Funplex

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AceE.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Awesome album. Love it, give it a chance.
  2. NickA.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! I'm in love with the B-52's all over again. I was only 10 when their last album was released, I never thought I'd see them come back, and with such an amazing album! I love the harsh electronic sound in some of the tracks, they have done an excellent job integrating a modern dance sound to their genius time proven formula for rocking party music! Every track on Brilliant! I'm in love with the B-52's all over again. I was only 10 when their last album was released, I never thought I'd see them come back, and with such an amazing album! I love the harsh electronic sound in some of the tracks, they have done an excellent job integrating a modern dance sound to their genius time proven formula for rocking party music! Every track on this album is as fun and exciting as their best songs from the past. Keep doing what you're doing cause you're doing it right, keep doing what you're doing cause it's what we like! Expand
  3. MikeR.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    I love this CD and have played it over and over since I got it. No one sings as well and harmonizes as well as Kate and Cindy. I like all of the songs, but my favorites are: Pump, Ultraviolet, Juliet of the Spirits (awesome!), Funplex, Eyes Wide Open and Love in the Year 3000.
  4. EricM.
    Apr 1, 2008
    7
    Jeez, these negative reviews must have been written by some seriously boring people who are too worried about seeming cooler-than-thou to actually ever have fun.
  5. Bruce
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Infectous, fun, and featuring some of the best melodic hooks and harmonies Kate and Cindy have ever generated. It's too easy to miss the point of the B-52s and disregard their talent for making some of the most exuberant party anthems the past thirty years have seen. The more I spin this album, the more I fall wholeheartedly for its undeniable charm and sheer catchiness. Nothing but Infectous, fun, and featuring some of the best melodic hooks and harmonies Kate and Cindy have ever generated. It's too easy to miss the point of the B-52s and disregard their talent for making some of the most exuberant party anthems the past thirty years have seen. The more I spin this album, the more I fall wholeheartedly for its undeniable charm and sheer catchiness. Nothing but love for Funplex. Expand
  6. TinaC.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    I'm a fan of the Bs from years back and I had concerns that Funplex would be tired. I was wrong. This is an excellent album, made all the better for Cindy's return. There are a couple of weaker tracks, but you get that on all albums. On the whole, this is excellent and I hope lots of people get to enjoy it.
  7. JamesK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Just so so so much better than we had any right to expect after 16 years away. For my money it's better than anything they've done since Wild Planet. If you don't like the B-52s just deal with it and move on. If you do like them you'll love this. BTW it's great to have Cindy back!
  8. JoeyM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    The B-52s have managed to create an album that stays true to their classic sound while incorporating some trends in popular dance music. The album is fun, dance-able and a proud addition to their canon. That they were able to do this 16 years after their last album is all the more impressive. In my opinion, the only reason one might argue that these songs sound like copies of their older The B-52s have managed to create an album that stays true to their classic sound while incorporating some trends in popular dance music. The album is fun, dance-able and a proud addition to their canon. That they were able to do this 16 years after their last album is all the more impressive. In my opinion, the only reason one might argue that these songs sound like copies of their older songs is because their vocal styles are distinctive. While the songs are great fun, they don't sound like retreads of earlier work. Stand out tracks include "Pump," "Juliet of the Spirits" and "Eyes Wide Open." Expand
  9. Redlight
    Mar 27, 2008
    7
    It may not be good enough to sit on the same shelf as their best efforts (the self-titled, Wild Planet and Cosmic Thing) but it does have some fabulous moments: Juliet of the Spirits flirts successfully with both Summer of Love and Roam; Funplex is sublime silliness - the harmonies of Pierson and Wilson are just divine; Eyes Wide Open hearkens back to the dark funk of the band's It may not be good enough to sit on the same shelf as their best efforts (the self-titled, Wild Planet and Cosmic Thing) but it does have some fabulous moments: Juliet of the Spirits flirts successfully with both Summer of Love and Roam; Funplex is sublime silliness - the harmonies of Pierson and Wilson are just divine; Eyes Wide Open hearkens back to the dark funk of the band's Mesopotamia days; Pump could be a grindhouse movie theme tune; Hot Corner is another B-movie party anthem and while Dancing Now is not up there with vintage B-52's, it does have that tint of sadness that they have accomplished so well on select songs throughout their career (namely Topaz). Some misfires are present (Love in the Year 3000 particularly) but at least the album itself does manage to do one thing right: it's a million times better than Good Stuff. Expand
  10. KenH.
    Mar 28, 2008
    6
    There's an awful lot of forgettable filler tracks on here. I wanted to love this CD but their older stuff is just so much better than what we get. Bummer.
  11. SeanE.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    The B-52s have created an album that sounds like both the history and future of rock and roll, and still they sound like no one else. Funplex is simply brilliant.
  12. NickW.
    Mar 25, 2008
    6
    The title track is subtle in it's subversity, where by the end you get an ultimate meltdown of a type: 'I'm looking for love, media overload, confusion, I need drugs'. Beautifully disappointed, yet socially adroit once you get past the loud rock hooks. Then, there are some tunes that take a stab at the modern 'neu wave' synth/proto punk rock for safety. Kudos The title track is subtle in it's subversity, where by the end you get an ultimate meltdown of a type: 'I'm looking for love, media overload, confusion, I need drugs'. Beautifully disappointed, yet socially adroit once you get past the loud rock hooks. Then, there are some tunes that take a stab at the modern 'neu wave' synth/proto punk rock for safety. Kudos for having Steve Oborne on board--I loved his work with curve and doves. His work is not to be ignored, but the band sounds not as if they phoned in their performances, but as if they e-mailed them. When it comes to the B-52's I don't want them reaching for an audience, I just want them to 'tell it like it t-i is'. Expand
  13. NeilL.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    Wow, this CD is absolutely 100% awesome. I'm glad I purchased it on the day of its release. The B-52's sound revitalized and as great as they always have. This is a really fun record. I can tell already that I'll be listening to this album for months - all the way into the heart of the summer.
  14. IgorC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    This is an excellent come back for the B-52's! So much positive and fun energy throughout the album!
  15. RafaelC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    In a time when music is harsh, canned, and over produced the B-52s slam you hard and good..It's just what we need here, now, today. You'll feel guilty for lovin it so much, but go ahead thats what all good sinful pleasures do. There's not a single throw away song on this album.
  16. RufusH.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Hot old school B-52s rockin' on this disc! Screw what the critics have to say - they can't dance this mess around anyway!
  17. RonT.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Funplex is just awesome! The hardcore fanbase, those of us who have followed the band since 1978, absolutely love this album by almost 10-1! That says alot after a 16 year recording hiatus. Metacritic score of 60 something is absolutely off base!
  18. DerekG.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Despite a couple of weak tracks, overall it's a fantastic album. Although I don't know what kind of studio wizardry could make Cindy sound so young.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Their first album in 16 years aims to achieve a similar blend of the edgy, catchy and commercial. And it does just that with 'Eyes Wide Open,' which features a synth loop that sounds like the Magical Musical Thing toy of the ’70s, then blossoms with the bright harmonies of Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson.
  2. Out of the blue and virtually as fun as a party out of bounds, Funplex is a dee-lightful reunion record.
  3. 60
    Best enjoyed in the privacy of home. [Apr 2008, p.76]