Fin - John Talabot
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I've never been a huge fan of house, but John Talabot has made an album that completely breaks down the barriers that I felt restricted house to begin with. This is much more than just a dance record. Fin has a dark undertone to the album, and every song has plenty of shifts and surprises. The songs blend together beautifully, and every track is unique in it's own way without sacrificing the cohesiveness of the album. I am a fan of electronic music, and there are certainly plenty of electronic elements to this album. It's dance music with an emotional punch, which is very hard to find. This album could be played at a club OR late night/after work when you just want to relax and chill out at home. Fin (and John Talabot for that matter) came out of nowhere, but I am instantly a fan. Frontrunner for album of the year so far, and the bar is set pretty high. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    this album is so far my favorite of 2012, so amazing, so great feelings when I hear this album, and very beautiful sounds,dark, mystery, sexiness, smooth tones.. and of course I wanna dance
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    A really catchy dance record that is both nostalgic and contemporary. Talabot is a master at maintaining rhythm and tone throughout the album. The lowpoint is 'journeys' but thats a small price to pay in exchange for gems like destiny and oro y sangre.
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent. This album doesn't need to be broken in......instantly it grabs you. Smooth music with subtle shifts which make you keep coming back for more. Best so far for 2012
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    "Fin" is the debut album by John Talabot. From Barcelona. Hause one. Excellent. What else can we say about it? Climate - it has - no doubt, but any description of electronic music is wrong - because this record can be assessed only after hearing a whole material. Each song is an accumulation of sounds which carry all sorts of emotions - sometimes they are slightly galactic compositions ("El Oeste", "Depak Ine"), sometimes they derive from other styles: from hip hop "Last Land", through ethnic "HORSE" or "Journeys" created in cooperation with Ekhi. On LP we'll find, of course strictly house compositions: great "Destiny", or "Sun Will Be Now" - both featuring Pional. Very solid debut. Collapse
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This album is great, it's the kind of record that makes you wish there were more of it's kind. It's immersive, seductive and chill, but you can also dance to it.
  7. May 26, 2013
    10
    Unlike anything I have listened too, Talabot combines tribal nuances into a mysterious and dark electronic sound scape. Talabots sound is unique, and l the control which he exerts over his progressive rhythms and synthesizers is masterful. My favorite album of the year so far.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    90
    Fin as an album appears to be the requisite cross-over hit of the year, following in the footsteps of Caribou's Swim and Pantha Du Prince's Black Noise.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    85
    Fin creates a passionate kind of poetry not only in its music but also in its listeners.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    His slow-burning music ... has serious cross-over potential. [Apr 2012, p.91]