Good Kid, M.A.A.D City

Good Kid, M.A.A.D City Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1028 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The official major label debut studio album for the Compton rapper features guest appearances from Dr. Dre, Drake, Jay Rock, And MC Eiht.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    100
    Lamar's invincible on good kid, and reveals just how deft his hand is.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    100
    Good Kid, m.A.A.d City impresses with its diversity and scope, but it's not just a record to admire: put simply, there's an embarrassment of killer material here.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    94
    Surely there's despair and persistent uncertainty, but there's an unspoken beauty to the struggle.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    With Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City, Compton's flag bearer unveils a group of songs equally potent individually and collectively, meeting the mainstream and rabid fans in the middle, improbably touching that thinnest slice between mass appeal and mass respect.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    83
    Good Kid is an exercise in tasteful restraint, with Lamar employing his boundless budget in creative ways.
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Lamar has once more asserted a great and formidable talent, and good kid is triumphantly and unmistakably his, but the artists that stick around longest are the ones who let us make their art our own.
  7. 60
    It might lack the raw appeal of Kendrick's 2011 mixtape 'Section.80', but it's also a big-budget reminder that the 25-year-old hasn't forgotten his roots.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 160
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best Rap/Hip Hop Album Of 2012. Kendrick Has A Bright Future In The Music Industry. The Album Is A Mix Of The Style Of Raekwon And Andre 3000.Best Rap/Hip Hop Album Of 2012. Kendrick Has A Bright Future In The Music Industry. The Album Is A Mix Of The Style Of Raekwon And Andre 3000. Story Line Of The Albums Makes Me Feel As I Lived In These Events Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, andAbsolutely an instant classic. Every song has incredible production. Kendrick's lyrics are some of the best ever heard on a hip hop album, and it is amazing how his album follows a story line, often resulting in songs that have unique beat changes or skits in them. Overall this really is a 10/10 album, an instant classic, and the official crowning of a new king of hip hop. King Kendrick Lamar. Collapse
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    The best Hip Hop album that has come out in last few years. Kendrick is a master of story telling and the album is more cohesive than ever. HeThe best Hip Hop album that has come out in last few years. Kendrick is a master of story telling and the album is more cohesive than ever. He delivers with diverse but unifying songs that make this story of the good kid in a MAAD City one for ages. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    Electrifying, music euphoria and instant classic are the best terms to describe the album. With this album Kendrick proves there is a futureElectrifying, music euphoria and instant classic are the best terms to describe the album. With this album Kendrick proves there is a future for true hip-hop and it's him. Come and save us Kendrick! Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Album of the year.... Instant classic, anyone else agree? With this album, Kendrick Lamar not only solidifies himself as a true lyricist, butAlbum of the year.... Instant classic, anyone else agree? With this album, Kendrick Lamar not only solidifies himself as a true lyricist, but he proves he can take on the difficult task of delivering a concept album and brings together the best of both worlds Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I, like so many other people, I waited a long time the release of this album and I wasn't disappointed. Kendrick Lamar will become one of theI, like so many other people, I waited a long time the release of this album and I wasn't disappointed. Kendrick Lamar will become one of the godfathers of hip-hop thanks to his talent and what he has to say. Speaking of Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City you can say that is a mix of excellent production (Hit-Boy, Just Blaze) and large collaborations like Drake, Dr. Dre and MC Eiht. Kendrick Lamar in his lyrics speak a lot about economic disenfranchisement, gang violence, and downtrodden women but does so with a style so original, to be envied by Jay-Z. The West Coast Hip-Hop is reborn, Brooklyn attention. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    this album is the most overrated album of all time, yes the production was good but i think people are the whole story board of the albumthis album is the most overrated album of all time, yes the production was good but i think people are the whole story board of the album overshadow the music itself. personally i prefer section 80. gkmc heavily influence by Andre 3000 Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.
  3. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: October 31, 2012
    Kendrick Lamar's major-label debut leads the pack of October's best new albums. Get the full list inside, and find streaming audio for most of this month's picks.