always have to be about catchy hooks and cliche lyrics, and Snow Patrol has showcased this to the max Oh, come on everybody. It's not that bad. Maybe if you listened to it more than once it'd sink in. I have to admit, I was a little pissed off when I listened to it the first time, but once you go over the six or seven truly worthy ones, they are simply awesome. Rock doesn't always have to be about catchy hooks and cliche lyrics, and Snow Patrol has showcased this to the max yet again. Expand
  41. epixsavior
    Jun 24, 2006
    7
    the song "hands open" is exactly the kind of shot in the arm the band needs more of. final straw's best quality was that it was consistant as hell. this one it's really hit or miss. mostly hit, espcially when they're being sonically dramatic and agressive. however, a couple of the songs are way too elctro heay without much power and rythym and track 3 is WAY too cornishly the song "hands open" is exactly the kind of shot in the arm the band needs more of. final straw's best quality was that it was consistant as hell. this one it's really hit or miss. mostly hit, espcially when they're being sonically dramatic and agressive. however, a couple of the songs are way too elctro heay without much power and rythym and track 3 is WAY too cornishly cheesy for my tastes, and i listen to coldplay! other wise, still good. the agressive attitude and psuedo-collage rock sounds of "hands open" make it by far the standout track and garret lee's production on guitars and drums is as amazing and strong as usual. my suggestion: download the album on itunes except for track 3. without track 3, change my score to an 8. Expand
  42. PScott
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    Its not as good as 'Final Straw', but there are some brilliant ballads on this album. Best tracks are 'Chasing Cars', 'Set the fire to the third bar', and 'Open Your Eyes'.
  43. May 24, 2012
    8
    The follow up to their breakthrough record Final Straw has a bulkier sound and marks a progression from Indie Rock band to Stadium (or at the very least large Arena) Rock. I believe it was recorded after the band did a bit of touring with U2 and you can tell they were taking notes at the side of the stage. Like many U2 albums, Eyes Open is undeniably a good record with lots of strongThe follow up to their breakthrough record Final Straw has a bulkier sound and marks a progression from Indie Rock band to Stadium (or at the very least large Arena) Rock. I believe it was recorded after the band did a bit of touring with U2 and you can tell they were taking notes at the side of the stage. Like many U2 albums, Eyes Open is undeniably a good record with lots of strong tracks but what I find with this (again like many U2 albums) is that it's not a record I find myself going back to very often. It's music made for mass consumption that can be enjoyed instantly rather than music that you keep finding new layers of beauty in years after first hearing it. Expand
  44. Apr 30, 2015
    5
    Probably the best example of an album that starts and finishes strongly, yet dies a painful death in the middle. Openers 'You're All I Have' and 'Hands Open' give them album character, yet this character is quickly blown away by the dull tracks in the middle of the albums such as 'It's Beginning To Get To Me' and 'Make This Go On Forever' that drag on and send you to sleep. The penultimateProbably the best example of an album that starts and finishes strongly, yet dies a painful death in the middle. Openers 'You're All I Have' and 'Hands Open' give them album character, yet this character is quickly blown away by the dull tracks in the middle of the albums such as 'It's Beginning To Get To Me' and 'Make This Go On Forever' that drag on and send you to sleep. The penultimate track 'Open Your Eyes' is the standout track on the album, and gives the album a near-epic finish. In 2006, a very good year for British indie music, 'Eyes Open' was definitely not a stand out album by any means. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. As enjoyable as anything this calculated can be.
  2. To sum them up in one word, "reliable" would be the most appropriate.
  3. Eyes Open takes the formula of the last album and magnifies it.