Friendly Fire

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Great album. Light and melodic, nice and melancholic. Just pleasant to hear it on sunday morning.
  2. BillR
    Nov 3, 2006
    0
    Garbage his music is so boring. You guys are only being nice to him because he is John's son. Too bad he inherit any talent from his father
  3. JosephE
    Oct 13, 2006
    7
    I really lijke where Sean is going with his music.A few songs I'm not crazy about but better to have 6 songs you like then 2 or 3. I see him getting better.
  4. KevinA
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Excellent. Forget about his lineage and just listen. The man is gifted. I have not stopped playing it, but I did have to take out the Lennon/Beatles plug out my ears and judge the music-and video, on merit alone. Wonderful.
  5. EavnC
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    Teh album at first strikes you as rather soft and boring. But once you learn the story behind the songs you can appreciate the artistic and poetic value of the songs. It's one of the best albums I've heard recently.
  6. Rev.Rikard
    Dec 8, 2006
    7
    This album makes Sean sound old before his time. The songs resound with more similarity and familiarity with each play. His father's ability to write beautiful melody and introspective lyrics is definitely present in his son. The melodies are definitely pleasing to the ear and reveal great potential. However, John's melodies and lyrics of this ilk were meaningful as we followed This album makes Sean sound old before his time. The songs resound with more similarity and familiarity with each play. His father's ability to write beautiful melody and introspective lyrics is definitely present in his son. The melodies are definitely pleasing to the ear and reveal great potential. However, John's melodies and lyrics of this ilk were meaningful as we followed his progression as a musician and man. This album feels like an attempt to pick up where Dad left. I would love to hear Sean as an energetic rocker with some social commentary first. Then, I could enjoy this album more. Instead, I would rather just hear "Woman", "Beautiful Boy," and "Jealous Guy" from John. Collapse
  7. JoshB
    Oct 12, 2006
    9
    Excellent album. Reminiscent of Elliott Smith.
  8. beverlym
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    Wonderful. Cannot stop playing this album. Not one filler in the lot.
  9. JohnB
    Nov 6, 2006
    6
    The songs are reasonably good. However, his vocals seem a little monotonous and lack expression. To me he sounds more like Emitt Rhodes than Elliot Smith, who incidentally was always compared to McCartney, not Lennon.
  10. andrewA
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    There isn't anything REALLY new on this record, he may sing like his father or sound like elliott smith, but he has penned eleven lovely pop songs.
  11. MattD.
    Oct 6, 2006
    5
    He has talent, but he needs to get out of his dad's shadow. He has not done that on this CD.
  12. JyotirmayaD
    Mar 11, 2007
    8
    This album is so gorgeous. the melodies, and orchestral arrangements are breathtaking. I met Sean after his how in Chicago and told him "It's really a beautiful album, Sean; I listen to it everyday." The videos on the CD/DVD set are beautiful and engaging. Sean is a true artiste. His voice took me a day or two to get used to as it isn't a great instrument, but he knows its This album is so gorgeous. the melodies, and orchestral arrangements are breathtaking. I met Sean after his how in Chicago and told him "It's really a beautiful album, Sean; I listen to it everyday." The videos on the CD/DVD set are beautiful and engaging. Sean is a true artiste. His voice took me a day or two to get used to as it isn't a great instrument, but he knows its boundaries and stays withing them. After it grows on you, you can kick back and enjoy this album which is just as good as Rufus' "Poses." Expand
  13. DominicP
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Beautifully produced and thoughtfully written. What a very pleasant suprise from the loins of a legend.
  14. timb
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    I think this album is getting an unreasonably low score because it's the kind of album that sinks in after a while - at first it seems underwhelming, unassuming, but it eventually hits you, and you realise just how great it is.
  15. EllieM
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I just can't stop playing this album - am surprised how much I like it and it just keeps growing on me. Don't understand why his father even has to be mentioned - this album should be judged purely on its own merit
  16. JohnK.
    Nov 21, 2006
    6
    A lot of people could make an album this good, if given the time and money. And many make records much better, without. Well, anyway, it's not a bad record.
  17. AlbertoP
    Nov 25, 2006
    8
    Very nice album. I'm not a fan of John Lennon, I discovered this guy watching "Dead Meat" video on TV.
  18. joeyo
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    WOW ! the first 5 songs will blow you away. really one of my top 5 for the year.still sounds good after repeated listenings.
  19. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Wonderfully different =) He reminds me of John so much but this album is so modern without being stereotypically modern. I also like how I can't describe his style to my friends
  20. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    This is a decent album that reminds me of a Wes Anderson film that has not yet been made. The comparisons between Sean Lennon and his father are unavoidable; I mean, they're related. I don't understand the criticism that Sean is "trying to hard to be his dad." The lyrics on "Friendly Fire" , "Dead Meat" and "Diamonds" stand out for having well-crafted lines and imagery. The supplementalThis is a decent album that reminds me of a Wes Anderson film that has not yet been made. The comparisons between Sean Lennon and his father are unavoidable; I mean, they're related. I don't understand the criticism that Sean is "trying to hard to be his dad." The lyrics on "Friendly Fire" , "Dead Meat" and "Diamonds" stand out for having well-crafted lines and imagery. The supplemental DVD that comes with most editions of the album transforms the songs into a cohesive artistic expression. Overall, this is more of an "experience" than an album. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Friendly Fire has the same feel as Into the Sun: namely, it's a pleasant but forgettable arty pop record made by a guy who has some promise but little discipline.
  2. The melodies and production are top-notch, even if, lyrically, the album’s motifs barely move from sullen dismay to cheery dismay.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    63
    At first it seems fairly plain, built around Lennon's thin voice (friendly, if lacking fire)....Yet there's more to the album, most explicitly in the spiked words -- troubled, uncertain, seeking security in an impermanent world. [24 Sep 2006]