Gossamer - Passion Pit
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 90
  2. Negative: 1 out of 90

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Passion Pit showcases their musical capabilities with excellent electronically alternative tunes. Some of the songs seem to make no sense due to the lead singer's rather obscure voice, however he doesn't put a damper on the excellence of this album.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I love the whole album. It is very good. I can't believe it was not up there with a Grammy nomination. This is pretty much my pick for #1 album of last year.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    Don't listen to any review that's too glowing or too harsh on this recording. It is a very good outing by a tortured soul, that at times suffers from over production, and a few songs that wander a little aimlessly. All in all, though, it is a solid CD with several strong tracks that really grow upon repeated listens. This is the type of collection where one or two songs will initially stand out, then eventually they'll get replaced as your faves by others that you thought nothing much about at first. Such is the case with a song like "Love is Greed" or "On My Way". Certainly the album is slightly front-loaded, with many strong and varied tracks during the first half, where the back 4 or 5 start to sound slightly similar: not as much to uniquely define them. The most interest aspect of the CD is the bi-polar nature of the content: sad, dark and introspective lyrics are backed but mostly chipper and playful music and backing Motown-like backing vox. The track "Constant Conversations" is a must-listen, as an almost perfect slice of pop, and is probably the one that stood out the most during my first pass-through of all 12 songs. Essential tracks: "Take A Walk" The big single off the album, a little out of place given the subject matter, but well made. "I'll Be Alright" Starts with a swelling collision of beat and sound effects, then calms down, then swells again. Love it. "Constant Conversations" R & B in nature, the best track, and an instant hit to come "Carried Away" The chorus larger than life sing-a-long ready, probably the most radio-friendly tune. "Love Is Greed" Again, good pop structure with an infectious chorus. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    This album is a spectacular follow up to 2009's Manners. Perfectly produced pop music, all the right things happen on this one, and there are even a few surprises, namely the R&B-pop jam "Constant Conversations". And it all ends with the emotional opus "Where We Belong", a perfect end to the album. Favorite of 2012.
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    Anyone who expected a re-invention of Passion Pit is kind of stupid. Summer, summer, summer. Oh boy did Passion Pit nail summer with this LP. It's such a dark, powerful lyrically-driven glamourized and dramatically aesthetically changed to leave you basking in its loving sunlight.
  6. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Passion Pit's best! This album really rocks! This gotta have to be in the best albums of 2012! Alonh with Lana del rey's Born to Die and Kimbra's Vows!
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Good songs, dance pop albums better than magic hours from scissors sisters. I listened this with Walk the Moon album, I party all nite. This album only caters for good mood fellows. Those in depressed or broken heart, stay out.
  8. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    Anyone looking for music like Manners that they can blast in a car with friends, throw on at a cookout, etc. is probably going to be disappointed. However, those willing to dig a bit deeper and give this a chance in its own right will find an expansive soundscape and a deep introspection into singer Michael Angelakos' stuggles. An album better than the sum of its parts, it will grow with each listen, and while it isn't amazing, it is definitely solid. Expand
  9. Jul 29, 2012
    3
    For me, this album is very bad. I know that's a bit harsh, but hey, I was just way disappointed. I didn't like the the music behind the lyrics. What he had to say was very in the now, and I think the lyrics impressed the most about this album, but that is about it. There were too many times I found myself. skipping to the next song and then to the next song. I gave it 3 tries, but in the end it just didn't work for me. Expand
  10. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    To be honest, I thought the previous Passion Pit album was a little bit forgettable. After the brilliant Manners, Chunk of Change felt like a good effort but not a stand alone for me. Gossamer, on the other hand is their best attempt. Their second track I'll be Alright is one of the best tracks of the summer, the sound is so fresh, and I like the lyrics a lot too. Other great songs such as Cry Like a Ghost, On My Way are great alternatives for a great indie-mix. Expand
  11. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Superbe album de Passion Pit ! ideal pour partir en vacances c'est frais et joyeux!
    Je le trouve encore meilleur que manners.Un de mes albums preferé de l'année!!!
  12. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Why critics love Animal Collective so much? WHY? They don't play instruments, they push buttons and activate music effects on the songs. I'm not against it, but is too overrated, it's just a electronic experimental band, JUST, IT. Why am I saying this? Well, that's because Gossamer looks like an Animal Collective's album, but still with the tiny essence from Passion Pit. I really like this band. I do love Manners. But this album just not look like Passion Pit anymore... Expand
  13. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    I have been waiting for new music from Passion Pit for what seems now like decades. Well, not exactly its only been three years. But memories of sitting on a carpeted floor, half-passed out in some either drug or alcohol induced trance at a friends house during my junior year of college seem too far gone.However, I can still feel the lollapalooza of emotion rush over my body with excitement and shear happiness upon my ears first introduction to the song Sleepy Head. As the high pitched sample in the background laid a base of enchantment accompanied by lead singer Michael Angelakos equally ear shattering high pitched voice I would automatically thrash my head around. A smooth mix of gleaming bells, a strong kick of drum. and more synth than you can shake a stick at (whatever that means) to boot. Ahhhhhhhh, memories. Before it was used in like a thousand commercials. The new album, Gossamer, carries on the high level of synth induced uplifted-ness and wonderment. However, there might not be a song on it that reaches the extreme peak of SleepyHead, though many of the tracks come dangerously close. The one that comes the closest is Mirrored Sea which feels like your stuck inside a vintage Japanese video game, trapped in a fast paced,triangular rocketship blasting through a 16 bit universe. Or like playing that ninja game in SCOTT PILGRIM running in place in ninjastance en route to fight evil forces. Not to say Mirrored Sea is necessarily the standout song of the album as this poppy hit riddled 12 track album is full of musical aptitude. My favorite is Constant Conversations which might as well be categorized as R&B will its mellow groove, possible moog created baseline, pizzicato strings, electronic creamy rhodes, and a few accenting piano keys drifting downward to emphasize the romantic beauty-scape. However, the lyrics sound like more of a doubting in the realness of the words being said to and from those in relationships, he might even be drunk in the first verse. Actually, if you listen closely for an indie/synthpop album the topics and overall feel of the lyrics of this album are against the pop grain. While happy, upbeat notes are struck strategically in the background, in the foreground Angelakos is dealing mostly with pain, struggle, fears, anxiety of losing control, and the true meaning of love which is greed. The latter is actually the name of a song called, of course, Love is Greed. "If we really love ourselves/ how can you love somebody else," Angelakos sings to depict the selfishness in wanting to have ownership over another person. My ears are happy again especially since MGMT's second album Congratulations was a bit of a let down. And not to mention its been 8 years since Empire of the Sun's Walking on a Dream was released. I would definitely say that Gossamer is a positive progression on Passion Pit's behalf and I'm proud to see them grow with out loosing their touch. Second albums are such critical moments in a bands career as high expectations can cause crippling results in direction of music as well as reception. Luckily, Passion Pit has passed the test. If anything the title GOSSAMER makes a mockery of such an opposed, strong album. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    50
    You're being pulled close, but thoughtlessly, reflexively. And you only feel further away.
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    It's an extraordinarily consistent pop album.
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    The music shines brighter than most of his pop contemporaries. In fact, the album is so successful on this level that I could choose any given song and laud it as one of the best tracks on the album.