Heavy Ghost

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MeghanS
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Completely, disturbingly beautiful!!
  2. MarylinY
    Mar 25, 2009
    7
    Solid record, no less no more.
  3. KurtC
    Apr 17, 2009
    6
    Have to agree with Tom P. I applaude Stith for going out on a limb and for the interesting and unorthodox way in which he composes and arranges the songs. But seriously, this stuff is way too dark and freaky for me; not a good freaky like Animal Collective, but like a bad trip...now why would I want to experience that again?!
  4. Englandcollapsed
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Its glorious, from pity dance to braid of voices, the songs are ethereal, moving and beautiful. My favourite record this year, by a mile.
  5. Alex
    Apr 19, 2009
    9
    Hauntingly beautiful. The track "Pigs" makes me crazy.
  6. TomP
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    As the Onion said, a masterpiece of mood and texture, yes, but with the exception of a couple of tracks, the actual songs just aren't there. Not worth it in my opinion. (Nice album art by the way.)
  7. MarkF
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    Wonderfully dense. David Stith's vocals, musicianship and musical vision make this an compelling listen, an album to be explored and absorbed. For a point of reference I'd put him somewhere between Sufjan and Grizzly Bear.
  8. TrevorL
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    A potentially landmark album.
  9. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    A terrifyingly gorgeous album that exudes a sense of eeriness and duskiness, that is in itself unique and magical. Heavy Ghost lives up to its name, and DM Stith has made a great first impression on the independent music scene.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Much like the title of his debut, Indiana’s curious ringmaster Stith is a contradiction in terms. Don’t be put off--he’s a contradiction worth losing yourself to.
  2. Like a futuristic remake of "The Wicker Man," it is all splintered beats and frosty light-night soul, and at best, as on 'Pity Dance,' quite remarkable.
  3. Even if Heavy Ghost doesn’t feel fully unfurled--or if it unfurled for too long, with all those years spent gestating--Stith still continues to demonstrate his symphonic talents and deep care for texture and timbre.