Halcyon

Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    What scuppers Halcyon, though, is the sense that Ellie's still not nailed down her own identity. There's just too much bombast, and the magpie-like-production and big, booming arrangements swaddle rather than swathe her vocals.
  2. Mojo
    Oct 22, 2012
    60
    There is improvement in the songwriting....But halfway through you might well weary at the album's unrelenting, full-bodied tone. [Nov 2012, p.91]
  3. Mainly, Halcyon sees Goulding's quirky-as-usual vocals lazily spliced into factory-standard chart dance.
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    60
    The main flaw of Halcyon is that it occasionally feels a bit too much.
  5. 60
    It's a well-crafted, stylish piece of work. But it's hard to love songs that try to hide.
  6. She makes a half-decent dance diva on "I Need Your Love", but I'd ask whether that doesn't defeat the object of being Ellie Goulding, though I still don't know what that object is.
  7. Uncut
    Oct 8, 2012
    60
    With its mix of electric piano and harp, gospel choir, distorted bass and rap, Halcyon seems uncertain where it belongs--low-lit lounge or heaving club. [Nov 2012, p.75]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This album captured my soul right on the first listen. Never before have I experienced so many emotions, from despair and sadness to hope.This album captured my soul right on the first listen. Never before have I experienced so many emotions, from despair and sadness to hope. This album deserves the same success, if not more, than what Adele's 21 has achieved. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This is a crafted and adventurous piece of work from such a young musician. She has clearly invested a lot of time into this and has builtThis is a crafted and adventurous piece of work from such a young musician. She has clearly invested a lot of time into this and has built upon what was good about her previous record. It's an album that screams for your attention and from the first to the last song, it maintains it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    A very likable album. Ellie is one of the better singers out there at the moment, and the music her beautiful vocals are set to uniqueA very likable album. Ellie is one of the better singers out there at the moment, and the music her beautiful vocals are set to unique instrumental backgrounds, some a lot different from previous album Lights. It's pop flirting with electronic music, and at that, it does a very good job. Full Review »