Gravity the Seducer Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The UK synth-pop veterans release their fifth full-length album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. As always, Ladytron make the world feel a more haunted, evocative, romantic place. Faultless.
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    If Witching Hour was the finest apple the band ever produced, this is their finest orange. But as a whole, it probably is their best and most well-rounded record.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Hard-driving Helen Marnie-sung tune Melting Ice, meanwhile, is surely Ladytron's steely attempt at self-aware irony.
  4. 70
    It's masochistically delightful.
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    Elsewhere they veer off into roboid electro, but a certain lack of variety costs points. [Oct 2011, p.124]
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    60
    Gravity the Seducer is a transitional album bearing the growing pains and separation anxiety that we usually associate with bands that are in between periods of true inspiration.
  7. Sep 9, 2011
    40
    Rigidity is a hallmark of electropop, from Numan to Miss Kittin, but Ladytron's plodding rhythms and banal melodies straightjacket their songs. [Sep 2011, p.88]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un sonido mas envolvente, profundo y sosegado es como puede describirse a "Gravity the Seducer", el melancólico estilo de Ladytron sigue presente y los sonidos ecoicos se engrandecen dando la sensación de estar en un espacio abierto a la naturaleza. Canciones clave: "White Elephant"," White Gold", "Ace of Hz" y "Ninety Degrees" Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    Having listened to Ladytron's new album three consecutive times on the day of its release, and then the magnificent penultimate track, "NinetyHaving listened to Ladytron's new album three consecutive times on the day of its release, and then the magnificent penultimate track, "Ninety Degrees" umpteen more times besides, I was instantly convinced, much to my relief, that "Gravity the Seducer" was, in fact, an improvement over 2008's "Velocifero". It wasn't that I disliked "Velocifero"; it features one of my all-time favorite Ladytron tunes: "Versus" (easily the album's best track), and it displayed several other strong tracks as well: "Ghosts", "Deep Blue", "I'm Not Scared" and "Season of Illusions"; it's a fairly adventurous album. But I just felt "Velocifero" lacked the consistent quality of their previous album, the masterful "Witching Hour" (still their best album IMO), despite the evident energy and propulsive beats of the former (which some Ladytron fans very much favour). Interestingly, "Gravity the Seducer" is quite a subdued and wistfully atmospheric album by contrast, but that doesn't bother me in the least, because, again for me, it's all about the quality of the material whatever the tempos may be. Now I won't argue that the new album doesn't exactly represent a "dramatic progression" in terms of artistic growth for Ladytron; they DO seem to have reverted back to the more consciously melodic moods and urban, 21st century melancholy found, particularly, on "Witching Hour" (I'm thinking: "All the Way", "Soft Power", "CMYK", "Beauty 2" and "White Light Generator"; my favorite track from that awesome album), but, again, I won't necessarily hold this against them when it's, after all, one of the band's great strengths, and has resulted in recording some of the best stuff (again, IMO). If you're a big fan of electro-pop "bangers" (especially those featured on past Ladytron albums, particularly, although "Mirage" comes close on the new album) then perhaps "Gravity the Seducer" isn't for you. But if you're a Brian Eno fan, for instance, and generally a fan of more ambient, melancholy, romantic sounds, and shimmering, undulating melodies with affecting, emotional (that's right, I said "emotional" all the while referring to a Ladytron album; granted that emotional core stems from the music itself for the most part) lyrics and vocals (especially on the album's crown jewel, "Ninety Degrees"!) then, by all means, have at it with this dreamy, "seductive" and wonderful new Ladytron album! Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    The fact that there is no title track is an instant bonus. Many would resort to such measures by their pentad effort, if not sooner. Cheers toThe fact that there is no title track is an instant bonus. Many would resort to such measures by their pentad effort, if not sooner. Cheers to Lt for not throwing the towel in. You may notice, however, that Ninety Degrees is unofficially the title track. As for the keystrokes themselves- you donâ Collapse
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    3
    I was under the impression music should always go forward, evolve, sometimes borrow from other artists' past experiences, but not too much.I was under the impression music should always go forward, evolve, sometimes borrow from other artists' past experiences, but not too much. Ladytron's newest album sounds like it was heavily inspired by early Ace of Base - naively synthetic, stompy pop with no melody around. Tracks lack in originality and the are too similar to each other, resulting in complete boredom of the listener. Expand