Happy People / U Saved Me Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The R&B singer's latest is a double album, confining the two sides of his personality to separate discs: the radio- and club-friendly 'Happy People' is backed by the religious-themed 'U Saved Me.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Charming, unpretentious and effortless, the singer presides over a party whose pace never flags and whose soul is fun-loving and wholesome. [22 Aug 2004]
  2. A definitive work of sorts since he's at the top of his game as both a craftsman and conman.
  3. The mood for both is, in a word, joyous.
  4. The Happy People side, inspired by the Chicago steppin' scene, shows why [Kelly] is still a contender.
  5. 60
    These records are too dramatic, too personal and, well, too much. [Oct 2004, p.110]
  6. Happy People [is] a featherweight collection of midtempo, Marvin Gaye-influenced tunes... The sacred material on U Saved Me, by contrast, is more exciting--and troubling.
  7. His productivity isn't exuberance, it's greed; his PG rating isn't scruples, it's cowardice.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. VishalD
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    Fantastic album. R.Kelly proves that he is probably the most talented r and b artist out there. He can create club jams, and joyous music. This is definitely a feel good album. Expand
  2. RhiannonV
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    You cant hide talent. This man blows up any kind of music, from sexy,spiritual, to hardcore rap, he always takes it to a higher level and has people across the nation movin our bodies like a snake, say what you want but most of us cant do what he does with his voice, i know computers, but this man knows music. I cant wait to see what is in store in years to come. Expand
  3. AbelM
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    R. Kelly is the Master. This is the best offering so far. As for Walker Texas Ranger, you who would not know it if music hit you in the face(even country music). Collapse
  4. ShermoneF
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    I bought 3 copies...need I say more. Only God could bless someone with this type of talent. I pray Kelly keeps this joyous, happy, feel good type of music coming! Expand
  5. CrystalinG
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    I love this Cd why Disc 1 is wonderdful and positive and Disc 2 has really has open my eyes cetains things he saids in his songs made me think about my own life what i have been through all my 25yrs of my life. Expand
  6. ss
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    out of this world.its wrong 4 one man to have so much talent
  7. WalkerTexasRanger
    Aug 26, 2004
    0
    It's rubbish. R. Kelly should stay at home and eat mash rather than write "music". Word. Bust it.