Fear Fun - Father John Misty
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2012
    5
    Not a bad album but not what I had expected, unfortunately in mostly an unappealing way. There's maybe three or so tracks that I enjoyed and the "Hollywood Forever ..." track was the one stand out I'd add to my regular playlist. I kept wanting more of that but instead got plenty of pretty standard country influenced tracks.

    If your up for that then I think this'll float your boat,
    otherwise maybe wait to see where Misty goes next. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    I love this record. I love this record more than both Fleet Foxes album. Father John Misty is a perfect balance between pop, country, folk, and indie. From the start of the album to the end of it, it's some of the best music I've heard this year. The production is absolutely amazing. Some of the best production I've heard Sub Pop do. The song-writing is fantastic and the vocals are amazing. All In All, Fear Fun is an utter surprise and beautiful on the ears. A Collapse
  3. May 22, 2012
    9
    He is much better with Fleet Foxes than when he is alone as "Father John Misty", but the album has many Fleet Foxes elements deep within. I found that this album was quite good and I had a couple of listens to it. Overall, not bad... keep up the good work.
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    I'm a big Fleet Foxes fan so when I heard this record was put out by a former member I was eager to check it out. Although quite different to the Fleet Foxes in many ways, you can see how J Tillman's musical tastes and abilities fitted in nicely with the West Coast hippy folk rockers. Fear Fun is a hippy folk record but with a twist. It reminds me of the Eagles a little but with some of The "Let it Be" era Beatles stuck in there as well. Of course Father John is his own artist and the record certainly has his own stamp on it. It's a good record that I enjoy listening to and it captures the feeling of living out of a VW van pretty well. Hollywood Fever is the standout for me. Expand
  5. May 1, 2012
    8
    Full review available at MANIK MUSIC http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/father-john-misty-fear-fun/

    â
  6. May 7, 2012
    9
    This is currently in the lead for my favorite album of 2012, despite having a few flaws. Other reviews that I have read have mentioned that the album needed a trim and that songs like "Well, You Can Do It Without Me" should've been cut. I have a harder time pinpointing what could have been trimmed. My favorite tracks are the ones that others seem to complain about. I love the country-tinged tracks far more than the ones that sound like they could have been fleet foxes songs at one point.

    Overall, this is a highly satisfying album an one of the few that has completely surpassed my expectations and actually excited me while I was listening to it.
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    A lot of the songs sound like "something" you've heard before, but every track is solid. I wish he stayed in Fleet Foxes because he and Robin had great chemistry
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Though he dumbs up his songwriting half the time by fearing fun literally as regards forward motion, don't give up.
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    Fear Fun leaves his previous work in the dust.
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    [An] inspired brew of, indeed, both fear and fun.