• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Favourite Worst Nightmare Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 365 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ultrahyped British rockers return with a quick successor to their Mercury Prize-winning 2006 debut.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. On the evidence of Favourite Worst Nightmare, the Arctic Monkeys are playing at the very top of their and everyone else's game.
  2. A second album as outstanding as this one is no nightmare; it's a dream come true.
  3. The album sees the band moving on from the Libertines-aping chord structures of their debut and pushing in new directions.
  4. At every turn this record astonishes with its accomplishment.
  5. Favourite Worst Nightmare, a demonstrative record of small deviations, may pale before its predecessor but is better.
  6. A bit heavier and not as immediate, Favourite Worst Nightmare is a slightly lesser record, though by no means a Difficult Second Album.
  7. There’s a lot of bluster and enthusiasm here but I’m struggling to identify much in the way of true substance.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 145
  1. FeD
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Simply the bast band at the moment.
  2. SeanC
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    This is better than the debut!
  3. RogerI.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    absulutly brilliant every song has a sense of meaning i could listen to that over and over again till i to tired and nap still singing those absulutly brilliant every song has a sense of meaning i could listen to that over and over again till i to tired and nap still singing those catchy lines and phrases. Just in love with flourecent adolesence, nearly know all the lyrics by heart Expand
  4. KaNo
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    This band has really come into their own with great lyrics and musical stylings. There is nothing really hooky here, but it's still fun This band has really come into their own with great lyrics and musical stylings. There is nothing really hooky here, but it's still fun to listen to. The only thing I'm having a hard time with is the last song, 505. I think it should have been cut from the album. Expand
  5. Regan
    May 31, 2007
    9
    I would have given this a 7 on first play, but after a few weeks find I love it even more than their last. And I didn't think that would I would have given this a 7 on first play, but after a few weeks find I love it even more than their last. And I didn't think that would be possible. Lovely. Expand
  6. CaitlinS
    Apr 24, 2007
    8
    Just a month ago I despised this band calling them over-rated and unoriginal. After hearing this CD, I've changed my mind. 505 and Just a month ago I despised this band calling them over-rated and unoriginal. After hearing this CD, I've changed my mind. 505 and Brianstorm are key tracks, and a CD well worth your listen. Expand
  7. DontrelleM
    Apr 16, 2007
    0
    Wow!! Another bad album from an overated band. This pure garbage, sometimes it's almost to painful to listen.

See all 145 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?