Glitter

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Glitter Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Originally due in August 2001, Mariah Carey's debut for Virgin Records was delayed due to the singer's recent hospitalization, stemming from a nervous breakdown. It is her first album since 1999's 'Rainbow,' and it serves as the soundtrack to the movie of the same name (a 1980s period-pieceOriginally due in August 2001, Mariah Carey's debut for Virgin Records was delayed due to the singer's recent hospitalization, stemming from a nervous breakdown. It is her first album since 1999's 'Rainbow,' and it serves as the soundtrack to the movie of the same name (a 1980s period-piece also starring Carey). The disc includes two covers: "I Didn't Mean To Turn You On" and "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. While Carey has never been a particularly confessional musician, Glitter seems a step in a more cathartic direction, from which subsequent albums should no doubt benefit.
  2. Blender
    60
    After years of trading her signature flourishes for a radio-ready purr, she's left with almost no presence at all. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.118]
  3. The downside of Glitter is the downside of all Mariah Carey albums. They're called "ballads," and Mariah still likes them big and goopy, with zero melodic or emotional punch.
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    60
    While the album may have its flaws, it is for the most part a successful period piece that clearly displays Carey's appreciation for all that has come before her.
  5. ''Glitter'' is a mess, but its shameless genre hopping (and Carey's crash) makes it an unintentional concept album about the toll of relentless careerism.
  6. She throws so much sparkle, shine and, yes, glitter at us that even tracks about her friend's suicide and her recent breakup are as glossy as her latest publicity shot.
  7. Q Magazine
    40
    Glitter continues her slump from gifted to grievous via gratuitous power ballads, dismal disco/R&B and criminal covers of '80s classics. [Oct 2001, p.117]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    Despite everything that happened on September 11, the material had a great dance and retro footprint which was later used by Madonna, BrunnoDespite everything that happened on September 11, the material had a great dance and retro footprint which was later used by Madonna, Brunno Mars and others, it is amazing how she can go from one extreme to another. Expand
  2. carlas
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Love thisalbum because it sounds diferent. good party songs and beautiful ballads and uptempos. for me, it's one of the best of her carrer.
  3. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    A wronged album. Once for all, its one of the most inteligent work of pop music. The Way Mariahs wanted to make the music match with movie isA wronged album. Once for all, its one of the most inteligent work of pop music. The Way Mariahs wanted to make the music match with movie is so fantastic. And finally the best dance album of her, differentiating her from boring singer of R&B Like Celine Dion. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2016
    9
    Es un buen álbum, es bastante fresco y muy bailable, algo muy arriesgado para Mariah. Ella supo manejar bien el sonido del disco y adaptar lasEs un buen álbum, es bastante fresco y muy bailable, algo muy arriesgado para Mariah. Ella supo manejar bien el sonido del disco y adaptar las letras al ritmo de cada canción; tiene baladas buenas como "Lead The Way", "Never Too Far" y "Reflections (Care Enough)" y los covers de "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life" y "Didn't Mean Turn To You" quedan perfectamente con el sonido funk del álbum y versionó muy bien estas canciones. Hay otras canciones mas destacables como "If We", "All My Life", "Twister", "Don't Stop (Funkin' 4 Jamaica) y "Loverboy", el remix de la última es excelente pero a mi parecer me quedo con la original. En fin, es un álbum súper genial y creo que a nadie le pareció el nuevo sonido de Mariah y fusionaron con las críticas de la película. En verdad recomiendo este álbum, es muy bailable y a la vez íntimo. // It's a good album, it's pretty cool and very danceable, something very risky for Mariah. She was able to handle the sound of the album well and adapt the lyrics to the rhythm of each song; "Never Too Far" and "Reflections (Care Enough)" and the covers of "Last Night to DJ Saved My Life" and "Didn't Mean Turn To You" fit perfectly with Funk sound from the album and very well these songs. There are other notable songs like "If We", "All My Life", "Twister", "Don't Stop" (Funkin '4 Jamaica) and "Loverboy", the remix of the latter is excellent but I think With the original.In short, it's a super great album and I think that no one seemed to Mariah's new sound and merged with the reviews of the film.I really recommend this album, it is very danceable and intimate at the same time. Expand
  5. DawnK
    Nov 16, 2001
    8
    If you were a fan then, you'll still be a fan now, you won't be disappointed!!
  6. May 10, 2015
    7
    Released on September 11 by Virgin Records America in 2001, the horrific day we all remember when America was being attacked, the albumReleased on September 11 by Virgin Records America in 2001, the horrific day we all remember when America was being attacked, the album features a more upbeat sound and is more directive than her past efforts with Sony Music and Tommy Mottola (her ex-husband). Overall, the album is filled with too many songs that are unoriginal and that samples other songs from the past. Highlights of the album are "Loverboy (Remix)", "Don't Stop (Funkin' 4 Jamaica), and "Never Too Far". Expand
  7. EllenR.
    Sep 19, 2001
    1
    mariah should look inside herself and stop trying to be a teenybop star. showing alittle emotional depth(even if theres some insanity down mariah should look inside herself and stop trying to be a teenybop star. showing alittle emotional depth(even if theres some insanity down there)would be good for her down the road. shes as fake as her boobs. Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews