Halcyon Digest - Deerhunter
Halcyon Digest Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Atlanta-based quartet's fourth album combines calm shoegaze pop and noisy punk rock to create a dreamy, psychedelic sound.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    Halcyon Digest goes by like a breeze, and when it's finished there's nothing better to do than play it again.
  2. Deerhunter has come into its own, and the halcyon result is not to be missed.
  3. Only Deerhunter makes echoes without egos, grounding even Bradford Cox's most wayward divergences in an all-encompassing blend of simple rock stylings.
  4. Halcyon Digest is a triumph of multilayered nuance, and repeated listens reveal its genius buried just beyond the obvious.
  5. Halcyon Digest is bliss, it is Deerhunter's best album to date-their first not to belie some raptorial need to plum my ears with mooching loudness.
  6. Deerhunter might be fascinated by the vanishing tricks people play, but Halcyon Digest is a thing of unmistakable substance. [Nov. 2010, p. 113]
  7. Halcyon Digest is, to my mind, the best we've seen from Deerhunter, and a hint that their best is still to come. It's a fascinating document to study, but I'm not sure that makes it all great music.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    After every new album that has amazed me this year, I immediately tell myself "Best of the year". But after a few weeks, I dont quite feel theAfter every new album that has amazed me this year, I immediately tell myself "Best of the year". But after a few weeks, I dont quite feel the same way. So this time, I will not say "Best of the year". But damn, it certainly has a chance at taking this spot. Definitely the most beautiful of the year Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    In a year of already great music, this is among the best. I'd call it Deerhunter's best effort so far, finally coming into their own as alt-In a year of already great music, this is among the best. I'd call it Deerhunter's best effort so far, finally coming into their own as alt- indi- artists. Terrific mood music, well orchestrated synth rhythms on some songs, terrific melody and songcraft on others. I didn't find any filler on this album either, each song stands on its own. Withstands repeated listens. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This album is more immediate then Microcastle as it leans more on pop rather then rock, but that doesn't stop it from being an amazingThis album is more immediate then Microcastle as it leans more on pop rather then rock, but that doesn't stop it from being an amazing record. From the ambiance to the hooks, this album explores a little more then Microcastle, I love them both equally, well, actually, I think I'd give a slight edge to Halcyon Digest. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    Ah... what was that I just listened to? I mean, really interesting and I will probably hear it differently each time I listen. Tedious yetAh... what was that I just listened to? I mean, really interesting and I will probably hear it differently each time I listen. Tedious yet insanely pretty, lyrically intelligent without direct meaning, horns that don't know they're playing together and syncopating out a rhythm. I am somewhat led to believe Deerhunter doesn't know what the hell they are doing.....brilliant! Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This album is amazing! I love the perfect reverb, the lyrics are beautiful. Each song is put in the perfect place on this album. One of myThis album is amazing! I love the perfect reverb, the lyrics are beautiful. Each song is put in the perfect place on this album. One of my favorite songs, Coronado, brought Deerhunter to a whole other level. They added extra instrumentation with the saxophone, the full sound of that song blew me away. Helicopter has an atmosphere around it that is beautiful. This is probably my favorite album of this year so far. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    8
    A great follow-. It takes their career to the next level, one that is more subtle and more lyrically direct. Some songs are still a bit lost,A great follow-. It takes their career to the next level, one that is more subtle and more lyrically direct. Some songs are still a bit lost, but overall the album has one, big voice. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2010
    3
    You know, I've listened to the bulk of Deerhunter and Atlas Sound's collective output, and I've realized a couple things...first, as much asYou know, I've listened to the bulk of Deerhunter and Atlas Sound's collective output, and I've realized a couple things...first, as much as everyone claims that this album is unique and a step ahead, it's stylistically no different from their previous album, Microcastle--same heavily treated guitars droning on for way too long, same vocals wailing with forced emotion in the distance, same clunky percussion. This album is by no means a step forward, and a step forward is what Deerhunter really needed. Second, the album doesn't hook you in and make you want to listen to it all the way through--the opener is a snoozer at best. Bradford Cox may like to write "thought-provoking" instrumentation, but he falls flat on his face when he tries to pen music that's in any way catchy. You have to force yourself through the first couple songs, which I suppose was intentional--Deerhunter panders to an elitist indie clientele, right? Overly dry and pretentious music is sure to weed out the majority of listeners and leave only devoted followers of the band. For everyone who isn't a Bradford fanboy, I highly recommend passing this one by. Halcyon Digest is really not worth the extra time or money. Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  3. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 30, 2010
    Our look at the best-reviewed albums from the past month includes new LPs from Deerhunter, Robert Plant, and Nick Cave's Grinderman project, plus the first releases in many years from Superchunk and Swans. Get the full list inside.