User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamL
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    This is an excellent album. Normally a double album would struggle to keep me interested, but this just keeps you gasping for more. Great stuff.
  2. Francesca
    Mar 8, 2010
    7
    I love them and I reeeeeeallly wanted to love this as much I do previous albums but it just won't happen. Good album and perhaps it's just a personal thing but for me it doesn't come near Tones of Town
  3. CL.
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Amazing, amazing, sprawling album that gets better every time you listen to it. To say these guys are talented is a serious understatement... almost like saying Mozart was alright on the piano. Genius is the word. Buy it. Listen to it. Love it.
  4. AdrianF.
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Like all the best bits of early Yes, Queen, XTC and Beatles. But more then the sum of its parts.
  5. ToniT
    Feb 22, 2010
    10
    Simply awesome. And addictive: can't help playing it again and again, looking for new moments of magic. Surely XTC can be named along with Todd Rundgren, but, once again, for me Field Music excel in turning Gentle Giant's concise twists and turns and vocal harmonies into a style of their own. Anyway, one thing I'll never forgive them is for driving me into tears before Simply awesome. And addictive: can't help playing it again and again, looking for new moments of magic. Surely XTC can be named along with Todd Rundgren, but, once again, for me Field Music excel in turning Gentle Giant's concise twists and turns and vocal harmonies into a style of their own. Anyway, one thing I'll never forgive them is for driving me into tears before suddenly fading that beast of a song called Precious. Hey, boys, you can't be boring, leave us some minutes more, oh please!! Expand
  6. steveb
    May 17, 2010
    10
    The Brewis Brothers are first of all great composers and musicians. Their music is simultaneously highly melodic and rhythmic. Their songs are moving and musical and reveal more and more development upon repeated listening. Their Measure CD is also wonderfully recorded and a treat to listen to on headphones.
  7. RmacM.
    Feb 18, 2010
    9
    If you are old enough to remember what is was like to get an LP, it was an event. Going through the artwork, reading the notes and of couse enjoying the music. So, having this 2 disc available from a great band is very nice. Field Music makes great pop music in the truest form, XTC, The Beach Boys & Talking Heads. With that being said, put in your ear buds or head phones download the If you are old enough to remember what is was like to get an LP, it was an event. Going through the artwork, reading the notes and of couse enjoying the music. So, having this 2 disc available from a great band is very nice. Field Music makes great pop music in the truest form, XTC, The Beach Boys & Talking Heads. With that being said, put in your ear buds or head phones download the lyrics and take the time to listen to this great double album. Expand
  8. MatthewD
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    Creative, Varied, Authentic, Quirky, Simple, Complicated, Enjoyable!
  9. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    An explosion of nostalgic feelings since the first track, wonderful, probably in my top ten of the year. I love when the new bands make new music and even if sounds old, it looks original.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Measure can be described as being the metamorphosis that translates Field Music’s born again status. Ambitious as it sounds, it locks itself into a pop compendium, which has always been a strong suit in the past.
  2. Paul ­McCartney's ­influence looms large on the more ­melodic ­moments. Several tracks set up an unlikely meeting between ­angular ­Sunderland peers Futureheads and mid-70s Wings, and the ­beautifully ­orchestrated Measure could be a lost outtake from Abbey Road.
  3. Field Music can certainly use each song’s inherent tension to keep each song coherent, but over two album’s worth of music, that tension is diluted, and the songs tend to run into each other.