• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 76
  2. Negative: 1 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CrabsodyInBlue
    Sep 30, 2006
    5
    I don't understan why this album had better reviews than "idlewild". It's not bad but nothing special either
  2. Spongeee
    Oct 9, 2006
    5
    The Roots are talented, but they will forever lack the ability to make 'songs' and not these weak, simple, 'real hip hop' jam sessions they call songs. Things Fall Apart was their apex...its been all downhill since. I rather watch them live, but as far as albums...they need to learn to make songs cause theyre wasting talent. And yes Idlewild was far better.
  3. jays
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    without question, the best album i've heard this year from any genre
  4. Nikola
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    This album takes The Roots beyond the Jupiter and to the infinity, cause that courage, good ideas, great melodias, brutaly honest lyrics i did not heard since the "It Takes The Nation Of Millions". Maybe i overated, but The Roots are exactly waht their name said, the roots of the futerue music if not the futre itself.
  5. justicenone
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    well ahead of its time..
  6. Haterade
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    I slept on this album for sure...Best album since Things Fall Apart. Comparablel to OutKast's ATLiens because its one of those you listen from start to end...everything is seemless from song to song. The only thing better than this album would be a recorded live album like Things Come Alive. Dont sleep on it!
  7. eparsons
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    one of the most ambitious, different, loud, nervewrecking albums this year so far. and it sounds beautiful. sonically and technically. to the trained ear and the casual one. great hip hop.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Incredible. Track 5 (In Da Music) is the standout.
  9. PhilipA
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    As always The Roots never disappoint. the nevr stop being creative, and the never let true hip hop fans down. The Roots have not only out done themselves, they have continued a trend of always trying something new and making it a work of art. If ever you meet someone and they say that they don't like hip hop, take them to a music store near you and buy them a copy of Game Theory. As always The Roots never disappoint. the nevr stop being creative, and the never let true hip hop fans down. The Roots have not only out done themselves, they have continued a trend of always trying something new and making it a work of art. If ever you meet someone and they say that they don't like hip hop, take them to a music store near you and buy them a copy of Game Theory. Their perspective will not only change, so too will their musical taste. Expand
  10. ChadM
    Sep 1, 2006
    7
    Another solid outing from The Roots. I was quite excited to pick this one up when I heard all the positive reviews and usually when that happens I tend to be disappointed. This is a great listen and entertaining.
  11. BryanW
    Sep 18, 2006
    8
    Their best record since 'Things Fall Apart'
  12. thomasm
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    absolute classic album, finally a rap act who isnt just focusing on club songs, great lyricism and substance all the way through
  13. KrishB.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    The Roots have done it again. Now that they have moved to a decent record label they have shown their true intentions for hip-hop and i have to say that it is absolutely amazing.
  14. RadoslavP.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Incredible - borders gendre,rase,coolor and religion - everythnig for everyone.
  15. AdrianR
    Nov 25, 2006
    7
    Not diggin the hype this album is gettin. Possibly 5 or 6 listenable tracks. Pleanty o skip material (cures for insomnia) but a few gems like Here I Come, In the Music, Long Time, and Game Theory..."Downtown Philly where it's riiiila than a heart atack!". Production and rhyming otherwise is iffy if not just plain absent.
  16. steve
    Oct 13, 2006
    9
    fantastic effort from the roots crew. the overall sound of the album is amazing and snippets from "it takes a nation of millions" only drive home the point that the roots area band with a message. black thought is one of the best out there.
  17. MikeyAP
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    I was never into the roots too much, but I picked this album up because I've always wanted to be. I like the thought of a real band in hip hop, playing their own instruments. Well, there's no denying it now. "Game Theory" is so brillant it's mind changing.
  18. justins
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    easily the hip-hop album of the year and a strong contender for album of the year proper. brilliant production and musicianship with incendiary performances from the emcees, this album not to be missed!
  19. BurkeK
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Hip-Hop album of the year
  20. DavidN
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    Immediate and with plenty of variation while ditching the filler. Definitely their best since "Things Fall Apart" and probably better. Loving "Long Time" (especially the line where Peedi P says "it started in the bathroom, takin' a dump" ) and "Baby"
  21. aki
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    Great beats, intelligent lyrics, and an organic sound make for an amazing album.
  22. SethC
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    the roots have finally made an album you can leave on repeat for days. 'in the music' may sound a little like limp bizkit, but besides that, this record is near perfect, with a perfect last track. way to go, roots.
  23. Bryan
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Everything and anything that a hip-hop fan could want. A dynamic, paranoid and angry record that never pulls any punches. Easily among the band's best efforts, this album stands out.
  24. CosmoD.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    Best Hip Hop album of 06, people need to hear this shit because once i listened through it a few times the shit was unbelievable.
  25. TorreyD
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    I Could Not Believe This Album did not win the best rap album at the funckin grammy's nuff said
  26. MikeM
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    The Greatest Roots Album there is. Loving everything by the roots this has a certain something that all the others dont have. Even though all are great this tops them all.
  27. HappyC
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    Best hip-hop album of 2006, by far!
  28. AhmirT
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    my best effort
  29. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    9
    Part of what I am calling an apparent Alt. Hip-Hop Renaissance, The Roots are up there with Subtle and TV On The Radio as stand out artists of the genre to release albums this year.
  30. SeamusF
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    If you were disappointed by "Tipping Point" and "Phrenology," then "Game Theory" is a great reason to return to your Roots. It eschews the "maturity" of the last two records, and achieves a new paranoid darkness that the band wears well, with excellent guest appearances and a reverent flow. In short, their best record since "Things Fall Apart."
  31. Benj
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Gives goosebumps (especially when the bass line thumps). ?uestlove is truely the world's eight wonder!
  32. G
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Brooding and brilliant.
  33. TaylorF
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    This is absolutely the best album this very prolific group has ever composed. Not because any one track is necessarily leaps and bounds above any other single. Its simply a very fullfilling and wholesome listen for a good 50 minutes. It feels confortable even 3 songs into the first listen. Immediately fullfilling with plenty of stuff to chew on later too. WOW!!!!
  34. LouizandreD
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    I became a follower after I picked up "Do You Want More?!!!??!" I've stayed dedicated to The Roots through all the high times and low times. After "Phrenology" and "The Tipping Point" I stuck with them but my confidence was shaken. Now enters "Game Theory". As always, I waited outside the music store until they finally opened the doors and threw it into my stereo the moment I got I became a follower after I picked up "Do You Want More?!!!??!" I've stayed dedicated to The Roots through all the high times and low times. After "Phrenology" and "The Tipping Point" I stuck with them but my confidence was shaken. Now enters "Game Theory". As always, I waited outside the music store until they finally opened the doors and threw it into my stereo the moment I got home. The result: My confidence is no longer shaken. The Roots are better than ever. Collapse
  35. pgg
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    one of the best hip hop acts putting out what might be their best album... it's wierd that it's so late after we thought we saw their best... could they even get better???
  36. JBone
    Sep 15, 2006
    6
    A lot of high votes for this one, I see. I'm not really sure why, for me there are only about 4 decent tracks on the album. Better than the last one I suppose, at least.
  37. LawrenceP
    Sep 21, 2006
    9
    Fav track is the groovy #122 "Long Time" The Roots are still to cool for you and me.
  38. Hein
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    What wonderfull Hip-Hop band. Warm, intelligent and soulfull. Things Fall Apart is undoubtedly their best record. And in my opinion the best Hip-Hop record ever made. But this record approaches Things Fall Apart. Every The Roorts record is a present. Greetings from The Netherlands, Hein.
  39. ZakT
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    I don't even like rap and I think this album is the sh*t.
  40. LiamR
    Nov 25, 2006
    7
    Ppl saying this album is in any way political or philosofical should get their heads checked cause they b dead wrong.
  41. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Dark, exciting new territory for the Philadelphia based band.
  42. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    I dont know what happened to the Roots before Undun but this album wasnt nearly good. They couldnt make this album a classic and it disappoints me because im a huge Roots fan. But at least we have classics like "Undun" & Phrenology
  43. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    This is my favorite Roots album. It's listenable from start to finish. It never dips off and "Don't Feel Right", "Long Time", and "Atonement" take the experience to the next level.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 80
    Like prior Roots albums, Game Theory boasts top-notch craftsmanship... but it's continuity that makes this album unique. [Sep 2006, p.211]
  2. "Game Theory" helps rescue a remarkably anemic hip-hop summer. [20 Aug 2006]
  3. It's all ghetto vérité and political paranoia, with claustrophobic production to match the doom and gloom.