Forgiveness Rock Record

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2011
    6
    I appreciate McEntire's production but overall he had little to work with since this IS BSS. There are some career defining tunes on this album but overall it's reach exceeds it's grasp.
  2. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Album of the year. Hands down. Forgiveness Rock Record is one of those album that you appreciate more and more with repeated listens. So if you haven't listened a thousands times, get on it. It isn't quite YFIIP. But it's close. And that's saying something. YFFIP is maybe the album of the decade. I love this band. I hope we don't have to wait another five years for more music.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    3
    Maybe I dont like this kind of music, but this is so inexpressive for me. This album hasnt think. External melodies pronouncedly spoil it. I am really disappointed of it. 3
  4. stvmty
    May 30, 2010
    9
    A good album but it was a little harder to get into. Even when its a poppy album it doesn't sound like BSS at a first listen, it doesn't have that summer-beach sound that the band had the past albums.
  5. MarkB.
    May 29, 2010
    4
    YFIIP & S/T were great. The early 00s are over though, & they haven't grown. There is nothing mature about it - Me & My Hand, come on. If Lisa Lobsinger wasn't part of the full time cast, this band would be doomed. I guess with everyone having successful and creative bands, there must be some sense of loyalty or friendship to Drew to keep this thing going. 2.5 spins was as much YFIIP & S/T were great. The early 00s are over though, & they haven't grown. There is nothing mature about it - Me & My Hand, come on. If Lisa Lobsinger wasn't part of the full time cast, this band would be doomed. I guess with everyone having successful and creative bands, there must be some sense of loyalty or friendship to Drew to keep this thing going. 2.5 spins was as much as I could stand. Expand
  6. AdrianK
    May 20, 2010
    8
    Despite of the last track a very good and enjoyable album.
  7. AFan
    May 5, 2010
    9
    Classic! Are you kidding me? This is soooo good.
  8. t$M.
    May 5, 2010
    9
    The best BSS album since You Forget it in People. You can't expect a better album than that, so it was worth the wait.
  9. TimS
    May 5, 2010
    10
    It's fantastic. Bottom line. It's not nearly as spectacular as "You Forgot It In People," but BSS have overcome a series of middling solo projects to produce another stellar effort.
  10. Brendan
    May 5, 2010
    8
    Their most commercial and polished record. Has its moments.
  11. JeffL
    May 4, 2010
    10
    Its good to have so much new music from BSS. It is less produced, more rockish, and sounds more like a group of folks who just like to play good music together. Its refreshing all the way through.
  12. MikeW
    May 4, 2010
    9
    A really fantastic album. Better than the self-titled one from '05 Lots of very melodic, catchy solid songs on this. The band has matured and it shows, production is top notch and working with John from Tortoise really seems like a smart decision. Lisa Lobsinger has a wonderful voice, I just wish there was one more tune on here with feist/millan/haines because Sentimental X's is A really fantastic album. Better than the self-titled one from '05 Lots of very melodic, catchy solid songs on this. The band has matured and it shows, production is top notch and working with John from Tortoise really seems like a smart decision. Lisa Lobsinger has a wonderful voice, I just wish there was one more tune on here with feist/millan/haines because Sentimental X's is definitely one of the best tracks. Expand
  13. JoshuaH
    May 4, 2010
    10
    Their best work to date, an album that requires several listens before its layers are fully appreciated.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Though clearly as replete with imagination as they are with personnel, Broken Social Scene would benefit from the attentions of a less indulgent producer.
  2. 70
    Their fourth full-length has certain recurring quirks: skittery hi-hats, guitar lines to whistle along to, junk poetry sneered as if into a wind chamber. Blame a new emphasis on songwriting, never their strength, over sound-making.
  3. It's fantastic, as is so much of Forgiveness Rock Record, a collation of so many talents that it's practically bursting at the seams.