Good Girl Gone Bad

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 335

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BlakeD
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    By far the coolest album I've heard this summer. It's just so goddamn catchy, energetic, wild, edgy and addictive, just the way I like it. Rihanna has truly progressed tremendously both as a singer and song-writer, and she looks good doing it. Beyonce move over...the real star of R&B is right here. The best R&B album of this year, no contest.
  2. ChristopherM
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This album definitely outdid all of my expectations. Rihanna has finally started to sound like a mature woman with a strong voice and quite a great career in front of her. Keep it up!
  3. DenisS
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Best of the year!
  4. nancym.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    This is easily Rihanna's high point thus far in her freakishly sucessful career. The ablum is well-rounded with infectious beats and in-your-face lyrics. 3 top tracks: 1 umbrella, 2 shut up and drive, 3 breakin' dishes
  5. Logan
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    A lot better than I expected, considering I'm not into this kind of music. But Rihanna is quite the charmer, so it was hard to resist. Good Girl Gone Bad has bit of everything from R&B, Pop Rock, Funk, Reggae, Dance and some electronic. Is truly a remarkable record for her. Loaded with tons and tons of R&B jams from Rehab, Sell Me Candy, Hate That I Love You, Good Girl Gone Bad, Push A lot better than I expected, considering I'm not into this kind of music. But Rihanna is quite the charmer, so it was hard to resist. Good Girl Gone Bad has bit of everything from R&B, Pop Rock, Funk, Reggae, Dance and some electronic. Is truly a remarkable record for her. Loaded with tons and tons of R&B jams from Rehab, Sell Me Candy, Hate That I Love You, Good Girl Gone Bad, Push Up On Me, and her hit single Umbrella. Overall, terrific album from Rihanna. Expand
  6. Dave
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    this album is really good and these types of songs really suit her
  7. AlexiaF
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I would have to say its the very best of her 3 albums!! Way to go girl! Don't lidten to "Dem Haters"
  8. Kirby
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    The best album of this summer. I haven't had this much fun listening to music in quite sometime. So many cool, energetic songs from start to finish. Sell Me Candy has the potential to be the anthem of the summer. Buy this album, trust me you won't regret it.
  9. DamienD
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Great, great pop album. Has abit of everything for anyone looking for a fun album.
  10. Drake
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    The best R&B album of the year!
  11. FábioN
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Rhianna is fantastic.
  12. EdwardE
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    The best R&B album of this decade. It's that good.
  13. JoseL
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Awesome all the way through. Good Girl Gone Bad is a winner. I recommend it to anyone.
  14. Miguel
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Much, much better than her previous two albums combined! A breath of fresh air from alot of the other R&B/Hip-Pop crap that's out there right now. Truly awesome!
  15. Thompson
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Cool. That pretty much sums up this amazing album.
  16. CassB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I'm not usually into this sort of music, but I heard Umbrella and found myself loving it. So I bought the album and to my surprise everything on it was awesome.
  17. MusicMan
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    This review, I will say is very, very late. Especially with regards to the best R&B and Pop album of 2007. Rihanna delivers on every single track. There's no need to mention Umbrella, the last year's monster-hit or any of her other smash-up singles that followed (up to Don't Stop The Music) because they all packed a fiery punch, vocally, lyrically and production-wise. All This review, I will say is very, very late. Especially with regards to the best R&B and Pop album of 2007. Rihanna delivers on every single track. There's no need to mention Umbrella, the last year's monster-hit or any of her other smash-up singles that followed (up to Don't Stop The Music) because they all packed a fiery punch, vocally, lyrically and production-wise. All the Timbaland tracks, mainly Sell Me Candy are brilliant and the remainder of the album is exceptional as well. Say It, which is often criticized as a filler and as the worst song on the album actually isn't half as bad as people think it is. Give this Good Girl Gone bad a listen; you're not gonna want her to stop the music. Expand
  18. kylekyle
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    Seriously, this is one of the best, if not the best album of 2007. All but two of the songs of this album are great, catchy songs, worthy on anybody's portable music player!!! Rihanna really knows how to make a good album. Even the slower songs like "Lemme Get That", "Rehab", and "Good Girl Gone Bad", she still seems to make interesting and entertaining!!
  19. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    The best album of 2007 and 2008! Awesome songs, "Umbrella", "Don't Stop the Music", "Take a Bow" and "Disturbia". Rihanna bet strong in this production, and the result was a very powerful disk, her best so far. I'm sure that the successor of Rated R will be like this, or even better!
  20. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Easily her best album to date, this album has secured Rihanna in Pop's A-List. This album is pop nirvana. With collaborations to the minimum, it gives Rihanna more time to show off what she's learned since her mediocre first two releases.
  21. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This album is mostly flawless from start to finish. Songs like "Question Existing", "Good Girl Gone Bad", "Sell Me Candy", "Lemme Get Dat", and a few others despratly need taken off this album. Highlights include "Hate Myself For Loving You", "Umbrella", "Push Up On Me", "Breakin' Dishes", "Shut Up And Drive", "Rehab", "If I Never See Your Face Again", "Disturbia", "Take A Bow"!
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I like Rihanna, but with the exception of 5 songs, I don't really like this album. It's a decent pop record, but the sings have no substance. After a few listens I feel bored. However I will say that this album made me become a fan when it was first released.
  23. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    "Good Girl Gone Bad" is the best Rihanna CD yet. It has the perfect mix of ballads and uptempo songs. My favorites are "Breakin' Dishes", "Good Girl Gone Bad", "Disturbia", and "Hard".
  24. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    A 45 year-old, white gay man, passionate about music, just becoming even more passionate with Rhapsody and discovering so many recent cd's, for free, with subscription, and I have to say, I am sorry i did not buy this cd when it came out so amazing dance, fun, rock on shut up and drive, etc. I love Rihanna's originality and her courage to be herself, such a wonderful, passionate cd and artist!
  25. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. HINARIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO pisou na Beyoncé. Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rihanna brings us again Caribbean roots and its urban style and experimental in "Good Girl Gone Bad". Songs like "Say It", "Good Girl Gone Bad", "Question Existing" and "Lemme Get That" show us your beautiful vocal and conceptual power to show and demonstrate their talent for musical interpretation and lyrical maturity. Bringing the hits "Umbrella", "Disturbia", "Don't Stop the Music" and "Breakin' Dishes" that shook the dancefloors around the world. Rihanna still presents us with beautiful ballads like "Take a Bow" and "Rehab", showing his ease with different styles. Basically, Rihanna leaves shows his talent still under development, but with a power never seen before. Expand
  27. FatimaI
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    I think people are afraid to give Rihanna the credit she deserves. This is surprisingly a great album, made even more impressive when you realize how far she has come in 2 years. Umbrella, Breakin' Dishes, and Sell Me Candy are my songs for the summer. Whatever critics may think.
  28. AlfredoM
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Way better that her previous records!!. "Don't Stop The Music" and "Sell Me Candy" are outstanding!!.SO MUCH FUN!!
  29. TomS
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    unlike other users who've rated this zero based on Umbrella without listening to the album, i've listened to it start to finish and it's great, only one dud track and that's the bland 'Say It'. Rihanna may not have the best voice, but she knows how to work what she's got, especially on guaranteed hits (and next singles) Shut Up And Drive, and Don't unlike other users who've rated this zero based on Umbrella without listening to the album, i've listened to it start to finish and it's great, only one dud track and that's the bland 'Say It'. Rihanna may not have the best voice, but she knows how to work what she's got, especially on guaranteed hits (and next singles) Shut Up And Drive, and Don't Stop The Music. Even the slower songs work well, with Rehab and Good Girl Gone Bad being among the best tracks on the CD. This is the kind of album that the likes of Beyonce should be making but aren't, and Rihanna's edging ahead of them, in terms of music quality anyway. Expand
  30. taraji
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Surprising a great musical treat best song on here 'Sell Me Candy'
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. This CD sounds as if it were scientifically engineered to deliver hits.
  2. Billboard
    60
    Focusing more on catchy hooks and Fergie-style chants than lyrics helps disguise her vocal limitations. [9 Jun 2007]
  3. Rihanna works with edgier and wittier verse than on her two previous albums.