Heartthrob - Tegan and Sara
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 77
  2. Negative: 8 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    3
    As a long time fan, it pains me to say that this is the duo's worst album since 'This Business of Art.' That doesn't mean they've "sold out" or anything. They have been on a major label for years. It's just that they are such endearing songwriters, and this album glosses over everything that makes them charming. They sound lost.
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    4
    I could just copy and paste Critico's review. Heartthrob is disposable 80's dance pop. If you're into that kind of thing you'll probably enjoy it, but this isn't the Tegan & Sara I've liked for years. Everything that made them quirky and original is buried beneath synths and generic beats. I hope this is just a quick departure and not a road they continue down.
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    0
    Uniformly awful.

    I´ve been a fan since If It Was You. But being a fan of intelligent indie/folk/punk does not mean I will swallow an album of craptastic dance pop, just because I respect the artists who spawned it.

    If the twins emulated Ani DeFranco on their first album, on this, their first disposable album, they're emulating Rhianna, Gaga and Bieber. And that's not exactly
    what I'd call an artistic evolution. This is their Rod Stewart Moment. When a great artist sells out for money, and in the process, throws away what was great about them in the first place.

    So if T&S want to go this route, good luck. They will always have a special place in my heart for the amazing work they've done (and for being intelligent, and funny and cute as can be along the whole ride).

    But being a fan of good, smart tunes, I simply have no interest in this, um, product.
    Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2013
    3
    I appreciate danceability and eighties revivals as much as the most hardcore nostalgics, however, this simply comes across as shallow and contrived. It makes me wonder how much input vs. how much creative control they delegated to the producer (whose credentials make me think he was steering the ship). If you're looking for airy, bombastic synth pop with no regard for variety, subtlety or dynamic arranging, look no further. There are many other bands doing this a lot better right now and not comprising nearly as much integrity. This was a very obvious commercial shout out and not the creative/artistic exploration these girls would hope you to think. Collapse
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    3
    what I find truly amazing is how these professional "critics" are actually justifying this record as good and refreshing. It makes me think the whole music industry is rigged. This record, as someone said earlier, is nothing but really bad 80's music. Why should we celebrate something that has been done over and over again? A clear example on how bad the music industry is getting. This is bad pop music..not good pop music so lets make that perfectly clear. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    I dont get this either. This album is so weak for a pop album. There voices are annoying and whiny on this compared to some of there other work. And the songs sound more immature too. There is no great lyricism in this record. Do people actually like this crap?
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    50
    Beginning with the naughty promise of "Closer," which voices a transgressive assertion of female sexual desire, the duo rapidly devolves into a string of whiny mash notes accentuated by tinny, synth-heavy instrumentation.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    60
    This was an interesting direction to go in and it definitely has a lot of potential. But the duo will need to do a better job balancing the synths and the songs to succeed.
  3. They have now cracked out the synths, ramped up the drum machines, and found their calling in giddy, lovelorn electro-pop.