Fortune - Chris Brown
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 128
  2. Negative: 80 out of 128

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Amazing! a little late for a review, but this album is something relaxing, slow melodies and reflective. "Dont Judge Me" makes us revise our concepts, what people really mean for us.
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite album of all time, it has that special aura to it, so much soul and meaning with me understanding every songs background. Its June and i can still listen to the album without getting bored. Amazing.
  3. May 26, 2013
    10
    Now I will admit I'm a huge fan of Chris and this album has to be my 3rd favorite by him. Unfortunately the singles did not pop like how all of them did on F.A.M.E. but the album in general is great. I bought the deluxe edition as soon as it came out and I stopped on track 7 Biggest Fan and got stuck easily my fav song on the album and one of my favorites by him period. He switches up his style between R&B, Hip Hop, and Pop and I think he does a great job at it. my favorite tracks are Bassline, Mirage, Don't Judge Me, 2012, Biggest Fan, Sweet Love, 4 Years Old, Party Hard /Cadillac, Trumpet Lights, Free Run, and Touch Me. He has been a great artist and performer since day one and people should let the past go and respect his music and leave it at that. Great album and one of my top 5 favorites of 2012. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    This album though it was not as good as his last F.A.M.E. it was still a solid album from top to bottom. Critics are still judging him from the beating of Rihanna and not for his music which is great.
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    I love love love this album! its my favorite overall. I think Chris shows a lot of maturity, I LOVE IT! fck the critics its about the fans. #teambreezy
  6. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Production on this album is undeniably great, this man cannot be judged for his personal actions, if you wish to judge him then judge his music, not his past. I give the album a 9
  7. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    fortune is amazing you have the nice slow/love songs i.e party hard,stuck on stupid,4years old, and then the club tracks turn up the music dont wake me up and trumpet lights and the sexual strip,2012,sweet love,biggest fan and till i die and bassline the wraps and mirage just a nice mix so something there for everyone so to be honest all these bad reviews haved nothing to do with the album i can tell its more about your opinion of him and you can get back by slamming the album absolutly pathetic people,,,grow up Expand
  8. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Chris Brown is amazing and his 'Fortune' album is great! His passed shouldn't reflect his future in others eyes. People should be forgiven, although to me he was never forgotten. He is a man of his fans and if his fans are the only ones with positive feedback, well that's all he needs. Excited to see what the future of music holds for him. He is an outstanding artist.
  9. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Maybe I missed something, but I heard parts of this album on another website and I was ready to buy it based on what I heard. I think it is going to be a great album, just like FAME. Bring on the hate for this album, but if you really like good music (and could care less about outside drama), you should probably try this album out. This album deserved better than what it has thus far received, but that's the way life goes. Collapse
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This is his best album. Everyone is just giving him bad reviews because of his past, and that shouldnt matter. We are in 2012, its time to forgibe and forget. It would never matter what the critic's say its all about the fans. The critics only score him by the bad things in his pass, but not the good things he has done. Chris Brown is more of a successful person than any of those critics he is a actor,dancer,producer,singer,song-writer,director and MY IDOL & INSPIRATON! #TEAMBREEZY Till I DIE Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This is an outstanding album very pleased, most of the tracks of this album are very good. People only hate on him for something that happened 3 years ago.
  12. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Chris Brown's Fortune album is destined to be deemed as a Pop confection and a cacophony of sexual lyrics and sounds. But, this is entirely incorrect. It is, again, an underrated album. Chris Brown's newest studio album shows his journey as an artist, both musically and creatively in the entire saga of Fortune - in art, as a music video director and entertainer. With songs like "2012", "Biggest Fan" and "Sweet Love", he sets the tone for the night in romantic, sweet and sometimes super sexual evenings with his Boo. "Don't Judge Me" and "4 Years Old" look back onto the past and reveal his real emotions about past relationships and possible concerns about the speed at which his career has taken off, reminiscing friend Tyga's "Moving 2 Fast". "Party Hard", "Bassline" and "Biggest Fan" are the most single ready of the yet to be released tracks on the album. "Party Hard" is a song about that girl who you are interested in, but can never get the moment to show how you feel about her, it's total infatuation. After "Party Hard", there is a short interlude which features Chris' favorite female artist, Se7en, called "Cadillac" where Chris and Se7en sing acapella. "Bassline" is an exemplary example of a real music artist using dubstep the correct way - in which many Pop artists have simply jumped onto a dubstep track to try and be on the current trend. Kudos to Breezy for creating a song representative of the actual genre and being creative as well. "Mirage" and "Til' I Die" are two songs for the Hip Hop crowd, with "Mirage" featuring Hip Hop legend Nas and the latter featuring hot rappers Big Sean and Wiz Khalifa. Of course, "Strip", one of Brown's most successful R&B jams to date is on the middle of the album, featuring label mate (CBE) and mentee Kevin McCall. "Turn Up The Music", one of his biggest Pop / Dance songs to date, "Don't Wake Me Up" and "Trumpet Lights" are the Eurodance tracks Chris has become known for the past few years. They feature futuristic sounds, big bass and winding lyrics to get fans and non-fans on the dance floor. "Trumpet Lights" is the most adventurous and unique track on the album, with the sounds of Eurodance, Salsa and Dubstep rolled into one of Fortune's best tracks. It also features new CBE Signee Sabrina Antoinette. Fortune shows a lot of growth creatively both in and out of the studio. It is a surefire hit for #TeamBreezy and should win over new fans and people interested in R&B, Pop or Dubstep. Chris has a lot of jams, no matter which genre you're interested in - and they are all very well produced, written and performed on Fortune. This album shows how he has grown since F.A.M.E. was released in March 2011. I recommend you purchase this album, and even splurge on the deluxe edition, where there is sure to be more "A" grade R&B, Pop and Dubstep to fill your home, car or iPod with this summer! Expand
  13. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    After hearing the 5 singles realeased from Fortune, I was thinking it's gonna be good but nowhere near good as the last album (F.A.M.E.), needless to say - I was wrong. The album's singles give a little wrong idea of what the album serves. Why? Because I expected mostly dance, pop driven record and instead I get something that comes closer to Chris Brown's first 2 albums. The album seems much more cohesive than the last 2 records (even though I never had a problem with that). It starts of with "Turn up the music", continues with Dubstep influenced "Bassline" and then switches to the futuristic sounding "Till I Die" but later on, it's R&B and only R&B until the last 2 tracks at the end (unless you count Nas feature on Mirage which is probably my favourite record on the album).

    It doesn't get boring though, the production on it's own keeps you entertained. There is a great ton of detail on each of the songs, making them intresting and often creating a great build up. The lyrics seem to be better than on the last album aswell (most notably on "Don't Judge Me" , "4 Years Old" and "Stuck on Stupid"). When it comes to vocals, the greatest showcase of Brown's abbility comes on "Cadillac (interlude)" which is a nearly acappella song. It leaves you wishing it wasn't just an interlude.

    All in all, Fortune is a great album that is sure to become underrated mostly because of artist's personal life but hey, everyone got their own ears, listen yourself and see if you like it. I highly recommend deluxe version, you wouldn't like to miss out on "Free Run" or "Wait For You" .
    Expand
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    20
    Fortune is another overload of poor decisions.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    "Don't Wake Me Up," a thumping club cut that's irresistible on an otherwise forgettable album.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    Brown brags about his extra-large condoms, and, on "Don't Judge Me," turns a tender love song into a Twitter rant against "haters."