Harmonium

  • Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronB.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    I'm disappointed in this album, not In the songs, the music or the writing, but at the way the Record label handled it. It was horribly promoted which is why it was not well received by most people, they didn't know anything of it. 'White Houses' was overplayed way too much over the radio. This is a flawless album, her lyrics are beautiful and moving, and the overall I'm disappointed in this album, not In the songs, the music or the writing, but at the way the Record label handled it. It was horribly promoted which is why it was not well received by most people, they didn't know anything of it. 'White Houses' was overplayed way too much over the radio. This is a flawless album, her lyrics are beautiful and moving, and the overall tone is calming...enjoy it! Expand
  2. Ces
    Jan 19, 2006
    4
    I bought this album because I fell in love with White Houses, but the rest of the album is very slow and not appealing. It could just be my taste, but the following tracks are dull compared to her first song on the album.
  3. MusicLover
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    This is the only Vanessa Carlton album I can stomach listening to. I dunno why, but I guess she was daring on this album. I find this one a classic, but her other albums lame.
  4. KimberlyW
    Nov 17, 2004
    8
    Wonderful collaborations with Jenkins, I can really hear his style of writing in the lyrics he co-wrote. The piano on this album blows me away, and not only this, but Vanessa is a class-act triple threat, more young girls should follow in her footsteps.
  5. StevenT
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    The profitable teen queen market will be seriously put off by this album. It is mature and requires serious thought. It's not good listening while doing other things. It's just good music. Which, as well all know, doesn't sell well these days.
  6. gph
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    its great!!i love this album
  7. GrahamM
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    First of all, I love Vanessa Carlton. To me, her voice and spirit are truly gorgeous. Although many may not like nor understand her music, You have to appreciate her intelligence and her individuality. Vanessa Carlton really is not a "pop" singer, such as Britanny Spears or Christina Aguilera, her music really is not like that. Vanessa's music is poetic. She has a beautiful First of all, I love Vanessa Carlton. To me, her voice and spirit are truly gorgeous. Although many may not like nor understand her music, You have to appreciate her intelligence and her individuality. Vanessa Carlton really is not a "pop" singer, such as Britanny Spears or Christina Aguilera, her music really is not like that. Vanessa's music is poetic. She has a beautiful "darkness". I love this album! Expand
  8. VanessaL
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    "She Floats" and "Private Radio" are the only bad cuts on this wonderful album. I'm amazed.
  9. PatrickB
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    For those who read this, ignore the critic's reviews of Harmonium. I am not a fan of Vanessa Carlton, I'm a fan of basically Rock, but this album caught my attention with "White Houses". She takes a turn for dark humor and pleasure on this album, drastically different from her debut. Yes, there are one or two songs that are somewhat boring or trite, but overall this is a pretty For those who read this, ignore the critic's reviews of Harmonium. I am not a fan of Vanessa Carlton, I'm a fan of basically Rock, but this album caught my attention with "White Houses". She takes a turn for dark humor and pleasure on this album, drastically different from her debut. Yes, there are one or two songs that are somewhat boring or trite, but overall this is a pretty amazing album, and it's dissapointing that it hasn't gotten more recognition. Expand
  10. LaurenceH
    Jan 4, 2005
    9
    Soothing and mysterious. Wonderful album.
  11. Kate
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    this is such a great album! its a great follow up to her first album ... its so amazing.
  12. JoeyH
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    Better than BnN. This is top notch!
  13. bobbyj
    Feb 6, 2005
    6
    pros: a couple nice, up-beat songs; good effort at lyrics cons: some childish songs; poor introduction to "white houses"; piano sometimes incosistent my thoughts: a great album with the exception of half the songs. buy the first album and get vanessa carlton at her peak.
  14. MikeB
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    Great cd with amazing songs, highly recommened
  15. LawsonS
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This would have to be the best album I have heard in a long time! All of the songs have different moods, unlike main-stream rap which is basically about killing people and other stupid things. Vannesa Carlton has really changed what she sings about since 'Be Not Nobody', and it's a wonderful change!
  16. JeffS
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Ron Fair has every right to laugh straight to the Bank. Vanessa has eluded the "sophmore curse", and only someone who isn't a musician would dissagree. Instead of jumping up and down while lip syncing, (like some entertainers we know) Carlton can actually play an instrument, and do it quite well.
  17. JenniferA
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Easily the best album ive ever heard. Harmonium features a series of instant classics and its a musical evolution of the highest order. What a crying shame then that her record label have as good as dumped this album after poor sales. Proving again that the music industry really dosent have a clue.
  18. ianl
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    a great album. besides being a natural on the piano, vanessa's sophomore record features lyrics that deal with all types of themes, and with beautiful melodies to boot. pity mainstream radio'd rather listen to songs other than hers.
  19. RobertA
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Easily the best album ive heard, never has anything be so consistent in quality. Every track is an utter joy
  20. NicoleC
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    My favorite cd in the whole collection.Especially Annie was a real heart mover. Thank you Vannessa for making me feel for Annie.
  21. AllyC
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    Carlton's Sophmore cd it easily one of the best i have heard. When you listen to her songs you can feel the emotion. This cd really shows her talent.
  22. JenJen
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    I love this so much! i love white houses sooooo much but i never figured what it really means i know kindof what it means but i want to know what it is based on. if u know write a comment and tell me please!
  23. JoshS
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    This album is too much for current pop music, and THAT is like oxygen. An entire idea of Vanessa's artism, Harmonuim begins in Spring and ends in Winter. Her music is enveloping, and her innocentesque voice is a beautiful contridiction to the tone of her at times deeply dark arrangements. The lyrics are emoted, not over sung. Loosing the support of her label to further promote This album is too much for current pop music, and THAT is like oxygen. An entire idea of Vanessa's artism, Harmonuim begins in Spring and ends in Winter. Her music is enveloping, and her innocentesque voice is a beautiful contridiction to the tone of her at times deeply dark arrangements. The lyrics are emoted, not over sung. Loosing the support of her label to further promote Harmonium, left Who's to Say, one of the best songs i have heard in YEARS, a secret only album owners could revel in. Expand
  24. joser
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    why not? this album is a miture of powerful sounds and clever stories in each songs.
  25. VariS
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Fantastic Album, I connected with it thruout!
  26. AlfonsoG
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Its freaking awesome. She ahs deeep lyrics unlike todays most artists. But of course people are too dumb to realize how great of music she has!
  27. EdwardH
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Yo I luv "White Houses" "Private Radio" heck I luv all of her songs. huge ass nessalcoholik rite here y'all. have her first album 2 and diz one rox just as much as tha first. you are brilliant and totally rad VC Rock On!
  28. MattW
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    I thought that this was such an amazing album. It isn't 'bubble gum pop' like some people put it. The songs all sounded completely different which I liked, and her voice sounds a lot better than in 'Be Not Nobody'. It's literally the best album I've ever heard, it has very dark themes in the lyrics and yet most of the songs are quite up-beat, which is I thought that this was such an amazing album. It isn't 'bubble gum pop' like some people put it. The songs all sounded completely different which I liked, and her voice sounds a lot better than in 'Be Not Nobody'. It's literally the best album I've ever heard, it has very dark themes in the lyrics and yet most of the songs are quite up-beat, which is great because it's good if you want music and also good if you want to get something from the lyrics. It's not very conventional which is nice, it's better than the songs we hear on the radio or on the music channels. I actually don't skip any of the songs, unlike Be Not Nobody and Heroes & Thieves. I do like the other albums as well, but I prefer rock music but this album caught me. I saw 'White Houses' on Yahoo music because it's one of the songs that comes up automatically and I listened to other songs on YouTube and then I bought this album, because it had the best songs. Though I wish she made more videos, released more singles and put on a couple of extra tracks. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Though Carlton's a better lyricist than faded contemporaries such as Michelle Branch, that fussy piano tends to muscle her out of her own songs.
  2. With lyrics that sound like teen soap-opera scripts and music so mellow it makes Dido sound like an espresso junkie, songs like "White Houses" and "She Floats" are tailor-made to soothe the soul.
  3. Harmonium is confident and somber, a conscious attempt to be serious and mature that nevertheless still sounds adolescent, largely due to her earnest lyrics and overly ambitious music.