Fist Of God

  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2009
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnP
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    Can't see why it has received such a bad rating. I feel its only fault is as an album it's lacking a real flow. Otherwise it is a great listen and would highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of the genre.
  2. NathanielR
    Mar 27, 2009
    7
    Its solid overall, but some tracks really drag the whole thing down. The album opens well enough with four solid tracks but I can't help feel it gets bogged down a lot by the guest artists. NORE and E-40's tracks are just kind of dumb and fun, but both tracks by Jahmal are kind of forgettable and the Ghostface track is a big disappointment. Still, my favorite tracks on the album Its solid overall, but some tracks really drag the whole thing down. The album opens well enough with four solid tracks but I can't help feel it gets bogged down a lot by the guest artists. NORE and E-40's tracks are just kind of dumb and fun, but both tracks by Jahmal are kind of forgettable and the Ghostface track is a big disappointment. Still, my favorite tracks on the album are 1000 Cigarettes and Vuvuvu, so I guess I just prefer my MSTRKRFT straight, without the extra "help". Oh, and contrary to what seems to be the popular opinion in the critical community, I like vocoders and think they sound awesome. Hope they bring some of that "Looks" sound back next time around. Expand
  3. erin
    May 13, 2009
    1
    French electro wannabe vs top 100 hip hop / pop. No thanks. Nothing new or remotely worth listening to here.
  4. YoureWrongImRight
    Jul 23, 2009
    1
    A Simply awful electro album. This kinds sound has been done a 100 times and a hundred times better. This is the sound of creativity taking a backseat to indulgence. An irritating mess. Poor Ghostface got the worst track of them all. A damn shame.
  5. BlakeB
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Classic electronic album. Runs circles around "Cross."
  6. MycroftW
    May 28, 2009
    7
    Theor remixes were a hard act to follow, but it's not as bad as some of the reviews suggest.
  7. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    So This album has really great songs like "1,000 Cigarettes", "Fist of God" "Vuvuvu" ," It ain't Love", and "Heartbreaker". The Ghostface killer song "Word up" and the "1,000 Cigarettes remix" just plain suck. The main problem i found with this album is not the songs themselves but those featured on them. "Click Click" for example has an amazing beat but E.40 entire verse kind of bringsSo This album has really great songs like "1,000 Cigarettes", "Fist of God" "Vuvuvu" ," It ain't Love", and "Heartbreaker". The Ghostface killer song "Word up" and the "1,000 Cigarettes remix" just plain suck. The main problem i found with this album is not the songs themselves but those featured on them. "Click Click" for example has an amazing beat but E.40 entire verse kind of brings it down. I just hope next time they have less people featured. So this can be a pass or go depended on what kind of electro you like. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. It’s all so cold and empty and irritating.
  2. MSTRKRFT keep things bouncing, but they never match Daft Punk or Justice on the hook or cleverness quotient.
  3. 60
    Fist isn't quite a God punch, but it hits with legit impact.