• Record Label: PIAS
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2011
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    An album about liberty, love and peace. A album which does justice to british political music. A masterpiece delivered with relentless passion. We Bros and Dirt being highlights of the album

    World unite Love you forever
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Extremely refreshing debut from these Mancunians. They seem to be having making music and would do very well to follow up with an excellent live performance. If only Kings Of Leon didn't become Queens of Lean they would be standing on Tom Waits' plateau by now. WU LYF aren't quite there, but they certainly have the air of serious fun-making.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Not feeling the album at all, it definitely isn't what I was expecting, they're are not there yet. Try again please and come back with something good that I can enjoy...
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    2
    Yesterday, 2011/10/09 i've been at the concert in Cologne, Germany (Gebäude 9). They come to stage and the singer Mr. Roberts played the most of the set with his back to the crowd. I love the sound, music and the 'message' of WU LYF, but they played only around 35-40 mins and at the end they blamed the crowd for not getting the right feeling this evening.
    Never seen a gig
    Yesterday, 2011/10/09 i've been at the concert in Cologne, Germany (Gebäude 9). They come to stage and the singer Mr. Roberts played the most of the set with his back to the crowd. I love the sound, music and the 'message' of WU LYF, but they played only around 35-40 mins and at the end they blamed the crowd for not getting the right feeling this evening.
    Never seen a gig like that before. It's a monster tour they are playing but that should never be the cause for such a bad gig.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    I will kid you, not. This is the best album I have heard in years. The song craft is incredible, the riffs are excellent and hook like the best of them and the voice... the voice! OK in three or four albums time that gruff scowl night tire but I'm sure that's what people said about Tom Waits too. This is an exquisite album. It is the first guitar album from the UK in ages to be drenched inI will kid you, not. This is the best album I have heard in years. The song craft is incredible, the riffs are excellent and hook like the best of them and the voice... the voice! OK in three or four albums time that gruff scowl night tire but I'm sure that's what people said about Tom Waits too. This is an exquisite album. It is the first guitar album from the UK in ages to be drenched in soul and belief. You can hear the church they recorded in, the press they've avoided and the lives they've led in every track. Awesome. Download 'We Bros' for a distillation of what this album is about. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    I can't say much about this album just that, after 10 or more re-listens that were motivated by the pure joy and emotion that I got from this album or the interest I got to get the album and come up with a thorough opinion I have to say I have a love hate relationship with the production. At time I absolutely love it. The vocals and guitars and percussion in this album just bounce off ofI can't say much about this album just that, after 10 or more re-listens that were motivated by the pure joy and emotion that I got from this album or the interest I got to get the album and come up with a thorough opinion I have to say I have a love hate relationship with the production. At time I absolutely love it. The vocals and guitars and percussion in this album just bounce off of each because of the church-like reverb. Then when I hear fantastic guitar riffs, I just wish to hear what they'd sound like with a tighter and cleaner production. But that feeling goes away quickly as soon as everything begins to bounce off each other again. I was thoroughly love this album. I think the vocals are great and appealing in the strangest way. Their "mysterious-ness" just adds to the whole aurora of the album. I love. "We Bros" will be one of my top tracks of this album as well as "Cave Song". "Spitting Blood" "Dirt" "Summas Bliss" "L Y F" and "Concrete Gold" are fantastic tracks as well. Great album. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Brilliant album, lives up to the media hype for the band. at the first the vocals can seem a bit jarring but after a couple of listens it all fits together, very excited to see what they'll do next.
  8. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    WU LYF might sound off-putting (those vocals!) but they are one of the most original acts out there at the moment. Their unique approach towards music can be found both in arrangements (swirling organ and percussion are bandâ
  9. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    I'd heard nothing of the hype before getting this album which probably helped as I was able to just concentrate on the music. Its a superb album, almost every song is strong and I love the fact they don't sound like anything else out there right now (especially given the unique vocals). The last debut albums I enjoyed as much as this are problem from the Strokes and Libertines, which isI'd heard nothing of the hype before getting this album which probably helped as I was able to just concentrate on the music. Its a superb album, almost every song is strong and I love the fact they don't sound like anything else out there right now (especially given the unique vocals). The last debut albums I enjoyed as much as this are problem from the Strokes and Libertines, which is hgih praise from me. My only worry is that some of the reviews focussed on the band being a one-trick pony. This is nonsense but I hope they're sensible enough to ignore that sort of nonsense and not let it change what they do (I'm thinking of the Strokes here). Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    65
    Offers both considerable beauty and ugliness. [#82, p. 62]
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    70
    Go Tell Fire to the Mountain is surprisingly just a little too ordinary to be considered the groundbreaker many anticipated.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    86
    The stark contrast between frontman Ellery Robert's guttural, yell-sing vocals and the squeaky-clean instrumentation not only works harmoniously, but also creates a distinct and commanding sound.