User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 1 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. tomb
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Have you ever noticed that Tiny Mix Tapes hates everything. This record is a f*cking triumph.
  2. SamW.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Incredible album...from a long-time dino fan. Among their incredible volume of work (including every dino album), this one could potentially be top of them all.
  3. JorgeD
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    Simply magical album. All the boys bands out there look flaccid against these forty somethings.
  4. BrandoCommando
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable album. Dinosaur Jr. is so under appreciated.
  5. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This album is unbelievable, I liked Beyond alot, and this outdoes that album and then some. J, Lou and Murph know how to make 5+ minute songs correctly, they don't sound like repetitive bs that makes you want to move on to the next track, they're unique masterpieces that would take 100's of listens to truly understand all that is going on in them. Here's hoping they make more albums thatThis album is unbelievable, I liked Beyond alot, and this outdoes that album and then some. J, Lou and Murph know how to make 5+ minute songs correctly, they don't sound like repetitive bs that makes you want to move on to the next track, they're unique masterpieces that would take 100's of listens to truly understand all that is going on in them. Here's hoping they make more albums that are even 4/5ths as good as this. Expand
  6. EricC.
    Jul 6, 2009
    9
    I've never been much of a Dinosaur Jr. fan, and I'm definately not a fan of 90% of the "noise pop" scene they helped spawn, but I picked this up anyway and I love being made a fool of in these situations. Farm is unstoppably catchy while never letting up on its sonic assault. This is the rock album I've been waiting all year for. Unpretentious, enjoyable, and musically I've never been much of a Dinosaur Jr. fan, and I'm definately not a fan of 90% of the "noise pop" scene they helped spawn, but I picked this up anyway and I love being made a fool of in these situations. Farm is unstoppably catchy while never letting up on its sonic assault. This is the rock album I've been waiting all year for. Unpretentious, enjoyable, and musically powerful. May not be a classic like Bug or You're Living All Over Me, but it comes closer than I ever would have thought it could. Expand
  7. JackC.
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    This is an awesome record. Beyond was good, but I think Farm is more consistent on the whole. It's just a fun record with awesome guitar and some really great hooks. Every song is good, but I especially dig "I Want You to Know" and "Plans."
  8. PapaBox
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    It's amazing that a band can make a record this good this late in their career (especially after a 19 year hiatus). While it while obviously not have the influence of their late-80s heyday records, I believe this is their best, most consistent, record.
  9. MS
    Aug 13, 2009
    8
    A great album. Is it 1991 again?
  10. JamesA
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    Not as good as "Your Living All Over Me" and is a little slower than thier previous stuff, but it is still J and Dinosaur Jr. No complaints here.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. This is a sound that's utterly unique to Dinosaur Jr., and what's different about them in their reunion is that the group not only realizes their individuality, they revel in it, getting lost in the noise, and it's hard not to get swept up with it, too.
  2. Continues where 2007's sprightly comeback album "Beyond" left off.
  3. 70
    Apparently, you can go home again, and it's still plenty loud and comfortable.