• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Fox Confessor Brings The Flood Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Members of Calexico and Giant Sand help provide the music for the singer's first studio album in four years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. An astonishing collection... that should leave Case's peers eating a cloud of Nashville dust. [Apr 2006, p.204]
  2. Case's genius as a writer, evident from track to track, stems from her ability to write lyrics that conjure up amazingly clear images but that still leave the songs as a whole up to interpretation.
  3. Case has never sounded as vital as she does on "Fox Confessor Brings the Flood."
  4. Fox Confessor is often striking, intermittently dazzling and occasionally puzzling.
  5. Twelve of the most lyrically and musically ambitious songs of her career. [#12, p.90]
  6. 80
    Feels as old as a cracked-leather Bible that's lasted generations and witnessed many secrets. [Apr 2006, p.98]
  7. Unsurprisingly, everything on Fox Confessor Brings the Flood is sublimated beneath Case’s vocals: music, momentum, the need for tunes.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. GernickK
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    played the record again this weekend after not having listened to it for a while, was again struck by the sheer gorgeousness of this album. played the record again this weekend after not having listened to it for a while, was again struck by the sheer gorgeousness of this album. possibly the best album of 2006 (though i struggle to think of an album that could match this in 2006) Catch her live if you can, it will be magic. Expand
  2. laurene
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Incredible lyrics, an unmatched voice and talent in music today.
  3. Cables
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Beautiful in every sense of the word. A true masterpiece.
  4. DREFromCharlotte
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Neko Case has the clearest voice in 2006 music. 'Fox' is a lovely, sorta wacko, alt-country masterpiece. It's sort of like Neko Case has the clearest voice in 2006 music. 'Fox' is a lovely, sorta wacko, alt-country masterpiece. It's sort of like stepping back in time to heart Pasty Cline singing cutting-edge alt. Expand
  5. lorne
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    An artfully recorded record destined to be compromise by this age's love of the digital medium. A rare masterwork requiring An artfully recorded record destined to be compromise by this age's love of the digital medium. A rare masterwork requiring analogue's sonic superiority to experience this record's atmospheric depths to its fullest. Lyrically Ms. Case has few peers. One only needs to listen to Track #7 -- John Saw That Number -- a 18th C. spiritual to be immediately confronted by an overwhelming power rare in today's nihilistic musical culture. Track #2 -- Hold On Hold On -- harkens back to the classic three-minute pop of The Mamas and the Papas, offering an entry point for a whole new audience into the lush, arcane universe of Neko Case. "With this album," Neko Case reflected on this record, "I wanted to try and figure out how fairy tales were born." Ignore her inspiring work at your own peril. Expand
  6. TravisB
    May 31, 2006
    9
    Beautiful. I'm not even a huge country fan, and I love this stuff. Check out "maybe sparrow" or "teenage feeling", in addition to the Beautiful. I'm not even a huge country fan, and I love this stuff. Check out "maybe sparrow" or "teenage feeling", in addition to the single "star witness" Expand
  7. DavidM
    May 3, 2006
    4
    I love Neko's work with the New Pornographers, and like a lot of other alt-country artists, Lucinda Williams, so given that and the I love Neko's work with the New Pornographers, and like a lot of other alt-country artists, Lucinda Williams, so given that and the great reviews this album has garnered, I find myself shocked how little I like this ablum... Don't by the other posters praising this albums emotionalism...I find it very cold and distant, and musically outside of the overdubbed vocals on Star Witness, which are gorgeous, and moments of Hold On, nothing here engages me. And there's a weird, I don't know, almost maybe David Lynch-like bizarreness to some of the lyrics...maybe this is just the way Neko does it on her own...if so, I'll wait for the next NP Expand

See all 35 User Reviews