Fundamental Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trevor Horn produced the duo's first album in four years, hailed by some critics as a return to their peak 1980's form.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The Pet Shop Boys' best album in over a decade, sitting neatly between their previous career highpoints of Very and Behaviour.
  2. Fundamental offers pleasure as rewarding as The Magic Mountain or Glenlivet 18--indulgences best enjoyed as you approach the half-century mark, when your imagination is keen to leisured elongations of familiar tropes or newly appreciative of exotic sumptuousness.
  3. It would be unthinkable to imagine a more pleasurable listen coming along in 2006.
  4. 80
    Like Confessions on a Dance Floor, Fundamental uses squelchy electro-disco grooves that smuggle sly pop-culture commentary. [Aug 2006, p.83]
  5. "Fundamental" is the sound of the Pet Shop Boys reborn, and mindful of the important role they fill in the pop family.
  6. Much of it seems strangely blank, neither great nor at all sub-par.
  7. 40
    [An] underwhelming collection of moderately sweeping, mildly elegant arena pop. [Jun 2006, p.108]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. VladivostokDan
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Very nice album.I happen to like every tune!!!At leest some quality in these years.Finaly the good music is returnining thorough them.
  2. Mary
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    One of their best.
  3. JamieM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Pet Shop Boys are amazing. This latest work is no less great and fun then any of their other work over the past 2 decades (is that 3 now?) It Pet Shop Boys are amazing. This latest work is no less great and fun then any of their other work over the past 2 decades (is that 3 now?) It is like a soundtrack to life. Keep it up boys! Collapse
  4. KeyonT.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    Good to hear they're back. Much, much better than the recent series lackluster albums before this.
  5. GregoryB
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    solid. I thought Release was quite a let down, and Behavior is one of my favorites. The sparks were just not flying, but with fundemental the solid. I thought Release was quite a let down, and Behavior is one of my favorites. The sparks were just not flying, but with fundemental the ship has definitely been righted. Solid hooks, great melodies, some lyrics laughable, but all in all a solid effort. I'm happy to say unlike other artists that have fallen in their last efforts like the Cure for instance, PSB have restored my faith with this album and have reminded me why I loved them in the first place. Expand
  6. JohnB
    Jun 27, 2006
    8
    "Psychological", "20th Century" and "I Made My Excuses And Left" are instant classics!
  7. keelerc
    Jul 25, 2006
    3
    okay; damnation you can dance to. I'm sure this CD is popular in hell. Bleah.

See all 27 User Reviews