Future This - The Big Pink
Future This Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the British duo was produced by Paul Epworth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. 83
    The U.K. duo's latest, produced by indie kingmaker Paul Epworth (Adele), updates the best of '80s shoegaze with breakbeat rhythms and arena-worthy choruses.
  2. Jan 13, 2012
    70
    As the sound of a band still in development mode and not quite sure of their identity, Future This offers a lucid insight into where their next sonic adventure may take them.
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    Perhaps keen to avoid their one-hit wonder status, follow-up Future This eschews their original experimental ambitions by shamelessly attempting to repeat its success.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    60
    The result is an album with chart-worthy songs that are uncomfortably familiar at times and a touch low on risk.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    52
    Where the Big Pink previously sounded invincible, nearly every attempt to intellectualize or streamline their sound makes Future This come off as timid and malnourished.
  6. 50
    The Big Pink's insistence on keeping their amplifiers and ambition turned all the way up to 11 for the length of Future This makes for a decidedly dull listen and one that'll leave many fans hoping that the band will scale things back for album number three.
  7. Future This is stuck in some kind of awful, awful limbo between Robert Smith-less Cure and hyperbolic electro dance music.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    Great record and better than their debut album. "Hit the ground" and "Stay gold" are their best songs yet and this sophomore release is surely worth the listen. Collapse
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    I don't know why there's so much hate for this record, I really don't. I can see where most people wouldn't say it's better than A Brief History of Love but really, it's not some completely bad album that's not worth checking out. I really loved it and I don't get why there's such universal dislike.

    I'd even go as far as to say it might be a little better than their first album. It doesn't have a "Velvet" but it's more consistent and well developed. It's something new, it's worth listening to.
    Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    Half of the tracks are really good, while others are dragging the beat too much. My favorites would be "Hit The Ground (Superman)" and "Rubbernecking". It's fair to say that it has really awesome tracks filled with classy beats and hipster coolness to surround your parties with uplifting aura. I listened to the whole album twice and only six stood out. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    A real hit and miss album. When it hits, your ears are filled with snazzy, elctropop goodness that tickles your eardrums. And other points of the album you are met with not fully realized material that often leaves you wanting for more. An interesting listen for those looking for something different and interesting, but ultimately it is just a mixed bag of music that you are left to sift through and find the gems. Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    2
    'Future This' is an unoriginal attempt at recreating the success of the Big Pink's one chart hit 'Dominoes' and every song fails at that. There is very little to like about this album, including the fact that there is no good song, and instead it sounds like a bunch of people who have no idea what they are doing. This album redefines awkwardness and ends up becoming the perfect example of what you don't want to do on your second album. Expand