Girl on Fire - Alicia Keys
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 79
  2. Negative: 10 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    Maybe on the cover is written Girl on Fire, but this is an album by woman and for woman.

    It is beautiful, strong, and so grown up. From fierce ballad "Brand New Me", almost jazzy ambiental "When it’s All Over" and "Listen to Your Heart" to upbeat "New Day" and Inferno version of "Girl on Fire" with Nicki Minaj to set of four ballads: "Fire We Make" (duet with Maxwell), "Tears Always
    Win", "Not Even the King" and "That’s When I Knew". Album ends with Beyonce-sque "Limitedless", soft ballads "One Thing" and "101" with hidden outro.

    It is a bit different from her previous albums (as intro "De Novo Adagio" warns me of that), but I like it very much. Thing that got my attention is cohesiveness of album which (to me) gives appearance of “spilling” songs into each other which is amazing. Also like it is divided into three parts – first six songs being first, block of ballads being second and last three songs with outro last one.
    First part really carries the album, where we met this new, strong and independent woman who is learned to learn from her mistakes, who is satisfied with herself and does not want to waste time. She wants it all, and she wants it now. This part peaks with Inferno version of Girl on Fire dominated by drum beat and Nicki Minay raping. And I must say I adore the way Alicia says fire – like two-syllable damn =). I am slowly beginning to be addicted to this song.
    Second part is more like old Alicia. Piano and Alicia, accurately. Well, and Maxwell in "Fire We Make". Just to calm things a bit before goes third part and "Limitedless" shakes us up. Last song on album is "101" and magnificently massive outro which could easily be part of Don Davis’ Matrix.
    Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    after the great "The element of freedom" expecting another great album from the great Alicia Keys, however "Girl on Fire" fails to catch as does its predecessor.
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Good album from very talented Alicia, i liked it. It was not as amazing as some of her previous work, but still good. Girl on fire is the best song, even with Nicki Minaj, and Brand new me is also very good.
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    A Great Album! One Of Alicia' Best Albums!
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    Many beautiful songs such as "One Thing" "Brand New Me" "That's when I knew" really keep me spellbound. AK's got a great voice and gives a good vocal performance on this album although I think she can do better. But there are also some real boring and sleepy tracks like "limitedless" and "Listen to your heart". But still, it's a enjoyable album.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    Alicia Keys is one of my favorite singer, and her previous efforts is reminiscent of 70's style R&B. Girl on Fire is a proclamation on Keys' so called 'greater' creative freedom, taking on a sole producing effort. The end result is a more cohesive album, but lacking the melodical genius that she is renowned for. As the album moves along, songs are pleasant enough but unmemorable. It's commendable body of work of course, but not her best. Collapse
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    This is one of the worst songs I think I have ever heard. There is no creativity in this song. What's happening in the music biz, very selective artists are left with true talent. Now back to muse. That's creativity.
  8. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Alicia once again, prove why is one of the most and greatest artists of new generation... This album is amazing. Every track... every lyric... it's crazy!! We felling the emotion of his voice. She's so wonderful... I love her.

    My favorite song? ALL, for sure.
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    From the intimacy of NEAK, BNM, and 101 to the midtempos of When Its All Over, Listen to Your Heart, and Limitedless, GOF gives its listeners everything and then some. Perfect album from an amazing musician. I couldnt ask for more, but maybe more songs!
  10. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this album very much. Its creative and interesting, while going back to her roots at the same time. Her vocals, as usual, are amazing and dynamic. Im a huge fan of Alicia Keys, but bad song writing, and over the top poppy producing seem to get in the way of simply enjoying her voice. This time around I can say it is Alicia Keys who shines through, and she has never sounded better.
  11. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    fresh, cool, I love the album: it's the first time I listen to an AK album entirely. my favorite songs are New Day, When It's All Over & Brand New Me. I love Jazz, and there's a Jazzy mood in this album. I love it !
    There's no low point; I enjoyed each song; It's great when an artist can have its own direction like that.
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Her vocal style and musicianship get better and better with each album. I would have assumed that a pop artist like her would get more and more generic, but instead she keeps pouring out her heart in new and creative ways. The way she hits those keys and uses that voice is just unbelievable.
  13. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    I really like it. It is totally beautiful Alicia Keys awesomeness. Well written songs paired with a few songs catered for the radio.The critics must be tripping on something.
  14. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Such a lovely album and breathe of fresh air , the singles are by far the weakest tracks on the album ,stand out tracks are "One Thing" , "When Its all Over" , "Fire We Make" and "Brand New Me"
  15. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Something's gone awry when the singles are the weakest tracks on the album. As weak as the singles are lyrically ("looks like a girl, but she's a flame" from the title track), they fit well in the musical landscape that Keys has painted. Easily the most consistent and cohesive set of songs we've heard from Keys, "Girl on Fire" moves effortlessly from piano ballads ("Brand New Me") to Jamie XX ("When It's All Over"), to synth-heavy groove "Listen to Your Heart". Some have lamented Keys' refusal to truly open up in the past, and they will likely find plenty wrong with another album where she keeps the listeners at arms length, mostly. But look harder at the thematic elements of a few tracks and you'll see that she's subtly addressing the things that have been said about her. For example, "101" is a thinly veiled dig at the naysayers regarding her relationship with the notoriously unfaithful Swizz Beatz. Not to mention that it sounds fantastic. "Not Even The King", while certainly not currently personal for Keys, finds her at her most intimate on a recording, stopping to sit down, breathe, and push the pedal down before beginning the future nominee for Song of The Year at the Grammy Awards. I'm a longtime Alicia Keys fan, disappointed with the last album of mostly filler music, and am really thrilled to see Keys back at the top of her game and turning out an album even better than "As I Am". Great music! Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    I like this album, great songs, Keys comes with kinda of different sound (like New Day, Girl on fire, Limitedless), but she sounds good on slower-piano ballads: Like Brand new me, listen your heart, fire we make, Not Even the King...
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    A girl on fire? Now and then--and inbetween times, she smoulders as well as ever. [Jan 2013, p.95]
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    No flame then, but her light shows no sign of going out. [Jan 2013, p.112]
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    Her technical brilliance remains stunning; it's now matched by her maturity and modernity. [Jan 2013, p.74]