User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PerspicaciousCritic
    May 3, 2007
    8
    QUAID and KOSTAS G: Both OK Computer and Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters are stunning achievements. Now play nice, boys.
  2. Mickey23
    May 10, 2007
    9
    Got to agree with popoman. This is the best album I have heard so far this year. It's an indie/post rock album. To me they sound like what you'd get if you mixed the best bits of Idlewild with the best of Mogwai....but then darker than that, like if you mixed Xiu Xiu with Godspeed You Black Emperor but that's not right either, somewhere imbetween all that but not really. Got to agree with popoman. This is the best album I have heard so far this year. It's an indie/post rock album. To me they sound like what you'd get if you mixed the best bits of Idlewild with the best of Mogwai....but then darker than that, like if you mixed Xiu Xiu with Godspeed You Black Emperor but that's not right either, somewhere imbetween all that but not really. Hmmm, these band comparisons are hard. Expand
  3. BDub
    May 9, 2007
    8
    I'm cool, because i said OK Computer is a crappy album. You see what makes someone cool is taking one of the most heralded albums of the last twenty and then saying it is crappy. See what i mean? Now bask in my coolness. Oh, and yeah, this TS album is good too, and you can believe in my opinion because i just bashed a great album , see how easy that is? Now isn't this nice?
  4. KOSTASG
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Dark and brilliant. This must be one of the best albums ever recorded.Personally the best album i have heard since ok computer.
  5. ToddW
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    It's startling at first listen to hear James Graham's Scottish brogue fronting a rock band, but one song in and you'll be hooked. The music comes off as a cross between My Bloody Valentine and U2, and each song and repeated listen draws you in deeper. Despite the title, which hints at realms of darkness and decay, this is an incandescent offering. Autumn is a time of It's startling at first listen to hear James Graham's Scottish brogue fronting a rock band, but one song in and you'll be hooked. The music comes off as a cross between My Bloody Valentine and U2, and each song and repeated listen draws you in deeper. Despite the title, which hints at realms of darkness and decay, this is an incandescent offering. Autumn is a time of brilliant color and winter can be strikingly beautiful in its monochrome. This offers both in a rich sonic mix. Collapse
  6. MikefromMaine
    May 11, 2007
    6
    I'm sitting on the fence at this point with the TS. They are a blend of styles, (Radiohead, Coldplay, and Teenage Fanclub are the obvious influences to me), and on some songs the blend works, while on others I hear a disjointed combination of bands. They do infuse quite a bit of emotion in their tunes, but I still need to listen a few more times to really determine where this I'm sitting on the fence at this point with the TS. They are a blend of styles, (Radiohead, Coldplay, and Teenage Fanclub are the obvious influences to me), and on some songs the blend works, while on others I hear a disjointed combination of bands. They do infuse quite a bit of emotion in their tunes, but I still need to listen a few more times to really determine where this collection actually fits in. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    May 13, 2007
    6
    Lyrics are good and the Walkmen-esque guitar sonics are markedly different from most alt-rock, but between the vocals and the limited percussion (esp. "I Am Taking the Train Home," "...the Invisible Boy," and "Walking for Two Hours") they sound just like a more mature and Scottish Coldplay.
  8. popoman
    May 2, 2007
    10
    enigmatic and heartfelt... good stuff... best album this year for me so far
  9. mikeyf
    Apr 28, 2007
    1
    send your $ to their label to underwrite music lessons for the ts's. proof you really should'a gone on a diet, sang in an undecipherable dialectic & learned a couple of chords. you too could make stupid girls swoon . for fuck's sake, save your hearing. poser kunt rock.
  10. QUAID
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    Great album, but to think that OK Computer is a great achievement, think again. It's easily one of the worst albums ever. How could anyone possible compare this album to that crap.
  11. robertc
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Excellent debut album....go buy and enjoy
  12. EdLeisurewear
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Stunning achievement from Messrs Graham and co. - a nice cross between Mogwai and Belle and Sebastien - not just because they're both Scottish, well...kinda. I look forward to the fifteenth autumn...
  13. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    It takes a while to fully understand the real meaning of the songs, but (as a whole) FA&FW works so cohesively well that the total is more important than its parts. And it's also a strong and solid debut, for a melancholic but powerful band.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The density of the Twilight Sad's sound evokes wide open spaces, yet the louder they are, the more intimate they sound.
  2. Having heard their first EP, it's not quite as much of revelation as it would have been, but it's still pretty darn good.
  3. As exhilarating as Fourteen Autumns is at its most anthemic, the vividness of the lyrical themes ultimately carries the record over.