Girls Can Tell

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    This is the album that really blew Spoon up to success. This a fantastic record. The songs were catchy and the lyrics had a lot of heart to them. Britt Daniel is a brilliant songwriter and lyricists. A-
  2. j30
    Feb 1, 2012
    8
    Spoon's well rounded Girls Can Tell is an exhilarating recording from start to finish. "Anything You Want", "Everything Hits At Once", and "Believing Is Art" are some of the best songs they're ever written.
  3. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    [9.7] With Girls Can Tell, Spoon easily has the most unconventionally impressive album of the early 2000's. While it is a much more traditional-rock inspired album than any of their future releases (and in some ways past releases), it constantly makes a point to be discretely eccentric (whereas their first releases were hindered by unorganized eccentricity). The quaint electronic[9.7] With Girls Can Tell, Spoon easily has the most unconventionally impressive album of the early 2000's. While it is a much more traditional-rock inspired album than any of their future releases (and in some ways past releases), it constantly makes a point to be discretely eccentric (whereas their first releases were hindered by unorganized eccentricity). The quaint electronic keyboards, the sharp guitar riffs, Britt's fiercely relaxed vocals (which become officially sexy as of this release), and consistent drums all make this record a uniquely satisfying listen. This is possibly the most important development of Spoon's discography. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    I just heard this album a month ago, 13 years after its release and the only thing I could think was: Why on earth, I haven't listen to this before!? It is amazing, is all you want from an "indie" rock band. It doesn't have The Strokes' city-ish mood, or Interpol's darkly elegance, it has a fun approach and also elegance but more in a casual sort of way.

    "Everything hits at once",
    I just heard this album a month ago, 13 years after its release and the only thing I could think was: Why on earth, I haven't listen to this before!? It is amazing, is all you want from an "indie" rock band. It doesn't have The Strokes' city-ish mood, or Interpol's darkly elegance, it has a fun approach and also elegance but more in a casual sort of way.

    "Everything hits at once", literally hit me since the first moment, it is so provocative with that funky keyboards, and that rock riff, and the simple rhythm section, that I only wanted more. After this, I heard every Spoon album, and seriously they really have a combination and collection of songs and albums worthy of the best of the past decade, obviously with Girls Can Tell as a flagship.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2015
    9
    Marking a turning point for the band as their major-label triumphant return, Girls Can Tell is thought of by many as merely a stepping stone to later works. That's not all there is to it, though- the seemingly simple stories told on Girls Can Tell were a comfortable emotional outlet for the band after prior shake-ups. 9.4/10
  6. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    tight. Builds and builds, relaxes and rocks its heart out repeatedly and it never feels awkward.

    I am going to fill the next 50 characters with this lol
  7. benben
    Jan 4, 2002
    9
    a great blend of alternative. good guitar and piano, great original sound!
  8. PaulQ
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    A great discovery !!!! One of the best pop-rock record of the ten last year !!!!
  9. JacquesDerrida
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    While this record features a sound that is completely different from almost all that is out there, it retains that sense of odd familiarity that true pop songs always have. Not at all like a Series of Sneaks, but by no means a step backwards. This is a band at the height of its creative powers.
  10. Gazcomsat
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    Forget "the Strokes" comparisons, this album is totally unique and just about perfect in every respect.
  11. BobbyJ
    Jul 10, 2006
    1
    i cant tell u how bad this album is
  12. NickI.
    Apr 17, 2001
    10
    Spoon is great. And if you like them try Starlight Mints, and Pavement.
  13. Robert
    Feb 15, 2002
    10
    It amazes me that bands like this don't get played more on the radio. They have an awesome sound is easily the best album of the year after The Strokes
  14. GaryD.
    Apr 29, 2002
    10
    Spare and elegant, but totally rock n' roll.
  15. ChelseaD
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    An amazing album from an amazing band.
  16. JerryL
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Forget 2001 - One of my top five all-time favorite records.
  17. DrewC
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Their most heartfelt and emotional release to date. Lyrically, my favorite of britt daniels'. This is the album that got me into spoon, such a great night album. :)
  18. WillC
    May 14, 2007
    10
    the first song, Everything Hits at Once, alone makes this album. The rest of the disc is consistent and enjoyable, with a great cap off in Chicago at Night. I often put this cd on and people don't realize its, a) spoon (is that the band that did 'The way we get by?', b) an album that hasn't spawned a top 40 hit. i dunno who missed this album when it came out, but it the first song, Everything Hits at Once, alone makes this album. The rest of the disc is consistent and enjoyable, with a great cap off in Chicago at Night. I often put this cd on and people don't realize its, a) spoon (is that the band that did 'The way we get by?', b) an album that hasn't spawned a top 40 hit. i dunno who missed this album when it came out, but it certainly isn't me and hopefully won't be you. Expand
  19. BobR
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    o_o;; a strokes comparison... how odd. Anyway, this album is full of surprises.
  20. JohnR
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    It's taken a few more listens to get into this album than it did with 'Kill the Moonlight' and 'Gimme Fiction' but patience reaps rewards aplenty. Every song is excellent and never outstays its welcome.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Spoon's most mature, accomplished work to date and a fine balance of fire and polish.
  2. Spoon is the best British band to come out of Austin, Texas.
  3. 90
    Spoon's 1998 album, A Series of Sneaks, was a near-perfect blend of elementary rock, sharp lyrics, and hooky melodies. On the band's just-released follow-up album, Girls Can Tell, the group manages to build upon the greatness of its previous effort.