Here I Am - Kelly Rowland
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jul 25, 2011
    80
    Although very eclectic taste is required to appreciate in full, this is clearly Rowland's brightest, most confident album yet.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    60
    Inevitably, this turns Here I Am into a bit of a grab-bag in its latter stages, but it's a grab-bag that only Tulisa Contostavlos could claim not to find some pleasure in.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    70
    The songs overflow with self-affirmation and confidence.
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    While Rowland continues to define her own sound, it still feels like she's giving us who she thinks we want to hear, not who she is.
  5. 75
    Her third solo album, Here I Am, proves that Ms. Rowland is doing just fine on her own, thank you; it's a solid if unambitious set of medium-hot finger snappers highlighted by the lusciously slinky top 20 hit ''Motivation''.
  6. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    Here I Am is a solid effort by Destiny's other child.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    25
    She does herself no favors by choosing consistently bland material, and her third album does nothing to dispel the sense that Rowland should be more selective.
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    Here I Am is the epitome of cheap and cheerful R&B, 40 minutes of precision-tuned pre-club glossiness--without a doubt perfectly serviceable.
  9. Aug 8, 2011
    20
    Here I Am concerns itself with the kind of bland, radio-friendly R&B pop that equates sex appeal with self-confidence.
  10. Aug 1, 2011
    60
    She's a strong, agile R&B vocalist who generates little excitement-adept, but not convincing, playing the club diva (in the David Guetta-produced Euro smash "Commander") and the sexual aggressor ("Work It Man").
  11. Jul 26, 2011
    50
    The inherent blandness of Rowland's persona makes for too much roundly mediocre material.
  12. Jul 26, 2011
    75
    Rowland has typically been one of R&B's more reserved presences, but on her third album, Here I Am, she sounds positively liberated-it's as if the same radioactive spider that gave Beyoncé her superhuman confidence finally bit Rowland, too.
  13. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    This album shows Rowland to be worthy of consideration in her own right.
  14. 40
    A sort of also-ran footnote to the diva tropes handled with so much more panache by Mrs. Z.
  15. Jul 25, 2011
    70
    It's a chewy and moody R&B album on which Ms. Rowland sounds assured and vital. Or, at minimum, is made to sound that way.
  16. Nov 28, 2011
    60
    Sadly, much of the material is generic.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    I was quite surprised with this album as it had a lot more hits than I thought. Kelly's moved to more of a dance direction and it really worksI was quite surprised with this album as it had a lot more hits than I thought. Kelly's moved to more of a dance direction and it really works for her, but her R&B are also spot-on and overall it makes for a nice diverse album! Full Review »
  2. BBB
    Jul 27, 2011
    6
    I completely disagree with the other user's review about this being her weakest effort.

    First and foremost Kelly will NEVER be
    I completely disagree with the other user's review about this being her weakest effort.

    First and foremost Kelly will NEVER be Beyoncé. I think it's very unfortunate and unfair that people will always pit them against one another. I'm not even going to entertain any comparisons to Keri Hilson, Ashanti or Ciara.

    What I will do is compare "Here I Am" to Ms. Rowland's previous efforts.

    "Here I Am" takes certain themes from Kelly's previous album "Ms. Kelly" and kicks them up a notch. It is definitely a better album than her debut "Simply Deep" which tried but failed at being "deep", and was obviously rush-released to capitalize off the success of "Dilemma". I'm not sure if "Here I Am" is a better album overall than her sophomore effort "Ms. Kelly" but it is a very good album.
    In order to really enjoy the album you have to be open to many genres of music. This is an album that isn't meant to be taken too seriously. The front-half of the album is laced-with urban radio hits: an Urban-pop club banger, 2 breezy mid-tempos, and the steamy lead single. The album continues with a sing-a-long mid-tempo about self-love and a club banger with stuttering militant production. The album then slows down with a sizzling mid-tempo number about making love and a ethereal ballad. The final 2 tracks : the #1 Dance/Club hit Commander and Down for Whatever will definitely catch the attention of Pop radio listeners and club-goers. The main issues I have with "Here I Am" is the fact that the songs blatantly cater to radio, and the excess guest features.
    The essential tracks on the album are: Motivation, Lay it On Me, Work it Man, Keep it Between Us, and Feeling Me Right Now. The other 5 tracks on the standard album are great songs, but they aren't up to par quality-wise as the 5 listed.


    Despite the drawbacks this is still solid effort and an enjoyable listen.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    An extremely enjoyable album from Kelly Rowland. The mix of slow jams, dance tracks, and mid-tempo ballads surprisingly sit well andAn extremely enjoyable album from Kelly Rowland. The mix of slow jams, dance tracks, and mid-tempo ballads surprisingly sit well and compliment each other. Seems Kelly Rowland needs more credit. Full Review »