F.A.M.E. - Chris Brown
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 60
  2. Negative: 23 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I think Graffiti was an amazing album that would have been a giant sucess if it was released later. Most of the reviews about it were really biased... Well and as much as i was not sure if Chris Brown will top his previous work, He did just that with F.A.M.E. . Just like Graffiti, Chris jumps from one genre of music to another. This album is much more positive than Graffiti and have more up tempo tracks. Deuces was a perfect choice for the first track as this is the ultimate comeback track for Chris, what is there to say about it? The lyrics are great, vocals are great and you've probably heard it by now. Second track is called "Up 2 You" and is one of my favourite tracks on album, it's a slow heartfelt pure R&B ballad. Great production and impressing vocals. Next are No BS which most of you probably heard by now too, (it's really nice slow jam) & Look at Me Now - The only track where Chris arguably gets outshined by other artist. It's a great hip-hop banger and Chris' verse is really nice although the speed at which Busta Rhymes spit is just unbelievable. The 5th track which i also consider one of the best on F.A.M.E. is "She Ain't You" . It samples Michael Jackson's "Human Nature" and SWV. Really catchy chorus and again great lyrics. 6th track is a production by Harmony. Chris again attempts to rap on it although those raps are much more melodic. The chorus got that 80s, 90s feel to it and features Seven's vocals which are real good. Overally i like the song but i wasn't impressed by lyrics. My least favourite from the 13 track offering probably.

    7th track is YEAH 3X, it was all over music programmes and radio so i doubt anyone didn't have a chance to hear it. I'm not really a fan of euro-pop sound but this song is actually really good and when you hear it you just can't help but dance. It's also very positive!

    Next 2 You, i wasn't sure how it's gonna turn out. Never been a fan nor a hater of Justin Bieber so i was quite curious what it will sound like. Well...it's a mid-tempo love song with great lyrics and great vocals from both Chris and Justin. One of the better tracks on album.

    Then after Next 2 You, comes a great great and deep "All Back" on which Chris sings about his lost love and that he wants eveyrything he lost (porbably after incident in 2009) back. This song is a real gem on here and it shows how amazing voice Chris Brown has.

    Wet the Bed comes next, i think the "plum" sound in the background is really nice touch. Ludacris delivers a great verse and the chorus is catchy. Vocals are again top notch. This is very simillar song to No BS although it's much more raunchy.

    Oh My Love is the 2nd production by Harmony, the beat is really really simillar to Say It With Me although this song is much much better. The verses are a very fast (think Busta & Twista) raps while chorus again has that 80s/90s feel. Kind of reminding me of Michael Jackson's Off the Wall album or even a couple of songs from Thriller.

    Should've Kissed You - It's co-produced by Chris Brown, it's well a little less memorable R&B ballad. The vocals are again really good but what really makes this one special for me is the fact alot of people can relate to the song including me. Definately nice one, not as impressing as Up 2 You or All Back but still really enjoyable.

    The last song is prod by Benny Benassi - Beautiful People. It's Trance if i'm not mistaken...i'm not really into this type of music and was really suprised when i first heard this song cause it's something different than usual stuff Chris Brown made in past. To be honest I did enjoy it though. The beat was well done and the message behind the song was great. "The beauty is inside you."

    There is pretty much nothing about F.A.M.E. that disapoints, some songs are better some songs are worse but all did satisfy me. I'd recommend this one mostly for people that like R&B cause there are alot of R&B songs like on all previous Chris Brown albums. Although i'm sure everyone can find something for themselves! The Deluxe edition includes 4 additional songs. Beg for it & Love me are good but nothing amazing to be honest. Bomb is a great hip-hop song with a lil Reggae vibe to it and Paper,Scissors,Rock is the best out of these. I'd recommend to get the deluxe version as it's worth it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    FAME is everything I wanted from a comeback album. Although not the best it still helps for the way to make the thingy to work. FAME allows for the best in R&B to shine in a way that is completely innocuous to Chris Brown's career.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I really feel like this is the best album Chris Brown has put out since his first one from start to end just a prefect 10 all the way. With songs like "She Ain't You" ,"Deuces" , "Up 2 You", "No Bullshit","Look at Me Now" and "Yeah 3x" you really can not go wrong with a great album.
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    F.A.M.E exceeds all expectations. you can go through track 1 all the way to 17 w/o skipping. Hits like "Deuces" "Yeah 3x" "No Bull" "Next 2 You" "She Aint You" "Look At Me Now" "Beautiful People" the list goes on and on. Every song on here can be a single. well done mr. brown #TeamBreezy
  5. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    I'm giving this album a 9 because of #5. He should not use Michael Jackson's material. He sounds better on the rest of the CD using his own content. The production here is better than Graffitti and the singing is more inspired. He clearly has an agenda to entertain people with this album and I believe he has accomplished it. I have read other reviews (including users) on this site and I must say some of the things I have read are inaccurate. First, under user ratings as of the time of this review, there are 2 ratings of 3 and 0 that use the exact same wording. Makes one wonder if they even listened to the CD. They offer no specifics about particular songs and, furthermore, the fact that Mr. Brown has 4 top hits off of this album (and that was before the release) makes their statements simply not true.

    Second, some of these so-called professional reviews compared Chris Brown's current effort to Jodeci. Now if you are like me, you are probably wondering how they drew that conclusion. Well, I am here to tell you that the comparison has to do with one member of Jodeci (whose name eludes me) had an alleged abusive relationship with Mary J. Blige in the 90's. I say that because if you listen to Jodeci, nothing about FAME sounds anything like it.

    Third, and this is my final say on this album, this album is exactly what Chris Brown needed to put out. I agree with the so-called pro's that said that this album at least gives the fans hope of a stronger future Chris Brown (so in that respect I guess I partially agree with Car123 about Fortune). I'm not going to take the time to go through the album song by song but I will say that I think song #8 (Next to You w/ Justin Beiber) is professionally underated. And Oh my love is a much better song than She ain't you (I wonder why the pro's made such a big fuss about such trash when the rest of the album was clearly superior). In close, I tell anyone who took the time to read all of this to buy this album. ESPECIALLY if you bough Graffitti. You will not be disappointed and Chris Brown is back from the dead. If I offended anyone with this I do apologize but I believe I have been truthful about this album and someone needed to take the time to write it. Thanks.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    In My Opinion, F.A.M.E. was a very well - made album. Not only was there a very good quality of songs in the standard edition, but the deluxe edition just kept the suspense and good feeling coming. The songs compiled in the track-listing was very great, ones such as "Beg For It", "Bomb" feat. Wiz Khalifa, "She Ain't You", "Oh My Love" and more had a great impact on Chris Brown's redemption. Well Done Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Best R&B/Hip-Hop album of the year packed with hits and potential hits. Best tracks: "Oh My Love", "She Ain't You", & "Beautiful People". Chris' best album yet.
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Chris Brown's "F.A.M.E." is a fun, hip, enjoyable CD for all Breezy fans! The deluxe album is the best one which includes 4 other tracks. With F.A.M.E., Breezy works his ass off trying to allow new fans with his music, to be honest, Hes a wonderful R&B singer. Every track on here is amazing! She Ain't You is by far my favorite track on here to this day! So, this album, you gotta get a copy! If you bootleg it, hey **** happens and don't get caught. So, yes, I recommend it!
    1) Deuces (10 out of 10)
    2) Up to You (10 out of 10)
    3) No BS (10 out of 10)
    4) Look At Me Now (10 out of 10)
    5) She Ain't You (10 out of 10)
    6) Say It With Me (10 out of 10)
    7) Yeah 3X (10 out of 10)
    8) Next to You (10 out of 10)
    9) All Back (10 out of 10)
    10) Wet the Bed (9.9 out of 10)
    11) Oh My Love (10 out of 10)
    12) Should've Kissed You (10 out of 10)
    13) Beautiful People (10 out of 10)
    14) Bomb (10 out of 10)
    15) Love the Girls (10 out of 10)
    16) Paper, Scissors, Rock (10 out of 10)
    17) Beg for It (9.7 out of 10)
    Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    This album is classic. Probably Chris's best album. I expected so much less because of Graffiti. But this CD blew me away. It was one of my favorite albums of 2011. & i still listen to it to this day. Pick This up if ur TEAM BREEZY as they say
  10. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    F.A.M.E. is a fun R&B album which Breezy's fans won't be disappointed and also has really cool catchy songs that you can dance and jam too in the club.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    60
    This album is about keeping Brown relevant and making the musical man child marketable again, and on that level it's a moderate success. He's still got a long way to go before he regains his previous stature.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    40
    If you already didn't like Brown – he would classify you as a "hater" – this album's combination of lewd (Wet The Bed, No Bullshit) and saccharine (Next 2 You, Should've Kissed You) content, delivered in that gross, oozing cadence of his, will only aggravate you further.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    30
    F.A.M.E. will satisfy 12 year Malibu and Miami beach frequenters, but anyone with a soul should steer far clear of this mess.