Holy Fire - Foals
Holy Fire Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release from the British indie rock band was produced by Flood and Alan Moulder.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 90
    Holy Fire brings new words to mind. Sharp. Emotive. Massive.
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    83
    Holy Fire slightly refines the agenda Foals established on Total Life Forever, and that’s certainly not a bad thing.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    On Holy Fire, the third album from the English band, the post-punk revival is given a newfound sense of depth, creating songs that are rhythmic enough to draw listeners, but hypnotic enough to leave listeners lost in their wide-open spaces.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    74
    Ultimately, though, the bulk of Holy Fire is another sterling addition to Foals’ repertoire, and the band knows it too.
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    70
    The rest of Holy Fire is a counter-punch to “Inhaler,” a swerve that then hits all the more powerfully for setting us up with this false start.
  6. 70
    The pristine third album from UK rhythm junkies Foals is a study in contrasts. [Mar 2013, p.8]
  7. 40
    Produced by arena rock specialists Flood and Alan Moulder, Holy Fire sounds pop sound insofar as it’s smoothed off, big and accessible.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Highlights: "Milk Black Spiders", "Late Night", "Everytime" "Inhaler"
    An incredible album by an incredible band, Antidotes is amazing, it
    has amazing songs and sounds that get stuck in your head for a while and you can listen to most of the songs any time, but it was missing something, Soul. Total life Forever answered that with an incredible amount of soul and epicness (if that exists) in the album. But Holy Fire is a combination of both, an album with songs that get stuck in your head, but also have soul and they all mean something, they all are good, it had been a while since I had heard an album with 11 perfect songs. Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Foals have definitely changed their sound from their previous two albums. However, I think it has been a benefit for them. This album flows so well, with each song fading smoothly into the next, and it just feels right. This is one of the best albums of 2013 so far. The highlights are: "Inhaler", "My Number", and "Milk and Black Spiders". Collapse
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I think Foals' best album to date. It just feels... complete. I'll admit I didn't found it as inspired as Antidotes (still my favourite album), but they finally managed to gave form and style to their kind of music. The result is a rough, hard sound with echoing melodies, and it's gorgeous.
    Sure someone will hate this. I think it's a matter of tastes, since technically speaking, Total Life Forever is probably better than this "tripping experience", and there are no really incisive hits (Inhaler is the only exception).
    Anyway, I highly recommend to listen to it if you liked their previous albums.
    Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    hard to argue with the acclaim

    It's hard to argue with the acclaim and praise that has been heaped on this record. Holy Fire is an
    extremely well put together piece of work. The songwriting is solid and based on a style that lies somewhere between dark pop and indie but Foals definitely bring their own modern spin on these well trodden genres. The rhythm section of the band are on fire while the guitar work often bring The Edge of U2's more restrained work to mind.

    For me, its in the vocal department that Foals come up a little short. The delivery can be dull at times and its hard to hear any emotion in the vocals which in turn makes it difficult to recognise any feeling in the songs. Overall, an enjoyable record and well worth having.
    Expand