Future This - The Big Pink
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    I don't know why there's so much hate for this record, I really don't. I can see where most people wouldn't say it's better than A Brief History of Love but really, it's not some completely bad album that's not worth checking out. I really loved it and I don't get why there's such universal dislike.

    I'd even go as far as to say it might be a little better than their first album. It
    doesn't have a "Velvet" but it's more consistent and well developed. It's something new, it's worth listening to. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    Half of the tracks are really good, while others are dragging the beat too much. My favorites would be "Hit The Ground (Superman)" and "Rubbernecking". It's fair to say that it has really awesome tracks filled with classy beats and hipster coolness to surround your parties with uplifting aura. I listened to the whole album twice and only six stood out.
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    2
    'Future This' is an unoriginal attempt at recreating the success of the Big Pink's one chart hit 'Dominoes' and every song fails at that. There is very little to like about this album, including the fact that there is no good song, and instead it sounds like a bunch of people who have no idea what they are doing. This album redefines awkwardness and ends up becoming the perfect example of what you don't want to do on your second album. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    A real hit and miss album. When it hits, your ears are filled with snazzy, elctropop goodness that tickles your eardrums. And other points of the album you are met with not fully realized material that often leaves you wanting for more. An interesting listen for those looking for something different and interesting, but ultimately it is just a mixed bag of music that you are left to sift through and find the gems. Collapse
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    Great record and better than their debut album. "Hit the ground" and "Stay gold" are their best songs yet and this sophomore release is surely worth the listen.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    Perhaps keen to avoid their one-hit wonder status, follow-up Future This eschews their original experimental ambitions by shamelessly attempting to repeat its success.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    The album's middle section treads water--'The Palace' passes by without making any impression whatsoever, '1313′ sounds like a more conventional Panda Bear--and then it all goes tits up.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    50
    It's the inconsistency of Future This--particularly the band's newfound tenderness vs. Their miscalculated explosions of noise--that make it a largely baffling listen.