Halos & Horns

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChadS
    Jul 7, 2005
    8
    Maybe its because the last record I listened to was Animal Collective's "Sung Tongs", but "Horns and Halos" sounds pretty wonderful. I think people forget that Parton is a songwriter. The strongest impression she made on me, before this album, was her performance of "Jingle Bells" with Paul Schafer and The Late Show Band on Letterman. My favorites are "Not For Me" and "Hello, God", Maybe its because the last record I listened to was Animal Collective's "Sung Tongs", but "Horns and Halos" sounds pretty wonderful. I think people forget that Parton is a songwriter. The strongest impression she made on me, before this album, was her performance of "Jingle Bells" with Paul Schafer and The Late Show Band on Letterman. My favorites are "Not For Me" and "Hello, God", and especially "Raven Dove", one of the better peacenik songs I've heard in some time. To my surprise, Parton does a more successful job reinterpreting Page/Plant than Bread. "If" sounds pretty awful when the banjos kick in. "Stairway to Heaven" works wonderfully. Expand
  2. LynnH.
    Sep 12, 2002
    10
    I am a Dolly Parton fan and love her voice. This album is very country and I love her writing. These Old Bones really made me feel my roots. I am from Eastern Kentucky and related to the old woman. I've seen and heard that kind of talking. I have played the song too many times to count. Also, Halos and Horns is a favorite too. It helped me some when my mother recently passed away. I am a Dolly Parton fan and love her voice. This album is very country and I love her writing. These Old Bones really made me feel my roots. I am from Eastern Kentucky and related to the old woman. I've seen and heard that kind of talking. I have played the song too many times to count. Also, Halos and Horns is a favorite too. It helped me some when my mother recently passed away. Keep doing it your way Dolly!! Expand
  3. MichaelD.
    Oct 11, 2002
    9
    I was comforted by the purity of Dolly's voice. I have always enjoyed her music but her ability to bring the true sounds of Bluegrass to a new generation of listeners is very inspiring
  4. RonG.
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    This makes 3 in a row for Dolly. Back to her roots. This is a great album.
  5. SkipL
    Jul 21, 2002
    9
    Incredible, will she ever stop outdoing herself? I sure hope not! Hello God, blew me away. I'm Gone, another instant Dolly Classic and Stairway to Heave, wow it really does work. Radio might not play it, but Grammy will remember it.
  6. MattC.
    Sep 5, 2002
    9
    An inspired, warm, incredibly accessible album, Parton's voice has actually improved with the texture of age. This album ranks among Dolly's best. Her cover of "If" gives new credence to seeking out and re-working old gems, and even gospel-hued numbers like "John Daniel" will have you tapping your foot. With this album ending a trio of blugrass inspired music ventures, Parton An inspired, warm, incredibly accessible album, Parton's voice has actually improved with the texture of age. This album ranks among Dolly's best. Her cover of "If" gives new credence to seeking out and re-working old gems, and even gospel-hued numbers like "John Daniel" will have you tapping your foot. With this album ending a trio of blugrass inspired music ventures, Parton has assured her place in music's pantheon as the quintissential American musical artist: blissfully contradictory, unabashedly sentimental, and herculean in her strength of lyrical prose. Expand
  7. AaronL.
    Jul 17, 2002
    8
    Okay, I was initially frightened when she decided to cover "Stairway to Heaven." Fortunately, she has created a new bluegrass classic with her version. This CD along with her last two are proof that she is an amazing singer and songwriter in the prime of her musical career.
  8. WayneA.
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    Simply amazing! I was blown away by the depth of the writing and the enticing sound that almost forces one to listen like the siren song of myth.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The problem is, Parton seems hesitant to just go ahead and continue to make the kinds of albums that will attract hardcore folk and roots enthusiasts, instead tempering her material with apparent attempts to hold appeal to a wider audience. So, at best, the final results are a bit mixed.
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    Halos & Horns has Dolly reaching fever pitch with Hello God and, with Not For Me, singing as beautifully as she has ever done. [Aug 2002, p.131]
  3. A pretty strong, spiritually-themed album.