User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 1 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulC
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    A solid, fun album you will find yourself listening to over and over again. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite albums of the year.
  2. MikeC.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    This album is very good. I love their song "You! Me! Dancing!" Its stuck in my head all day!
  3. ChrisS.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    A fan-flipping-tastic album.
  4. AshbyJ.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Best album of the last 2 years. If this thing doesn't notch an 80+ MC score, I'll consider it an injustice to top all others.
  5. AdamD
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Do yourself a favor, buy this album. Amusing, musically mature and diverse, takes hilarious shots at its fan base while still being a powerful album. I cannot stop listening
  6. MattH.
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    There's no way an album this catchy should still sound so good after 30, 40 or 50 listens, but "Hold on Now, Youngster" is packed with just as much detail as it is raw energy. This is a spectacular debut album.
  7. IainM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    Not quite as good as the live experience but still an amazing album. This is a band that Cardiff is justifiably proud of at a time when we are producing any number of great acts.
  8. AlanF.
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    Wow. Refreshing smooth with energy, melody, and originality. Not trite, not too much. Please play loud.
  9. RichardB.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    Great debut album, did take me a couple of run throughs to really like it, but its definitely worthy of being in anyone's record collection
  10. matta
    Apr 21, 2008
    6
    Okay but very overrated. What is injustice is that this album has a higher metascore than Neon Neon. Sounds exactly like thier EP from last year, except it worked much better in that format. One of the weaker bands in the Arts & Crafts family.
  11. time
    Apr 17, 2008
    6
    Not as great as I thought it was going to be. For one thing their name is kind of stupid. "Los" is used by every band on the planet nowadays and I'm not talking about the Spanish speakers. They have a handfull of songs that I'd actually consider "twee." Other than that it's sounds like every other artrock album to come out. You can play them next to the Maccabees, Sons and Not as great as I thought it was going to be. For one thing their name is kind of stupid. "Los" is used by every band on the planet nowadays and I'm not talking about the Spanish speakers. They have a handfull of songs that I'd actually consider "twee." Other than that it's sounds like every other artrock album to come out. You can play them next to the Maccabees, Sons and Daughters, Blood Red Shoes, the Roger Sisters etc. and I wouldn't be able to tell the difference. Expand
  12. taptap
    May 16, 2008
    2
    One great song, 'You, Me Dancing' but the rest are absolutely terrible. And bad singing as well. I seriously don't understand the above reviews.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 80
    Thanks to a sneaky sense of emo self-awareness and shambling, expansive instrumentation, they avoid cute overload. [Apr 2008, p.80]
  2. Two things save Los Campesinos! from being utterly insufferable. The first is that many of these songs are such fun, hurtling from the speakers in a blur of fuzzy guitars, big shouty choruses and smart vocal jousting between singers Gareth and Alexsandra. The second saving grace is that Los Campesinos! have the brains to back up their smart arse attitude.
  3. There really isn’t anything wrong with this album. It’s just the most amazing sugar rush you’re going to have this year, and is what, at this point in time, sounds strongly like the best debut album by a British indie band since Tigermilk.