Fundamental

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. b
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    politics+war+humor+heartache+perfect
  2. VladivostokDan
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Very nice album.I happen to like every tune!!!At leest some quality in these years.Finaly the good music is returnining thorough them.
  3. JamesO
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    These guys are among the most under rated musicians of the past twenty plus years. Well crafted music, with intelligent lyrics. What's not to like. If some of the singles off this album get some radio play, watch out, the boys could be back.
  4. ZN
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    Astonishing
  5. JayB
    Jul 6, 2006
    4
    I've heard the comparisons to Very, but I personally don't think Fundamental holds up to it. The album starts off with great song that really draws me in, but it starts to lose me as the album goes on.
  6. CliffordF
    Mar 27, 2007
    9
    I love the beats to the album. They are quick, hip and great to listen to anytime. Songs such as I'm with Stupid, The Sodom and Gomorrah Show and Integral are the hghlight tracks on this good achievement.
  7. BrandonM
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Excellent album! I enjoyed their last album, Release, but this is even better than that album! It has a retro feel to it, moreso than their other albums. The PSB's have always seemed ahead of the game with their brand of electronic pop, but this is a bit of a step back. Usually, that's a bad thing, but the PSB's pull it off wonderfully here. There are a few tracks here that Excellent album! I enjoyed their last album, Release, but this is even better than that album! It has a retro feel to it, moreso than their other albums. The PSB's have always seemed ahead of the game with their brand of electronic pop, but this is a bit of a step back. Usually, that's a bad thing, but the PSB's pull it off wonderfully here. There are a few tracks here that are obviously political and they do a great job with not beating your head with overt-political attacks. Great stuff! Expand
  8. JohnB
    Jun 27, 2006
    8
    "Psychological", "20th Century" and "I Made My Excuses And Left" are instant classics!
  9. Markp
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Not one bad song on it!! Iput it in the player and go from start to finish without once hiting the skip on my remote!!!!!! I don't know about you guys but I have only a hand full of CDs that i can say that about!!!!!!!
  10. RK
    Jun 27, 2006
    5
    I don't get what all the hoopla is about. I am a lifelong PSB fan, and I think this is the weakest album they have put out in years and years. It's sad, I really wanted to like it.
  11. CraigFB
    Jun 30, 2006
    5
    to hear the lp that SHOULD have been released, keep an eye out for the limited edition double cd featuring remixes by Richard X, Michael Mayer etc...PSB's obviously were not totally sold on Trevor Horn's basic production, and wanted to give more sophisticated fans somethng fresher.
  12. AlexP
    Jul 10, 2006
    7
    It's a solid album with a couple of really good songs, but it doesn't compare to Very at all. I am enjoying my time listening to it, but I don't think it'll have much longevity.
  13. DougM
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    lacks the romance of 'Very', no great love song like"liberation". The Sodom and Gomorrah Show stays in my head like a bad dream. There's nothing to match "young offender" either. Still quite good.
  14. MauriceR
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    They're Back!!! Awesome.
  15. MisterMac
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    over-the top, fun, and slightly sinister; everything a PSB album should be. Not up there with the heights of "VERY" but very solid, with the exception of "numb" which I skip over.
  16. RussellS
    Jul 8, 2006
    8
    Like a representative sampler of all the things they do well, this album will not so much recruit new fans as keep the ones they have. Like their whimiscal and mischevious countrymates New Order, PSB are showing their age. Unlike NO who write the occassional tremendous song among many average ones, the PSB create more consistent rewarding material, more often than not. Their ambition does Like a representative sampler of all the things they do well, this album will not so much recruit new fans as keep the ones they have. Like their whimiscal and mischevious countrymates New Order, PSB are showing their age. Unlike NO who write the occassional tremendous song among many average ones, the PSB create more consistent rewarding material, more often than not. Their ambition does not exceed their grasp where as NO usually can't be bothered. Fundamental is solid effort from start to finish and while not a Very or Behavior, it remains Essential. Being back does not apply. They never left as the album shows. They do this, or that, or mix it all together - opulent, theatrical, and a thing of beauty. As Tennat once said "camp is not a row of tents". Expand
  17. DanR
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing, such enjoyable electro-pop with such depth. Possibily one of the most accomplished pop acts of all time.
  18. JamieM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Pet Shop Boys are amazing. This latest work is no less great and fun then any of their other work over the past 2 decades (is that 3 now?) It is like a soundtrack to life. Keep it up boys!
  19. mikhail
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year.
  20. AndyM
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Utterly brilliant and back to their best.
  21. RashP
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    A stunning return to form - thei Pet Shop Boys best album since 'Behaviour'? Possibly!. The tracks cover high energy electro pop, moody mid-tempo numbers and mournful ballads .. all tunes feature smart lyrics and are topped off with fantastic production by Trevor Horn.
  22. KeyonT.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    Good to hear they're back. Much, much better than the recent series lackluster albums before this.
  23. GregoryB
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    solid. I thought Release was quite a let down, and Behavior is one of my favorites. The sparks were just not flying, but with fundemental the ship has definitely been righted. Solid hooks, great melodies, some lyrics laughable, but all in all a solid effort. I'm happy to say unlike other artists that have fallen in their last efforts like the Cure for instance, PSB have restored my solid. I thought Release was quite a let down, and Behavior is one of my favorites. The sparks were just not flying, but with fundemental the ship has definitely been righted. Solid hooks, great melodies, some lyrics laughable, but all in all a solid effort. I'm happy to say unlike other artists that have fallen in their last efforts like the Cure for instance, PSB have restored my faith with this album and have reminded me why I loved them in the first place. Expand
  24. keelerc
    Jul 25, 2006
    3
    okay; damnation you can dance to. I'm sure this CD is popular in hell. Bleah.
  25. rottencabbage
    Aug 25, 2006
    8
    Delightful, campy and endlessly entertaining.
  26. Mary
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    One of their best.
  27. May 14, 2014
    4
    I hate all synthpop actually but I really loved the song Minimal, it has good beats and is dreamy it's not like the other songs on this album. I don't like Pet Shop Boys but Minimal is a really awesome song.
  28. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    Fundamental is Fundamental hahahahahahahaha,
    Okey this joke was a ****
    But this album is Great...
    The Sodom And Gomorrow Show,Integral,Indefinite Leave To Remain,Casanova In Hell,Numb and Twentieth Century,I Made My Excuses And Left,God Willing,Luna Park and I'm With Stupid Are absolute great songs of PSB Career
  29. Apr 2, 2016
    10
    ..........................................................................Fundamental.............................................Of...............................PSB.........................................................................Is........Fundamental.................For The.............Music.................
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. "Fundamental" is the sound of the Pet Shop Boys reborn, and mindful of the important role they fill in the pop family.
  2. Mojo
    40
    [An] underwhelming collection of moderately sweeping, mildly elegant arena pop. [Jun 2006, p.108]
  3. Fundamental is the thinking person's electropop album of 2006 so far.