Go Away White

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WildAnimal
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    How many albums coming out now were done in first takes? That alone gives them a high score from me. They are much more accomplished musicians now and it shows. I love the part mid album about the missing solo! True artists!
  2. TomF.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    This is a brilliant farewell by a great band. It sounds just like where they left off 25 years ago, but with the maturity gained by continuing to make music the whole time. They did not try to modernize the band, or fit the sounds of today. This is pure Bauhaus circa 1980, and true fans couldn't ask for much more.
  3. ChrisW.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! As vital as anything they have ever done. Alas, even though they are no more, welcome back!
  4. GropiusWalter
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Great...what was the incident that canceled the touring?
  5. CaieL.
    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    Bauhaus has ranked in my top 5 of all time since I first heard them in 1987. I was naturally excited when I found out they were making a new album. This album has most of the hallmarks of Bauhaus but it is missing something, actually it has too much of something. Bauhuas, like their namesake, focused on function over form, stripping away the frivolity to produce a stark black and white Bauhaus has ranked in my top 5 of all time since I first heard them in 1987. I was naturally excited when I found out they were making a new album. This album has most of the hallmarks of Bauhaus but it is missing something, actually it has too much of something. Bauhuas, like their namesake, focused on function over form, stripping away the frivolity to produce a stark black and white soundscape. There are echoes of that for sure on this album, Saved, Mirror Remains and Black Stone Heart exhibit some of their former imagination with disjointed melodies and Daniel Ash's signature guitar, and sax work. As a whole it's a decent album, but take any song off of this album and play it next to Dark Entries, Silent Hedges or Slice of Life and you'll quickly the new songs missing that old Bauhaus magic. Expand
  6. BobV
    Dec 10, 2008
    8
    It's good Bauhaus. It's a bunch of old guys, so what can you expect? (I'm an old guy, too) -- it isn't groundbreaking -- that's for sure. It stands up very well with the rest of their (limited) work. I was very pleasantly surprised and the record has gone into my regular rotation. Nice work!
  7. RobertL.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    It's absolutely everything I would have wanted in another bauhaus album - and MORE!! Cheers! PLEASE do another...and another -- UNDEAD!
  8. gocitizen
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    For some reason, this CD actually sounds fresh in today's climate. Great music for then and now. This one is going in the jeep this Summer.
  9. Alessandro
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    I'm still trying to understand how old I am and where I am. Ah, my child's voice, and this, this is a pc. It' s seems all right, this music may come from some corner in my head or from a incubus. Fan-ta-s-tic.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It picks up right where Bauhaus left off: a wet dream for original fans and a blast of recognition for the newly eye-lined.
  2. Like true vampires, Bauhaus still manage to pull off being melodramatic and wickedly energetic even in old age. R.I.P. again.
  3. 70
    A tastefully matured Bauhaus produce enough fractured guitar and howling melodrama to wake the undead.